1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB antennas

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by uno676, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. Jun 14, 2012 at 4:38 PM
    #41
    Forster46

    Forster46 Very nice how much?

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40487
    Messages:
    3,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Vehicle:
    The doritos locos taco
    6000k HID's, AUX Reverse Lights, 3" Rough Country Suspension Lift, Pioneer AVH-P4200 Double Din, Underglow and footwell Lights, Camo Seat Covers, Duralast Tool Box, Blacked Out Badges, Grill, Front Emblem, Midland CB Radio, Amber Strobes, POWER REAR WINDOW, cup holder LED's, Firestik 3' in bed, console divider, Ultragauge.
    Just got a 3' Firestik, looking for ways to mount it
     
  2. Jun 14, 2012 at 4:48 PM
    #42
    Lazylegs

    Lazylegs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Member:
    #64723
    Messages:
    2,722
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Southern Maryland, USA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Red Toyota AC Sold
    Tint (35%), a must. Step bars, Bull bar, Bull lights,4x4 light mod, Flip down 10" DVD player, De badged, Color match front emblem, color matched bumpers., black out tails, Cobra cb, Flashlight mod,bed-light mod,
    There is a dude somewhere in this thread that sells them brackets the enable you pu them on your bed rail system..
     
  3. Jun 16, 2012 at 10:42 AM
    #43
    uno676

    uno676 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Member:
    #77386
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lonnie
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCB Long Box 4x4
    Finally mounted my radio instead of it laying on the floor board. Eventually I think I will hard wire it in but for now jus plug it into the cig lighter.ImageUploadedByTapatalk1339868544.691329.jpg
     
  4. Sep 9, 2012 at 8:18 AM
    #44
    TXPROMAN

    TXPROMAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Member:
    #86308
    Messages:
    291
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 TX PRO TACOMA
    wilson 5000 magnet mount
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. Sep 9, 2012 at 8:23 AM
    #45
    TXPROMAN

    TXPROMAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Member:
    #86308
    Messages:
    291
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 TX PRO TACOMA
    You still have to run a ground wire to you frame to get your swr's down if you use the rail system. They have no ground on the new tacoma's.
     
  6. Sep 9, 2012 at 1:11 PM
    #46
    seric007

    seric007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Member:
    #72895
    Messages:
    444
    Gender:
    Male
    2012-09-09130723_8acdf0085f8c9f2c92e7301155e89efe95841018.jpg

    ground to frame. SWR of less than 2 on 1, 19 and 40

    i'd like to note, where i mounted mine is the perfect spot so i cant see it in my rear view :D
     
  7. Sep 30, 2012 at 2:21 PM
    #47
    HighTideTaco

    HighTideTaco The Way Life Should Be

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Member:
    #83668
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport
    Swapped Hoods (!!!), DTRL Toggle Switch, Disabled seatbelt/ignition chime, Disabled lock/unlock beeps, Installed D-Rings in bed, Debadged "Toyota" on transom (now just one line straight across), Removed mud flaps, Removed TRD Stickers, Custom aluminum "ladder rack" with CB mount (Wilson 2000 Trucker; Uniden 520), WeatherTech; Just getting started!
    Seric 007 where did you run coax into cab?
     
  8. Sep 30, 2012 at 6:31 PM
    #48
    mike92y

    mike92y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Member:
    #42331
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD OFF ROAD
    OME all around. TRD Supercharger. MIsc stuff.
    I went to Firestick and spent 2 hours bullshitting with owner and he did not like "plastic bed" Make sure you ground mount with shortest possible ground. To long of a ground and the ground will become part of the antenna. I am going to try ground mine to one of the bed bolts but first I will use a multimeter to see what kind of ground that will provide. The owner of firestick suggest a no ground antenna. Less performance but better than nothing.
     
  9. Oct 1, 2012 at 7:32 AM
    #49
    christhemainer

    christhemainer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Member:
    #86774
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Saint Petersburg
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5
    Pro comp 6",LR uca, cobra 29tld chrome with 3' firestik, pioneer head unit with 10" kicker, Bestop supertop
    102" whip on a tri mag mount on the roof running the cable threw the 3rd break light.
     
  10. Oct 2, 2012 at 6:43 PM
    #50
    Crawdaddy

    Crawdaddy Apprehended by the TRUTH

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Member:
    #77763
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2012 4 cyl. 4x4 "Plain Jane" stock like old men drive
    Secure tailgate, Cobra 29, Firestick, Cree LED back-em up lights, Front LED's,In toolbox inverter, Bed mounted Jerry, Hardwired mounted Stream Light, CCW Holster, Weather tech mats, K&N filter, Wet Okole, Powder coat tool box, LE vertical LOCKED riot shotgun rack,
    I have my cobra 29 mounted on the plastic console with a ground from the radio frame to the trk frame.My 4' firestk w 18' of coax has ant mounted on alum toolbox w L bracket. The bracket has a 10 gauge ground going to frame. ALSO the ground on the radio goes to the neg post of battery. Needless to say the positive goes from radio to positive battery post with inline heavy duty fuse. Checking with inline SWR meter... 1-1 on ALL channels, after tuning the firestick.I hope this helps someone, it was confirmed with a meter as well.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top