1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Chips for a 2006 tacoma

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by Arn23, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. Jun 19, 2011 at 1:14 PM
    #1
    Arn23

    Arn23 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Member:
    #58515
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I am looking into getting a chip for my 2006 pre-runner. What would you say the best one would be for my truck?
     
  2. Jun 19, 2011 at 1:18 PM
    #2
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    There are no chips for Tacomas. URD MAF Cal, Unichip piggyback and APR X1 piggyback are your only choices. Search for info on those.
     
  3. Jul 3, 2011 at 9:48 PM
    #3
    mmeyer

    mmeyer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Member:
    #58506
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    fountain hills arizona
    Vehicle:
    05 tacoma
    6" Fabtech lift, 35" BFG KM2s, Flowmaster cat-back, K&N cold air intake, All Pro front & rear plate bumpers, All Pro rock sliders, Smittybuilt 8000 winch,
    I had the Unichip programmer on my '05 for 2 years. Can't really say I noticed much in power gain or economy:(. Couple month ago started getting a "crank no start" condition:eek:, with a check engine light for loss of crank sensor signal:confused:. I pulled the programmer out, and, no more problem:D. Wouldn't sacrifice reliability for 1 or 2 ponies. So, now the POS in in the bottom of my tool box.:cool:
     
To Top