1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Check engine light w/ the little traction control light came on..

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by twistax, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. May 7, 2013 at 11:05 AM
    #21
    4banger09

    4banger09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Member:
    #75914
    Messages:
    1,501
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Nb, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Access cab 4cyl
    Leveled
    It was an oxygen sensor now driving home abs light comes on :s
     
  2. May 7, 2013 at 1:22 PM
    #22
    4banger09

    4banger09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Member:
    #75914
    Messages:
    1,501
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Nb, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Access cab 4cyl
    Leveled
    Quoted 400 bucks for o2 sensor installed I found it online for 160 and ill be doing it myself it's just 1 bolt. Abs light went away I disconnected the battery again
     
  3. May 7, 2013 at 1:37 PM
    #23
    97Blk_one

    97Blk_one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5970
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Memfrica
    Vehicle:
    not so low
    A whole lot,But not satify
    I was told by a mechanic, if everything running fine, spent $200 to get rid of the "CheckEngine Light " is not worth it, So I drive till the light gone away...that was 5 years ago....

    O2.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  4. May 7, 2013 at 1:58 PM
    #24
    4banger09

    4banger09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Member:
    #75914
    Messages:
    1,501
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Nb, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Access cab 4cyl
    Leveled
    The tech told me the truck will run in fail safe mode until the cel is fixed and there would be performance losses
     
  5. May 7, 2013 at 1:59 PM
    #25
    97Blk_one

    97Blk_one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5970
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Memfrica
    Vehicle:
    not so low
    A whole lot,But not satify
    You're correct, I would get it taking-care off when you can or ASAP
     
  6. May 24, 2013 at 7:15 AM
    #26
    Rosekate

    Rosekate Newhere

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Member:
    #104040
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rose
    LA,California
    Check engine light may refer some common problem that your car engine might have, like:
    1. Faulty oxygen sensor.
    2. Loose Gas Cap
    3. Catalytic convertor fail
    4. Airflow sensor
    5. Spark plug & wiring
    You can find more information about your check engine light problem at www.hiperformer.com sites engine repair pages and get relevant solutions by experts there.
     
  7. May 24, 2013 at 8:09 AM
    #27
    4banger09

    4banger09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Member:
    #75914
    Messages:
    1,501
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Nb, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Access cab 4cyl
    Leveled
    Just another thought if it is your oxygen sensor don't let the dealer do it, do it yourself it's super easy to change and not worth the shop fees. I also got the same sensor for 250$ when the dealer wanted 314$
     
  8. Mar 7, 2014 at 7:07 AM
    #28
    Mr Salty

    Mr Salty "Give up the good to go for the great"

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50297
    Messages:
    1,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hermmy
    SoCal (Bro Capital of the world)
    Vehicle:
    White SR5 Pre-runner
    Lots of chrome
    Bringing this thread back to life, the lights came on. Well looks like I will be reading some codes this morning:annoyed:

    Not new to this shit, just venting because I'm always out money for the fix :mad:
     
  9. Sep 24, 2014 at 12:40 PM
    #29
    bcan87

    bcan87 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Member:
    #139005
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Ga
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner White SR5
    Girlfriend has a 2010 Corolla. The Check Engine light is on along with the "VSC off" light flashing. The radio does not work properly either. The display does not work and the radio turns off if you press any button.

    Multiple codes are showing up when you hook it up to the code reader. One code is the P0138 Oxygen Sensor Circuit High Voltage Bank 1 Sensor 1 code. Another code is the P0607 Control Module Performance code.

    Does anyone have any insight into this issue?
     
  10. Sep 24, 2014 at 1:03 PM
    #30
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    3,607
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    Prerunner SR5
    And your gas mileage will suck really bad.
     
  11. Jun 11, 2015 at 9:11 AM
    #31
    montgomb

    montgomb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Member:
    #157010
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma Black TRD Off Road Pkg V6
    2015 Tacoma TRD\Off Road @ 600 miles. Lights just came on this morning. Based on this thread I'm going to take it to auto parts store today to see what code it's throwing then to the dealer. It's still way under fact warranty and extended. I'll re-post the results. Thanks everyone!

    20150611_081633.jpg
     
  12. Jun 11, 2015 at 1:49 PM
    #32
    montgomb

    montgomb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Member:
    #157010
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma Black TRD Off Road Pkg V6
    Autozone looked up the codes (attached). I took it to the dealer (Toyota) and they said that 90% of them time when the evap error occurs it's a faulty gas cap. He reset the computer and said if it shows up again come back. I had a locking gas cap on it that I had on my other car that I was using. I'm guessing that was problem so I switched back to the OEM cap. I hope this was helpful to someone. Peace out...

    20150611_133842_resized.jpg
     
To Top