1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Computer Advice

Discussion in 'Technology' started by 2TRunner, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:26 AM
    #1
    2TRunner

    2TRunner [OP] Don't give up here just yet

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #40980
    Messages:
    3,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Around To Many People
    Vehicle:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Lugs
    Brute Force Bumpers: rear & custom front tube, Saw-A-Way Racerunner 2.5 Coilovers with Total Chaos UCAs. Icon AAL.
    I am running Windows Vista on a EMachine brand unit. Has 512 MB of RAM/120 GB Hard drive.

    It's ran a little slow for quite some time, but lately it's gotten even slower.

    I have done all the basic stuff. Disk defragmenter/cleanup. Changing display settings, start up programs.

    The computer is used for very basic things. Internet, got pics of the kid, truck. Just really basic stuff. No games, no huge amounts of downloads.

    I do not however have a true AntiVirus program, haven't had one for a long time. Windows defender says that everything is OK even with a full system scan.

    The wife did get an Ipod for x-mas so Itunes and FrostWire are now on the computer. Machine really started to get sluggish after Itunes and Frostwire.

    Any advice, suggestions?

    Go buy some RAM and install it?
     
  2. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:39 AM
    #2
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,725
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    max out your RAM. look up your model# and find the max RAM. I think crucial.com has a scanner that you can put on your machine to check for you. Free and easy. 512MB is way too little. Go with 2GB at least if you can.
    uninstall frostwire. You can get some nasty viruses from that shit. Do you have antivirus or just the Windows Defender? If not install the Microsoft Security Essentials. Also install the MalwareBytes software and scan with those.
     
  3. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:54 AM
    #3
    steviestyles

    steviestyles The "Search" tab is your friend!!

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Member:
    #430
    Messages:
    1,273
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Bone Stock
    Your big problem is you're running Vista with only 512 MB of RAM. Vista requires at minimum 2GB worth of RAM to run all of it's shell and bloatware. Unless you're really familiar with Windows and how to turn disable a lot of software on startup, you're going to need to juice up your RAM to 2 GB minimum.
     
  4. Dec 28, 2010 at 4:02 AM
    #4
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,093
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    ^^ agreed....i didnt even think that vista would run on 512 RAM.
     
  5. Dec 28, 2010 at 4:12 AM
    #5
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,253
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I can vouch for cruicial.com.

    Had them scan my computer for the type of memory I needed. Purchased 2 sticks. The only problem, was one of the sticks they sent me was bad and I had to send it back for another one. Inconvenient but painless.
     
  6. Dec 28, 2010 at 6:46 AM
    #6
    Taco John

    Taco John Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Member:
    #17305
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    4X4
    7 is much lighter than Vista and I run it on a machine with 1GB RAM but it will cost you the upgrade. Firstly, you do need to add a virus scanner, so check out AVG. They have a free version that is light enough that it doesn't bog down everything. You may have to search around their site a little to find the download, but it is pretty easy after that. Next, download Spybot Search and Destry (also free) to clean up anything you have picked up running w/o a virus scan for a while. It will take it a while to run and clean up everything, but let it do it's thing.
     
  7. Dec 28, 2010 at 10:46 AM
    #7
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    All good things said here.

    -AVG is not needed if you have Microsoft Security Essentials. Last time I checked the reviews, MSSE does a better job
    -You can run Spybot and Malwarebytes, they will sometimes find different things. If you have to pick just one, go with Malwarebytes; again it does the better job (this is coming from our IT director, who is really on top of things)
    -Crucial's tool is pretty handy, but you can also look for other manufacturers for cheaper RAM. Mushkin, Corsair, Samsung, and Kingston are good, sometimes OCZ will have a really awesome sale. PNY I have mixed feelings.

    In the future do yourself a favor and don't buy eMachine. Unless they have completely changed their mentality, all the internals I've seen are the lowest quality possible to the point where it looks like they had to actively TRY to make things worse.
     
  8. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:09 PM
    #8
    2TRunner

    2TRunner [OP] Don't give up here just yet

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #40980
    Messages:
    3,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Around To Many People
    Vehicle:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Lugs
    Brute Force Bumpers: rear & custom front tube, Saw-A-Way Racerunner 2.5 Coilovers with Total Chaos UCAs. Icon AAL.
    Thanks for all the replies.

    After a day of missing out on TW, I think I've got my computer running well again.

    I did buy an AV program. ESET NOD32. Ran it, only found 2 things.

    Also bought a 1 GB stick of RAM and now the computer is running much faster. Internet is actually loading in a timely fashion.
     
  9. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:17 PM
    #9
    rhodehard09

    rhodehard09 sometimes nonsense is the only sense someone has

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22964
    Messages:
    3,485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    tampa, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road 4x4 doublecab
    3" lift, allpro u-bolt flip kit,285/75/16 km2s, hella hid lights, hid conversions for headlights and foglights, led everything, debadged, 9145 reverse light bulbs, black tail lights, black headlight mod,trail-gear rock sliders, dynomax ultra flo muffler,satoshi with custom woven stainless grill,hella 100watt floods in grill, pioneer 4100 in dash dvd player, pioneer 800watt 4 channel amp, pioneer 4way 6x9s, pioneer 4 way 6.5s, 2 rockford p3 10's,rockford power 500.1 mono amp w/bass knob, 7 pin relocated, highlift and mount in bed, diff breather mod, led bed lights, secondary air filter removed,t-rex eyelids, mefab bumper bar, muddy under carriage
    do yourself a favor, get a good antivirus program if you continue to use frostwire.
    i speak from experience.
     
  10. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:27 PM
    #10
    2TRunner

    2TRunner [OP] Don't give up here just yet

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #40980
    Messages:
    3,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Around To Many People
    Vehicle:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Lugs
    Brute Force Bumpers: rear & custom front tube, Saw-A-Way Racerunner 2.5 Coilovers with Total Chaos UCAs. Icon AAL.
    what are some other good/safter options for getting Ipod songs?
     
  11. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:30 PM
    #11
    rhodehard09

    rhodehard09 sometimes nonsense is the only sense someone has

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22964
    Messages:
    3,485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    tampa, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road 4x4 doublecab
    3" lift, allpro u-bolt flip kit,285/75/16 km2s, hella hid lights, hid conversions for headlights and foglights, led everything, debadged, 9145 reverse light bulbs, black tail lights, black headlight mod,trail-gear rock sliders, dynomax ultra flo muffler,satoshi with custom woven stainless grill,hella 100watt floods in grill, pioneer 4100 in dash dvd player, pioneer 800watt 4 channel amp, pioneer 4way 6x9s, pioneer 4 way 6.5s, 2 rockford p3 10's,rockford power 500.1 mono amp w/bass knob, 7 pin relocated, highlift and mount in bed, diff breather mod, led bed lights, secondary air filter removed,t-rex eyelids, mefab bumper bar, muddy under carriage
    buy music
    or my nephew tried to explain to me some torrent download or something like that. i haven't messed with it.
    if you just try to make sure the downloads you are doing on froswire are only in mp3 format you should be good. beware of .wav files
     
  12. Dec 28, 2010 at 3:32 PM
    #12
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    Hahaahaa sell it and buy a Mac!!!

    Yup I am that guy!!!!
     
  13. Dec 28, 2010 at 4:28 PM
    #13
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Probably same risk factor

    Doesn't matter. I can change the extension of any file I want.

    Buy them.
    I admit that I may have used alternate means of obtaining music during college, but with how easy it is to use Pandora, iTunes, and the price point, there's no excuse for me. It takes me longer to scour through a bunch of questionable sources to come up with a questionable quality mp3 than it does to buy an entire album. My time is worth more than that.
     
  14. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:21 AM
    #14
    Toph

    Toph Addicted to V8s

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13918
    Messages:
    898
    Gender:
    Male
    Dirty South
    Vehicle:
    90 Mustang Notch, 06 CTS-V
    The RAM upgrade is a good start, but changing to win7 will help as well. When you factor in both the ram and os upgrade, it might not be a bad idea to look at just getting a new computer.
     
  15. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:43 AM
    #15
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    ^^ If you get to this level you might as well just be reinstalling windows as your first measure. I'm betting the OP hasn't reinstalled since buying so he has all that bloatware. If you don't already have a vista disk, then I'd follow Toph's advice or see about getting an XP disc and checking into the sticky in this forum.
     
  16. Jan 4, 2011 at 8:57 AM
    #16
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,772
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Quaker, I have a couple tips for you having spent the last couple years doing essentially freelance computer IT work... download a program called ccleaner. It is free from the net. I am assuming you have an older computer and over time they begin to build up registry errors, which are essentially pathways to nowhere. This program will find your errors and get rid of them for you.

    As far as downloading music goes, it is always best to do it legally. For the most part, torrents tend to be cleaner than purely p2p file sharing, but they require additional (free) software to download and it doesn't sound like you have the hardware to support a whole bunch of shenanigans running. If you are still feeling like there is somethin wrong with your computer other than just hardware limitations, its possible you may have some rootkit issues... in that case, I invite you (and anyone else for that matter) to head on over to bleepingcomputer.com for some help. I am one of the helpers there. We have you run some diagnostics on your computer and will help you every step of the way! Good Luck
     
To Top