1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB Pics/ Antennas

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by beehunt, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. Nov 5, 2008 at 9:43 PM
    #1
    beehunt

    beehunt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Member:
    #5904
    Messages:
    140
    Bay Area, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD Sport Black Sand Pearl
    3in Level kit
    hey guys i know there is another thread right now about CB stuff, but I was wondering if anyone is running a dual antenna set up? Can you mount them to the rail in the bed for ground? any cool mounting ideas? If you are running a PA what's a good speaker?

    Sorry for all the questions, I am new to this.
     
  2. Nov 5, 2008 at 10:41 PM
    #2
    beehunt

    beehunt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Member:
    #5904
    Messages:
    140
    Bay Area, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD Sport Black Sand Pearl
    3in Level kit
  3. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:37 PM
    #3
    beehunt

    beehunt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Member:
    #5904
    Messages:
    140
    Bay Area, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD Sport Black Sand Pearl
    3in Level kit
  4. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:46 PM
    #4
    -TRDMAN-

    -TRDMAN- ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Member:
    #514
    Messages:
    2,201
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Clarion Pa
    Vehicle:
    F-150
    I have seen dual antennas on the bed rails of a taco!... i have a wilson wip on my roof!
     
  5. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:47 PM
    #5
    beehunt

    beehunt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Member:
    #5904
    Messages:
    140
    Bay Area, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD Sport Black Sand Pearl
    3in Level kit
    if they are on the rail do you still have to ground out to the frame or does the rail work as a ground?
     
  6. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:47 PM
    #6
    longbow

    longbow I see you now..................

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7586
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Silver Mica TRD 4 Door
    Toy-tec Coil over lift, Eibach 700 lb springs, Sway bar relocate, Total Chaos UCA's, Moto metal wheels, BFG mudterrians, HID, custom 3 piece grill, Highlift jack w/custom mount, Highlift jack cover, bed matt, de-badged 100%, storage box lock mod, using defrost w/o AC mod, short antenna mod, horn re-locate, Tire Gate flat spare tire mount, engine cover painted, bed light (1) mod, wreck bar carrier, Blue Sea 5026 fuse block, center console outlet, flash light mod, Blue Sea inline fuse, Shrockworks sliders, All-Pro front bumper, Piaa 510 driving lights, Warn shackles front, Kennesaw rear bumper, "Tag Boltz" plate lights, Warn shackles rear, Warn M8000 winch, devil horns, BHLM, weathech liners front and rear.....T.W. sticker of course. Custom Sock bed decal for Michele
    Well I don't have a set up in this truck, but here is what "I believe" I know..A few people here have them in their center console, I mounted my last CB outside of the console in the back. No need for a larger speaker in my set up.
    To my knowledge (and I may be wrong) you will not have the ground if you mount it to the cleat, but that is a great location, and a good mod idea. You can make the drain hole bigger and run the wire down through it. Hard part is going into the cab. I was able to do this on a Tundra and went through the rubber plug on the side. On my double cab it is do-able, but would be a FUN job.
    Sorry could not help you more.......
     
  7. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:49 PM
    #7
    -TRDMAN-

    -TRDMAN- ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Member:
    #514
    Messages:
    2,201
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Clarion Pa
    Vehicle:
    F-150
    That i do not know sorry....
     
  8. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:50 PM
    #8
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
  9. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:50 PM
    #9
    beehunt

    beehunt [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Member:
    #5904
    Messages:
    140
    Bay Area, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD Sport Black Sand Pearl
    3in Level kit
    yea i was looking for a place to come into the cab but have not had a ton of luck there. i thought about installing it inside the center console like i had in my jeep. i am not sure though. as for using the cleat i was gonna use just the rail itself, like make a mount or something that will bolt direct to the rail.

    anyway thanks for the help.
     
  10. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:52 PM
    #10
    -TRDMAN-

    -TRDMAN- ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Member:
    #514
    Messages:
    2,201
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Clarion Pa
    Vehicle:
    F-150
  11. Nov 6, 2008 at 12:55 PM
    #11
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
To Top