1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Connecting stock back up camera to aftermarket HU?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by memario1214, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Jan 12, 2012 at 8:36 PM
    #1
    memario1214

    memario1214 [OP] Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    So I recently picked up a pop n lock that has the space for a stock back up camera. I also purchased a back up camera from a member on here. The connection for the stock camera and the connections needed to plug into my head unit are very much not the same thing. Does anyone know of a plug that would convert the stock wiring that I received to an RCA?
     
  2. Jan 13, 2012 at 7:51 AM
    #2
    memario1214

    memario1214 [OP] Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Bump for the morning crew...
     
  3. Jan 13, 2012 at 11:08 AM
    #3
    Commanderwiggin

    Commanderwiggin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Member:
    #67438
    Messages:
    356
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary
    Vehicle:
    12 Tacoma D/C 4x4 TRD Sport 6MT Supercharged
    Bump as well...curious if my 2012 Camera output can split to both the mirror and my aftermarket alpine INA-W900BT
     
  4. Jan 13, 2012 at 2:24 PM
    #4
    memario1214

    memario1214 [OP] Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    You can definitely just tap into your existing wire. I just didn't want to cut off the plug and put on the RCA if I didn't have to. BTW, did you get that other thread of yours ironed out? My subs went all crazy and I lost a bunch of them so it's hard to keep tabs on threads.
     
  5. Jan 13, 2012 at 3:17 PM
    #5
    Commanderwiggin

    Commanderwiggin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Member:
    #67438
    Messages:
    356
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary
    Vehicle:
    12 Tacoma D/C 4x4 TRD Sport 6MT Supercharged
    I've ordered everything I think i need for a basic install of my INA-W900BT...tapping into the camera output however...how, what and where lol.

    Edit: Which thread are you referring to supercharger one or the retrofit one?

    In regards to the 12 supercharger it is in the process of CARB approval and should be another 2-4weeks *should*

    Retrofit was a PITA and the cutoff is solid...drivers side solenoid works half the time and have to flick the hibeams on/off to get them on...wiring is solid too...dunno. Had to glue them to get rotation perfect so they're not coming out which I wish I didn't have to do. Prolly do a full FXR conversion in the future sometime. BHLM came out the way I wanted it.
     
To Top