1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Compass Fuse

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by isusww, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Nov 17, 2008 at 3:16 PM
    #1
    isusww

    isusww [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1860
    Messages:
    81
    I've looked in the owners manual, service manual and the forum and can't find what fuse controls the compass and temp. display. Can someone please help me?! I feel like and idiot!:frusty:
     
  2. Nov 17, 2008 at 3:49 PM
    #2
    BeefTaco

    BeefTaco WESTern Alliance: NORCAL COAST

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6481
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    Santa Cruz County Ca.
    Toyota calls it an Accessory Meter the ewd shows the power source to the 10 amp IG1 NO.2 fuse.
    Here is a linK:http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/localfiles/wiring.html the service manuals are on the bottom.

    Also you may have this problem with broken solder on a resistor here is the link to the fix.
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/18497-overhead-console-fix.html
     
  3. Nov 17, 2008 at 8:23 PM
    #3
    isusww

    isusww [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1860
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks! It would seem that I'll be doing some soldering :rant:
     
  4. Mar 27, 2014 at 8:30 PM
    #4
    RyanAZ

    RyanAZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Member:
    #126361
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    So I am having this same issue in my 2008 Tacoma right now. I checked the fuse and it appears to be fine and the dome lights are working. I took the assembly down expecting to find an issue the the 510 component, solder it and remedy the problem. Both 510s appear to be fine. I have attached a photo below. Any other suggestions?

    image.jpg
     
  5. Mar 27, 2014 at 9:12 PM
    #5
    thor92

    thor92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Member:
    #69835
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Right Coast
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport SR5
    I've had it happen twice. The first time the solder was completely broken, so I re-soldered it and it was fine for about a year. The second time it happened the solder appeared to be fine. I just added a very small amount of solder to each of them and that fixed it the second time; you may want to try the same. I'd recommend using flux even if the solder supposedly already has it in it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  6. Mar 27, 2014 at 10:14 PM
    #6
    RyanAZ

    RyanAZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Member:
    #126361
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the input. It did look to be fine but added the solder and now it is working! I appreciate the help.
     
To Top