1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Conflict between Maestro Rr and Remote / Auto Start (DBALL) - Who has them working together

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Gerrrr, Sep 4, 2021.

  1. Sep 4, 2021 at 5:33 AM
    #1
    Gerrrr

    Gerrrr [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Member:
    #110850
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Ottawa, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Blazing Blue Metallic (Limited 2013 Silver Streak DC Auto - Retired)
    Starting over.......
    Hi -

    I am about to go forward with a idatalink Maestro / Pioneer headunit upgrade in my 2017 Tacoma. I have the 12voltsolutions 3x lock auto start already installed which is based in a Directed Electronics DBALL module.

    There are reports of the auto start not working after Maestro install because there is a conflict between the two for OBD2 data. The DBALL lacks a GWR or status output which could be used to disable the Maestro during starting of the engine.

    Has anyone successfully resolved this? From what I read DEI has stopped any support for anyone but authorized dealers making it difficult to resolve this.

    I was wondering if a time delay relay would solve the issue. This would delay power to the Maestro unit by a configurable number of seconds to allow the truck to start. Seems that 10 seconds would do the trick.this would require opening the harness to the Maestro unit and interrupting the power wire to the unit with the timer relay.

    Any input is appreciated.
     
  2. Sep 4, 2021 at 6:48 AM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,804
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
  3. Sep 4, 2021 at 7:22 AM
    #3
    Gerrrr

    Gerrrr [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Member:
    #110850
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Ottawa, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Blazing Blue Metallic (Limited 2013 Silver Streak DC Auto - Retired)
    Starting over.......
    Destin_meeks Is the DBALL 2 working in Remote Start Ready mode (3 lock press) or is the a remote start involved as well? What headunit are you running?

    Just trying to do my research upfront so I don’t hit a snag on install.
     
  4. Sep 4, 2021 at 7:41 AM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,804
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    I have it setup for 3x lock and have a SmartStart Module installed. I have the Pioneer w8400 flagship from a few years ago.
     
  5. Sep 7, 2021 at 11:17 AM
    #5
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    997
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    I have a 2010 with a Kenwood HU, Maestro RR and the Accessorides Remote start working fine. I have their remotes that i use to start it vs the OEM remotes
     
  6. Sep 7, 2021 at 9:53 PM
    #6
    MannyTheAudioGuy

    MannyTheAudioGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Member:
    #221258
    Messages:
    358
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Emmanuel
    Napa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I have put in Racesport gen3 leds I'm the process of doing a custom audio overhaul which will include Hybrid audio unity 6x9 mid bass, unity 3 inch mid driver in the dash and fiberglassing tweets in pilar soundeading all the doors, floors, and headliner and I will be using a helix processor to retain the factory radio and as far as subs I might make custom brackets to move rear seat foward a few inches to get a full size sub in there or I might just go with a pair of jl tw5 or tw3 and it will all be powered by jl audio HD amps or I might try out the new hybrid amps
    I’ve came across this many times. The solution I found was going into the radios maestro setting and setting the Obd communication from all the time to on demand
     
  7. Sep 8, 2021 at 5:05 AM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,804
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    I actually had to do that when I installed my ShiftSense Pro V2. It and the pioneer couldn’t use the same can bus together. But never had issues of just the dball and radio
     

Products Discussed in

To Top