1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Convert XM to Sirius

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by mtnears, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Mar 21, 2012 at 2:26 PM
    mtnears

mtnears [OP] Active Member

Member:
    Georgetown, CA
    2010 Tacoma with the JBL system, has XM Satellite receiver. I have a lifetime Sirius subscription I'd love to transfer to this truck, but because it is an XM radio they can't do it. Is it possible to switch to the Sirius tuner by plugging in the other brain, and if so, would I need a different antenna or can I just do this as a plug and play sort of thing?

Anyone done this and have it documented somewhere, I've been searching and have had no luck so far...

2. Mar 21, 2012 at 2:33 PM
    1GR

1GR Toyota Dealer Technician

Member:
    First Name:
    Scott
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB TRD Sport
    Fairly certain that a Sirius is not compatible with the stock radio unit. If it is, it would be tricky to wire in and make it work with the stock head unit. Better to go with an aftermarket unit that is equipped or compatible with Sirius. They can wire the current antenna to fit into the unit.

3. Mar 21, 2012 at 2:37 PM
    IGO4LOW

IGO4LOW Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Zach
    Fullerton, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB TRD SPORT 4x4 w/ JBL Audio
    3" Procomp lift, 285/70 R17 Nitto Terra Grapplers on Procomp series 6005 wheels, Fog lights on Anytime mod, illuminated oem fog switch, bed mat, all weather floormats, CB Radio in dash, alternating turn signal mod, automatic center console light. Blacked out badges, D2s in the grille.