1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB Dirct to battery

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Rellik01, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Apr 5, 2012 at 4:15 AM
    #1
    Rellik01

    Rellik01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Member:
    #54920
    Messages:
    835
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Windermere, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport 4x4 White
    Bull Guard powder coated white, chrome aftermarket tail lights,Led interior lights, Factory roof rack, Bug deflector, Factory tow package, Garmin GPS, Viper 5901 alarm with auto start, Weather tech window wind deflectors, , 3" Tube steps powder coated white, CB Radio, Radio Scanner.
    How could I run a relay and/or solenoid to prevent my CB radio from draining the battery in the event I forget to turn it off. It is run direct to the battery so it is always "hot". looking for ideas suggestions with diagrams appreciated. I used #4 wire from battery to CB. I know with the competing voices in my head I am bound to leave it on. Need heavy duty stuff as this radio draws a lot of amps/volts. Thanks.
     
  2. Apr 5, 2012 at 5:01 AM
    #2
    LUSETACO

    LUSETACO Here for the Taco Pron

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18991
    Messages:
    10,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Aim-ish country PA
    Vehicle:
    Make: Chevy Model: Pile
    Yes
    What radio do you have that draws a lot of amps? It should only be a few amps unless you have a built in amp, and even then your're really only using serious power when you're transmiting. Your battery will be fine even if you left the radio on for several days, it doesn't draw much current. Someone did install a lighted switch for their CB that I thought was a good idea. That way when you exited the truck you would see the lighted switch and remember to turn it off.
     
  3. Apr 5, 2012 at 5:54 AM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Depending on the CB's draw, run a relay from an add-a-fuse that's only hot when the ignition is hot and make that trigger a relay. That way the CB will lose power when the truck is turned off. If you need help finding a circuit that's only hot when the ignition is hot, let me know, I found a few on my truck and it's fairly simple with a test light. Just make sure the relay can handle the draw from your CB. I believe most common relays are rated for 30 amps.
     
  4. Apr 5, 2012 at 7:56 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    10,872
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Not quite what he's looking for me thinks.

    For what you want, I believe that you'll need a timer of some sort that starts when the ignition lead goes cold, then cuts the power when the timer runs out. I don't think this is a small thing to get done....
     
  5. Apr 5, 2012 at 8:00 AM
    #5
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    So you mean he wants it hot whenever the engine is on and on a time delay shut off when the engine is off? The two solutions (yours and mine) are essentially the same except for mine will cut power the second the truck is shut off (unless the key is put back to the 'on' position) and yours will give you a certain amount of time to talk when the truck is shut off before cutting power.

    OP, we need clarification, do you want the CB to function without the truck running?
     
  6. Apr 5, 2012 at 8:05 AM
    #6
    holyfield19

    holyfield19 GO TIGERS!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49179
    Messages:
    3,015
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    06 DC TRD SR5 Sport 4X4
    LED lights inside and out,weathertech floor covers/window visors,17" Konig countersteer, 285/65 Nitto Trail Grapplers, Lifted, debadged,Satoshi. 10 disc cd changer. scanguage II. black tail lights, black headlights w/ retro murimotos. wet okoles up front. URD SS, and throw out bearing. USA Spec iPod adapter. OME full lift kit w/ Dakars. ATO shackle flip. Light Racing UCA's. Flyzeye V2W.
    I ran a hot leg from the battery to a small fuse block i picked up from Autozone. I put the block behind the pass. side front kick plate. That way the fuse block always has power but the devices are still protected. I used mine for the 10 disc changer, but the block has 6 fuse spots so when i put my cb in for road trips or trail rides i can just plug it in easy.

    Edit: re read the post i don't think this is what you are looking for.
     
  7. Apr 5, 2012 at 9:31 AM
    #7
    LUSETACO

    LUSETACO Here for the Taco Pron

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18991
    Messages:
    10,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Aim-ish country PA
    Vehicle:
    Make: Chevy Model: Pile
    Yes
    I believe the OP has the radio direct wired to the battery for performance. Wiring to the fuse box can create alot of noise from other workings of the vehicle (fuel pump, alternator etc.)
     
  8. Apr 5, 2012 at 9:54 AM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I didn't say to wire it to the fuse box... I said interrupt the power feed with a relay.
     
  9. Apr 5, 2012 at 10:01 AM
    #9
    LUSETACO

    LUSETACO Here for the Taco Pron

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18991
    Messages:
    10,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Aim-ish country PA
    Vehicle:
    Make: Chevy Model: Pile
    Yes
    You would still be tapped into the fuse box however and getting all of that backround noise. The battery acts as filter, wiring anywhere else and you will hear interference.
     
  10. Apr 8, 2012 at 7:30 AM
    #10
    Rellik01

    Rellik01 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Member:
    #54920
    Messages:
    835
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Windermere, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport 4x4 White
    Bull Guard powder coated white, chrome aftermarket tail lights,Led interior lights, Factory roof rack, Bug deflector, Factory tow package, Garmin GPS, Viper 5901 alarm with auto start, Weather tech window wind deflectors, , 3" Tube steps powder coated white, CB Radio, Radio Scanner.
    Want the radio to shut off with truck. Radio draws 200 amps when transmitting galaxy radio.
     
  11. Apr 8, 2012 at 7:53 AM
    #11
    hard2kill

    hard2kill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Member:
    #55714
    Messages:
    3,859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Rhinebeck NY
    Vehicle:
    06 4door trd sport white 6spd
    ...315's,2in bora wheel spacers,safari snorkel,wheel spacers,bruteforcefab rear bumper and sliders,afe filter,hi-lift jack,5100 with OME 886 & 1/2in spacer,allpro expo's,icon 10in rear shox,flip kit,ss brake lines,cobra cb,fog light mod,yellow fogs,weathertech mats,fullsize spare tire and extra sport rim,tinted windows,aeroturbine 2525 muffler dumped over axle...rear diff breather mod...removed factory spare...removed 2nd air filter...THULE roof rack and fairing....bud builts front to back,allpoo front bumper,BAMF lca skids,overland Offroad roof and bed racks,
    Just run ur power wire to you acc fuse under dash on driverside ... I have no noise make sure you have a solid ground and a good tune and you'll be fine and will turn off with truck
     
  12. Apr 8, 2012 at 8:05 AM
    #12
    BarefootBandit

    BarefootBandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40116
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double-Cab TRD Sport 6-Speed
    You will need a solenoid, a relay is too small. You need to find a fuse under your hood that gets power when the truck is in ignition. Then, using a fuse tap, run that wire to the solenoid.

    You should absolutely have this 4 gauge on a breaker, or at least a Maxi Fuse, if you don't want your truck to end up a car fire.

    I hope your antenna was tuned wattmetered before you put 2,000 watts through it. What are you running?
     
  13. Apr 8, 2012 at 8:14 AM
    #13
    LUSETACO

    LUSETACO Here for the Taco Pron

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18991
    Messages:
    10,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Aim-ish country PA
    Vehicle:
    Make: Chevy Model: Pile
    Yes
    200 amps?! :eek: Jeebus Christ!! You're going to need an extra battery and heavy duty alternator for that much power. I'm guessing you running an amp as well, no way a radio alone will draw that much power.
     
  14. Apr 8, 2012 at 8:21 AM
    #14
    BarefootBandit

    BarefootBandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40116
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double-Cab TRD Sport 6-Speed
    Here is a diagram of how you should wire the solenoid.

    Do you have 4gauge terminals and crimping tools? how are you connecting it to the battery?

    If you drilled the firewall for the 4gauge, make sure you use a rubber or plastic grommet around the hole. Then caulk the hole so no water can get in the cab.

    dur.jpg
     
  15. Apr 8, 2012 at 8:39 AM
    #15
    TMW

    TMW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Member:
    #55300
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma 4x4 SR5
    Light bar and bumper guard, 3/16 steel skid plates for engine, tranny and transfer box, OME 881 springs with 5100 shocks at mid clip. AAL in rear. Positraction rear diff.
    I agree
     
  16. Apr 8, 2012 at 9:08 AM
    #16
    Shadetree

    Shadetree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Member:
    #48053
    Messages:
    602
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BiLL
    Bozeman, Montana
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab 4x2
    Locking Tailgate & Gas Cap and extra bed D-rings
    Craig, is it possible that you have your watts and amps mixed? An 200 watt linear amp would draw approximately 17 amps at 12 VDC which will give low voltage drop when using #4 AWG wire for less than 10 feet. For a ham radio installation, I would use an in-line 30 amp fuse if connected directly to the battery terminal to protect the vehicle and insurance coverage and if necessary a filter or cap at the radio to reduce the RFI/EMI. I would energize the coil of a DC relay from the Accessory position of the Ignition switch and use relay contacts that are rated at least 50 amps.
     
  17. Apr 8, 2012 at 12:06 PM
    #17
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    x2, 200 Amps is a HUGE draw and it's highly unlikely that a CB radio has that kind of draw.
     
  18. Apr 8, 2012 at 12:18 PM
    #18
    MonkeyProof

    MonkeyProof Power Top

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9774
    Messages:
    9,557
    SoCal- SGV
    i have both my CB radio and 2M radios directly into my battery..and on occasion i have left at least one of them on overnight..they both use very little power while just sitting there at idle you shouldnt have to worry about the CB draining the battery
     
  19. Apr 8, 2012 at 12:28 PM
    #19
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    200 amps is more than double the capacity of 4ga wire.

    http://wiki.xtronics.com/index.php/Wire-Gauge_Ampacity

    80% rule... load no more than 80% of the fuse rating, fuse rating no more than 80% of the wire rating.
    200a load = 250a fuse = 313a conductor.

    Triple-ought cable and make sure it's got air circulation.
     
  20. Apr 8, 2012 at 1:10 PM
    #20
    snoope

    snoope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18414
    Messages:
    2,833
    Gender:
    Male
    Ft.myers,FL
    Vehicle:
    2003 Lexus ES300/2004 Lexus 330 AWD
    If your dedicating "Talk" time with the truck off...run a second battery just for that purpose.....Running any "heater" will draw heavy BUT DAM.. that 200 is way up there....'LIL Fire in Your Wire...;)..

    SKIP land should "wake up" when you speak BUT the Galaxy is putting what, 1-2 into the Heater, then swinging up???

    And if you just have a Galaxy by itself, the fans to cool it will draw heavy amps too....your middle console must look like a cruisers :cool:....

    If your going to "RUN" like that full time you might invest in "Welding Cable",check out a few "Mauler build " sites...would be a shame to cut a corner on that investment $$$ to hear it go ...." POP' ,Fizzle, BURN.."
     
To Top