1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

card reader

Discussion in 'Technology' started by coffeesnob, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Jan 29, 2012 at 2:33 PM
    #1
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,075
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    Where on my dell laptop windoz 7 can I find out what type of sd cards it will read? :eek:
     
  2. Jan 29, 2012 at 4:08 PM
    #2
    RAT PRODUCTS

    RAT PRODUCTS RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    13,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    2016 Sierra Denali
  3. Jan 29, 2012 at 7:50 PM
    #3
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    Windows 7* supports most (if not all) SD/SDHC cards as well as most card readers out-of-the-box. If your laptop already has a SD card slot then there is no need to buy another reader. Just stick the card in.

    A cheap USB card reader from walmart will work just fine if you don't already have a card reader.

    The dynex ones from Best Buy aren't bad either

    I shortened the URL. The Best Buy URL was ridiculously long. http://goo.gl/bzHCI
     
  4. Jan 30, 2012 at 3:04 PM
    #4
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,075
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    I was wondering about being able to read the new hd cards sdxc.
     
  5. Jan 30, 2012 at 4:22 PM
    #5
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    If your laptop is recent I can't see why not. Do you know the exact model name for your Dell? Probably Inspiron something....
     
  6. Feb 4, 2012 at 11:32 AM
    #6
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,075
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd
    yes it is an inspiron 1545
     
  7. Feb 4, 2012 at 9:27 PM
    #7
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    I think it would work. Give it a shot.
     
  8. Feb 5, 2012 at 5:51 AM
    #8
    coffeesnob

    coffeesnob [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Member:
    #30892
    Messages:
    8,075
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 access 4 cyl 2 wd

    ok thanks, I am buying a new camera that uses the new hd cards and would ust be dissapointed if I can't load it into my laptop...:)
     
  9. Feb 5, 2012 at 8:52 AM
    #9
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    Well if all else fails, most cameras have a mini/micro USB port and you can always use that route to transfer files over to your PC. I just do that with my blackberry if I'm too lazy to find my microSD to SD adapter :p
     
To Top