1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Computer help

Discussion in 'Technology' started by astral, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. Jul 6, 2011 at 7:19 PM
    #1
    astral

    astral [OP] On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    So my computer stopped turning on :(

    It is a Dell Inspiron 530. It has a Foxconn G33M02 motherboard which apparently has no help documentation or manuals anywhere. I have a green light on the PSU and an orange steady light on the mobo.

    Steps I have taken to narrow the problem down (to no avail):

    I was convinced the motherboard died. I replaced it with a new one. No change.

    I took out all the RAM but one stick (even tried different sticks) to rule out RAM issue.

    Took out all RAM. I cant even get the "no ram" beeps from the mobo.

    Unplugged all front I/O cables to rule out bad I/O module.

    Took out video card.

    Unplugged HD and DVD rom.

    Jumped the PSU. It turns on and I even used it to power the DVD rom. I cant test it under load, and I don't have one to swap it with, but it seems ok.

    Jumped the power switch pins (on motherboard) to rule out faulty power button on front panel.

    Reseated all cabled despite it being done when I replaced the motherboard.

    Tried different power cables.

    The only thing I can think of that I haven't touched is the CPU.

    Thoughts? Help!? :eek:
     
  2. Jul 6, 2011 at 7:21 PM
    #2
    krimson

    krimson Nothin

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6714
    Messages:
    3,412
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    OME 3" lift with 885 coils. OME Shocks with TSB 1.5 AAL. 285/75/16 KM2s. XD Hoss 16" wheels. DDM Tuning 6000K HIDs, H10 6000K Fogs. BHLM. Debaged. 20% tint on front windows.
    When it was booting, did it make any beeps? If so, whats the pattern? Is it 2, 3, 4? If you can remember..
     
  3. Jul 6, 2011 at 7:33 PM
    #3
    4WD

    4WD cRaZy oLdmAn

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Member:
    #19185
    Messages:
    23,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Lakeside, Ca / Gardnerville, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    No Truck..well, maybe
    Grey wire MOD, deck plate, diff breather MOD, 2nd gen. OME 883# on Tundra 5100's, OMD custom 3" leafsprings, rear shock relocation, Ivan Stewart TRD rims w/285/75/16's, '02 bumper MOD, Famous Fabrications sliders , LED interior/exterior lights, bed bar, Custom tube bumper, Old school KC day lighters,Red Ring 8" HID flood, Kenwood vhf 2M.. umm some other shit I'm forgetting right now

    Your a good man Brock... to the OP, is it an AMD or intel cpu ?

    AMD's notoriously run much hotter than Intels so being a laptop with space being an issue its pretty easy for them to overheat , even past the thermistor that is supposed to turn itself off (cpu) when over heating , thus smoking the cpu....
     
  4. Jul 6, 2011 at 7:41 PM
    #4
    astral

    astral [OP] On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    No problems at all before it stopped turning on, so no beeps :(

    I looked at the dell user guide for the computer and didnt find anything useful. I also looked at the "easy guide" for the mobo, and it didn't appear to have any info besides how to install one in the first place.


    Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E7300 (3MB L2, 2.66GHz, 1066 FSB)
     
  5. Jul 6, 2011 at 8:29 PM
    #5
    Camo Dude

    Camo Dude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Member:
    #54419
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Knoxville TN
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    Even if your PSU fans start up and you are getting power to the drives it could still be a bad PSU since it may not be sending the correct voltage to the mobo. Do you have a multimeter to check each pin with? here what each pin should read at http://pinouts.ru/Power/atx_v2_pinout.shtml
     
  6. Jul 6, 2011 at 8:33 PM
    #6
    afd23a

    afd23a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9483
    Messages:
    1,838
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dynamo of Dixie
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Factory Fog Lights, Removed Secondary Air Filter, Metra Ipod Adapter, Int Wiper Stalk, Wet Okole's, URD Short Shifter, Scanguage II w/Blendmount, Fat Bob's 2.75" spacer lift, ARE topper, SP Performance Pads & Slotted Rotors, 4.10 gears
    ^^This.

    You may be able to get the psu to turn on by jumpering it but it doesn't mean all of the rails are coming up correctly. The computer is usually smart enough to not turn on when something isn't right with the PSU. I'd swap it out.
     
  7. Jul 6, 2011 at 8:52 PM
    #7
    tbturner47

    tbturner47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Member:
    #35484
    Messages:
    1,130
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Lenoir, NC
    Vehicle:
    '07 Indigo Ink Off Road
    Supercharger
    Exactly as stated above. Try a new psu. Although it is possible, its highly unlikely its the CPU. They can really take a beating

    Try to get a psu from someone first, if that doesn't work then take your CPU out and check for bent pins. If there is any bent, take a mechanical pencil and use the tip to straighten them with. Be careful they break easy.

    And lastly, try another CPU.
     
  8. Jul 6, 2011 at 10:22 PM
    #8
    astral

    astral [OP] On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    Sounds good guys, I guess I'll try a new PSU. Also, the CPU doesn't have pins.
     
  9. Jul 8, 2011 at 1:59 AM
    #9
    astral

    astral [OP] On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    the processor has a bunch of metal contacts instead of traditional pins.

    same with the socket it sits on. kinda weird.
     
  10. Jul 8, 2011 at 2:23 AM
    #10
    Camo Dude

    Camo Dude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Member:
    #54419
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Knoxville TN
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    That does keep the pins from getting damaged lol
     
  11. Jul 15, 2011 at 10:06 AM
    #11
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,958
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    It's a desktop

    OP, it's (doubtfully) the PSU or the CPU. My money's on the CPU.
     
  12. Jul 16, 2011 at 2:58 AM
    #12
    astral

    astral [OP] On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    Thanks guys for your help, I replaced the PSU with a used one on Amazon for $30. Works great!
     
  13. Jul 16, 2011 at 6:48 AM
    #13
    Camo Dude

    Camo Dude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Member:
    #54419
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Knoxville TN
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    Glad to hear that fixed it.
     
To Top