1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Car Audio Specialist, Come Here!!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by THXEY, May 15, 2010.

  1. May 15, 2010 at 9:52 PM
    #1
    THXEY

    THXEY [OP] Panda Jerk

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Member:
    #11614
    Messages:
    13,394
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 Subaru WRX
    STi Short Shifter.OEM floor illumination kit. Rally Armor Mud Flaps. BC BR Coilovers. Invidia N1 Exhaust
    Ok so my setup-

    4 Infinity kappas
    Pioneer double din HU
    4 channel alpine amp

    soon to be installed-


    500w mono alpine amp
    10" alpine type-E sub


    Question-
    do i need a capacitor if im running two amps? i work at best buy and our car audio specialist says i should get one. but everyone else i talk to says its a waste of money.

    correct me if im wrong but a capacitor dispurses the power more even :confused: which in turn saves battery power? :confused:

    so what i would like to know is-


    whats the pros and cons of a capacitor. because thats $50 i dont wanna spen if i dont have to.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. May 15, 2010 at 10:12 PM
    #2
    orvis

    orvis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37170
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD off road
    You shouldn't need a capacitor for that set up, the alternator and battery on your taco is more than enough. A capacitor works best for a car with a smaller alternator and battery and a longer power wire to the amps, and it is actually a drain on your system, it just smothes out the power to your amp and helps stop your lights from dimming.
    You might want to look at getting a better sub, you are going to be way over powered with that amp, 1 type R would match up a lot better,
     
  3. May 15, 2010 at 10:15 PM
    #3
    THXEY

    THXEY [OP] Panda Jerk

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Member:
    #11614
    Messages:
    13,394
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 Subaru WRX
    STi Short Shifter.OEM floor illumination kit. Rally Armor Mud Flaps. BC BR Coilovers. Invidia N1 Exhaust
    the type r's are so deep though, theyre like twice as deep as the e's!!! i only have an access cab! the type e's run at 250rms so if anything ill run two tens. but thanks for the info and welcome to TW!
     
  4. May 15, 2010 at 10:40 PM
    #4
    th3bigk0

    th3bigk0 GETTN IT

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Member:
    #25512
    Messages:
    1,883
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Lamecaster
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Double Cab
    Fox 2.5 RR C/O's,Camburg UCA,Camburg Spindles,KING 2.5,OME Dakar Leafs,285 KM2,XD HOSS 16'',BHLM,HID's,CB,Hornblasters Shocker 540 train horn,KICKER 12 ported....
    I run a 1000watt mono amp and a 500-4 channel.1jl12 and 4-6 1/2's and I don't run a cap.my headlights don't even dim.u should b ok
     
  5. May 15, 2010 at 10:50 PM
    #5
    THXEY

    THXEY [OP] Panda Jerk

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Member:
    #11614
    Messages:
    13,394
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2013 Subaru WRX
    STi Short Shifter.OEM floor illumination kit. Rally Armor Mud Flaps. BC BR Coilovers. Invidia N1 Exhaust
    Hmmm i won't get one....that's $50 I could use
     
  6. May 16, 2010 at 12:32 AM
    #6
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Olympia, WA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I run an 1100w RMS monoblock amp and run a 75x4 amp.
    I had a spare battery I was going to install - Mr. Marv told me I didn't need it.


    Save your cash.
     
  7. May 17, 2010 at 6:35 PM
    #7
    sooner07

    sooner07 1/2 man 1/2 amazing

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4783
    Messages:
    1,403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A A Ron
    Killeen, Texas
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 2008 Rugged Trail
    Always working on the stereo, painted the front skid plate black to match the truck, debadged , toy tech ultimate lift kit, light racing UCAs, ARB bumper Looking into a supercharger and new exhaust.
    While the input is a bit late, you absolutely do not need a capacitor. While they are kinda cool to look at, and the ones with the voltage monitor gauge are nifty, your electrical system is more than capable of providing the power for your amps.

    I wouldn't be against purchasing a cap if I had extra cash burning a hole in my pocket, but it would not be because it will improve any discernible specs in my audio system.
     
  8. May 17, 2010 at 9:02 PM
    #8
    CoreyJ

    CoreyJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Member:
    #13320
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Laurel, MS
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    I also work at Best Buy as a car audio installer.


    And no, you do not need a cap. Especially not with your amps.
     
  9. May 18, 2010 at 5:49 AM
    #9
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,791
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    Don't waste your money on a cap. Buy some wire and do the "big 3 mod".
     
  10. May 18, 2010 at 8:07 AM
    #10
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Olympia, WA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Unless you are removing the back seat for audio, you don't need to bother, and in that situation you would more likely be 'adding' than 'modding'. Toyota actually gives you ample enough hardware.
     
  11. May 18, 2010 at 8:29 AM
    #11
    Ese Loco

    Ese Loco Taco Man Sam

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Member:
    #19623
    Messages:
    428
    Gender:
    Male
    Vero Beach, FL / Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC TRD Off-Road 4x4 V6 6-speed
    Legal Florida Tint all-around, 1.5" add-a-leaf, bilstein 5100 rear shocks, Light Racing Coilovers, Removed secondary air filter, K&N airfilter, Amsoil 100% synthetic motor oil, Amsoil synthetic severe gear in rear differential, Differential breather mod, Painted rims and logo's black, amsoil oil filter
    Great advice and never a bad idea

    And no, as everyone else has said. NO CAP necessary....In my opinion they're just a load of BS anyways haha
     
To Top