1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Computer Hardware/Software B.S. Thread.

Discussion in 'Technology' started by replica9000, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. Jan 4, 2014 at 10:13 AM
    #1
    replica9000

    replica9000 [OP] Ich bin Offiziersbursche!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5782
    Messages:
    7,282
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Southern New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 6spd
    Show off your hardware, talk about your favorite software, ask questions or get recommendations, post your screenshots, etc...
     
  2. Jan 7, 2014 at 9:21 PM
    #2
    replica9000

    replica9000 [OP] Ich bin Offiziersbursche!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5782
    Messages:
    7,282
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Southern New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 6spd
    So the other day, I was looking at CPUs. I wonder about Intel's pricing. A i7-2600k is the same price as a i7-4770k? And a i7-3770k is slightly cheaper? I think I paid $100 less for my 2600k a couple years ago.

    And it's sad to see AMD fall so far behind. Before my 2600k, my last Intel was a Pentium 233MHz. Used nothing but AMD in between. Even the FX-9590 (which is a factory over clocked version of the FX-8350, for $130 more) can't keep up with a 4770k in most tasks.

    Even if I wanted to stick with AMD here, I can't see any reason why to pick an FX-9590 over an i7. 220w TDP vs the 2600k's 95w TDP. This chip is going to run very hot and suck down quite a bit more power, and still not compete in most tasks. Even worse when you consider the $329 is without a heatsink or fan/liquid cooling.

    What happened AMD? You were the first to reach 1GHz, the first backwards compatible 32/64-bit CPU, first dual-core CPU...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Oct 11, 2014 at 3:22 PM
    #3
    replica9000

    replica9000 [OP] Ich bin Offiziersbursche!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5782
    Messages:
    7,282
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Southern New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 6spd
    Bump

    Trying out BTRFS. Some nice features, but figuring out free space seems to be tricky.
     
  4. Oct 11, 2014 at 3:36 PM
    #4
    Justus

    Justus fucks not given

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94417
    Messages:
    7,469
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brock
    Paso Robles
    Vehicle:
    not so low, not so slow 2006 6 lug
    stockish
    coolermaster HAF x
    FX 8350 BLACK 4.2 GHz 8 cores
    16 gigs ripjaws
    sabertooth 990FX r2.0
    HX750 PSU
    cool touch -r controller
    all fan slots filled



    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Oct 11, 2014 at 5:54 PM
    #5
    replica9000

    replica9000 [OP] Ich bin Offiziersbursche!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5782
    Messages:
    7,282
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Southern New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 6spd
    I like that fan controller. Looks like I have your evil Intel counterpart. My first Intel system since my P233.

    Fractal Arc Midi R2 case.
    Core i7 2600K @ 4300MHz w/ Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
    Asus Sabertooth Z77
    32GB Ripjaw Z
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    nVidia 550 Ti
    Crucial M4 64GB SSD
    Several WD HDDs = 6TB
     
  6. Oct 11, 2014 at 10:48 PM
    #6
    Justus

    Justus fucks not given

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94417
    Messages:
    7,469
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brock
    Paso Robles
    Vehicle:
    not so low, not so slow 2006 6 lug
    stockish
    Thanks, it is pretty cool and has an array of colors, plus the touch screen beats knobs.

    knobs are for boobs, not fans

    I guess I forgot the drives.

    2 are 3TB each, and the OS is on a 128 SSD
     
To Top