1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB troubles

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Bfoster133, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. Jul 2, 2011 at 3:18 PM
    #1
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    yes ive searched and searched and searched

    i cannot get my cb tuned out of the red zone..

    ive had it mounted every possible place i could think of and grounded to every possible thing i could think of.. its really frustrating.. id like to have it mounted in the top left of my bed but no matter what i cant get it out of the mid red section.. ive checked the cables and the antenna and everything

    please help im about to break this over my knee
     
  2. Jul 2, 2011 at 3:32 PM
    #2
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    desperate bump
     
  3. Jul 2, 2011 at 3:34 PM
    #3
    Unknown

    Unknown He who angers you conquers you

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Member:
    #35554
    Messages:
    8,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Unknown
    Unknown
    Im having trouble to with mine,
     
  4. Jul 2, 2011 at 3:38 PM
    #4
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    What antenna are you using? If you're trying to run a 3' firestik, you're not going to get it below 4:1. You need at least a 4'.
     
  5. Jul 2, 2011 at 3:44 PM
    #5
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    i
    i have a 4 foot... i think its a astatic one it doesnt have a ground wire or tunable tip so i ordered a 4 foot firestick II
     
  6. Jul 2, 2011 at 4:06 PM
    #6
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    With the firestik II 4' I was able to get to 1:1.7 SWR. Make sure you've got your washers and everything in order- you could always be grounding the antenna accidentally to the mount. Once you get that 4' firestik installed, report back!
     
  7. Jul 5, 2011 at 11:57 PM
    #7
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    firestick II is coming in tomorrow, i will test and i hope to god my swr wont be in the red still :mad:
     
  8. Jul 6, 2011 at 2:59 AM
    #8
    chad68

    chad68 Master Jedi Member I am...

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Member:
    #3263
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    In a (Toyota) van down by the river! Sonoma Cownty
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 reg cab. Modded with more to come
    Polished 16x8 Pro Comp 1069's 4" BS Nitto Mud Grapplers 305/70/16 Magnaflow & glasspack muffler Stainless tip K&N 63 series Aircharger Vent visors Autometer volt and dig. temp. gauge custom mounted Factory chrome rear bumper (not black factory, one) TRD pedal covers TRD skid plate Hurst T handle shift knob Rear Tint Clear bra on the sides Chrome extinguisher Icon non resi coilovers, ICON RR shocks, black seat covers. And some other crap
    I have a 2 foot non tuneable (not a Firestick or a Wilson brand), antenna I've been using for awhile now. It's the biggest POS antenna they had. The SWR is high and it's about 6" behind the cab. I use that one only for recieve purposes and I don't have to screw with taking it off in and out of the garage.

    I also have a tunebale 4 footer (Wilson silver tip). That one has lower SWR reading on 1-40 than even my 102" whip does, though I prefer the 102" for flat out performance. I have a heavy duty stud mount about 6" behind the drivers side of the cab. I can swap antenna out in a couple seconds.

    Are you using good quality 18 foot coax? Initially I was using something like 12 foot length and when I switched to 18" coax, my readings improved on all antennas but one, which is an open coil antenna that is a bit too low and the coil (bulk) of the antenna is at or below the cab line (not good).

    If all else fails and you don't mind using an antenna on the roof, a Wilson 1000 is a trouble free solution. Normally with their mag mounts, you can just about if not, run them straight out of the factory sealed box and not even have to tune them.
     
  9. Jul 6, 2011 at 5:00 AM
    #9
    VirginiaBound

    VirginiaBound Whyareyoureadingthis?

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18755
    Messages:
    7,332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam I am, green eggs and ham
    North of Maine, South of Spain
    You're using a Firestick antenna, there is the problem.

    Like I say in everyone of these threads, you need a Wilson with a coil base if you want a good antenna. It comes with flawless swr and performance right out of the box.
     
  10. Jul 6, 2011 at 5:08 AM
    #10
    DSully72

    DSully72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38638
    Messages:
    1,612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Newport News, VA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    pay no attention here, my firestik II works just fine. i had the same problem and its simply because mine was improperly grounded. i just grounded my antenna from one of the bolts on the mount to one of the bolts on my frame. that solved my tuning problem.
     
  11. Jul 6, 2011 at 5:30 AM
    #11
    VirginiaBound

    VirginiaBound Whyareyoureadingthis?

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18755
    Messages:
    7,332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam I am, green eggs and ham
    North of Maine, South of Spain
    Try running any power with a Firestik and watch the fun unfold.

    I'll just un-sub since you know everything in the world. :D

    Everyone, please pay no attention here. I know absolutely nothing about Cb Radios!!!
     
  12. Jul 6, 2011 at 5:31 AM
    #12
    Namyo

    Namyo -

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Member:
    #36165
    Messages:
    14,142
    Gender:
    Male
  13. Jul 6, 2011 at 6:21 AM
    #13
    J4RR

    J4RR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Member:
    #3907
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    The OC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC LB TRD SPORT 4X4
    If ur cable is too long make sure the extra cable is coiled up in a figure 8. Also the bed seems to be a crappy place for antenna placement. I have mine in the bed too but I only care about short distance comms like on the trail.
     
  14. Jul 6, 2011 at 7:52 AM
    #14
    SoCaltaco65

    SoCaltaco65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Member:
    #56389
    Messages:
    6,767
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB 4x4 Offroad TRD
    Harbor Freight 110v welder garage fab parts.
    I have a few questions:
    1) Have you Ohmed out the coax cable? this tests if there is an unbroken or broken electrical connection from one end of the cable to other, testing the center conductor and the ground or shell of the PL-259 connector.

    Guide:
    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/pages/testing-coax-for-shorts-pv-c0-83.html

    2) Have you tried another SWR meter mainly a good external one?
    Guide:
    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/pages/swr-meter-coax-connections-pv-c0-81.html

    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/pages/testing-a-cb-antenna-pv-c0-86.html

    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/pages/testing-for-a-ground-pv-c0-82.html


    Points of view: As the opinion of " Best Antenna" races on, the question was put as needing help with troubleshooting not which antenna can take an illegal Amplifier.


    Unfortunately, SWR meters built into radios have a reputation for being somewaht finicky. While they more often than not are good enough to perform a basic antenna tune, they tend to be much more unreliable than even the most basic external meter. If you have gone through all the previous troubleshooting steps, found no problems, and your built-in SWR meter is STLL alerting you to SWR above 3.0, you should try to get your hands on an external meter to double-check the readings. Frequently in these circumstances, it's the on-board meter that is to blame.
     
  15. Jul 6, 2011 at 8:37 AM
    #15
    Teniente

    Teniente Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Member:
    #56623
    Messages:
    405
    Gender:
    Male
    Carson City, NV/Ensenada, Baja California, MX
    Vehicle:
    White 2006 SR5 DCSB 4x4
    Any suggestions for keeping the mag mount antennas from scratching the paint????
     
  16. Jul 6, 2011 at 9:29 AM
    #16
    LUSETACO

    LUSETACO Here for the Taco Pron

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18991
    Messages:
    10,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Aim-ish country PA
    Vehicle:
    Make: Chevy Model: Pile
    Yes
    I've got a little wil on a black truck and no scratches. Just make sure the paint is nice and clean before plunking it down. Besides, unless you're like 7 feet tall you'll never see any scratches on your roof. ;)
     
  17. Jul 6, 2011 at 10:03 AM
    #17
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    i just switched from an aluminum mount too, i think thats the main problem. i added a stainless steel mount
     
  18. Jul 6, 2011 at 10:29 PM
    #18
    DIRT YOTA

    DIRT YOTA Aka EL ROJO

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Member:
    #39302
    Messages:
    6,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cory
    Camarillo, CA
    Wow...

    I run a firestik firefly II and have the stainless steel mount bracket behind cab on drivers side. ground the bracket to frame. Took it to a cb shop cuz didn't have a swr meter. Guy hooked it and barely had to tune it, said he was suprised how well the radio and antenna worked together. I've had good luck and no issues with mine.
     
  19. Jul 6, 2011 at 10:37 PM
    #19
    DSully72

    DSully72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38638
    Messages:
    1,612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Newport News, VA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    im not saying i know everything, but i had the same problem, and the ground solved it. however the question to why his antenna wont tune properly is not because its a firestik. to sit here and talk shit about firestik antennae is plain arrogant, its a very popular cb antennae brand name and not for no reason. its decent quality at a decent price. i even took the liberty of posting the url to the first firestik antenna review i could find below. 27 out of 27 people reccomend the firestik firefly. so even though you can get better performance than a firestik, people who buy them obviously are happy with what theirs does for them. my firestik tuned wonderfully after i got the ground right. so fine call me ignorant as well as the other 27 people in the review. i dont really care, but just see where im coming from. and bfoster good luck, i hope you find the problem.

    Firestik Firefly 4' Antenna review:
    http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f204/firestick-firefly-4-antenna-769670/
     
  20. Jul 6, 2011 at 10:59 PM
    #20
    Bfoster133

    Bfoster133 [OP] If i asked my dad for money, He'd knock me out

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Member:
    #55492
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Thousand oaks, California
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner TRD offroad
    15% Tint, 5100's at 1.75, Rear Diff Breather, CB radio, Black rattle canned rims, 265/75/16 Goodyear MTR, Magnaflow Offroad pro cat back, hi-lift bed mounted, shovel bed mounted
    :woot:[​IMG]

    got this with my firestik II
     
To Top