1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cracking Speakers!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Codeyota, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. Jan 21, 2012 at 11:36 AM
    #1
    Codeyota

    Codeyota [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Member:
    #64946
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Flagstaff AZ- Grants Pass, OR
    Vehicle:
    03 dblCab TRD 4x4
    I have a 2003 Tacoma Double Cab TRD. I installed a New Pioneer head unit. After doing so when I would turn the volume up my speakers would start cracking and it would sound horrible. So I bought new Pioneer speakers and installed them all around hoping that cracking sound would go away. Well it didnt... I had a 2002 Tacoma that I wired in myself, and sounded great. This time I used the Scochee Harness thats the only thing that i know that was different... I have no idea where to go with this one. I'm thinking maybe there is a Factory Amp somewhere, I've tried searching everywhere for it online and cannot find it. Can somebody please steer me in the right direction? Thanks a ton!

    Cody
     
  2. Jan 21, 2012 at 1:30 PM
    #2
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    Hard to say.... maybe a bad connection, but usually bad connections sound better if you turn it up.

    I don't believe you should have a factory amp unless you had an upgrade system like the JBL. Sounds to me like your head unit might be shot honestly. Do you have another to swap with? Most pioneers have a standard plug so I think another head unit would be easy to plug in.
     
  3. Jan 21, 2012 at 2:20 PM
    #3
    Codeyota

    Codeyota [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Member:
    #64946
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Flagstaff AZ- Grants Pass, OR
    Vehicle:
    03 dblCab TRD 4x4
    I have checked all the connections all around... I was looking everywhere for that factory amp. That idea came from the Local car shop guy. Saying he thinks I need to bypass that amp some way... I could try another HU I'll just have to go through all the B.S of returning it! Oh well though!
     
  4. Jan 21, 2012 at 5:09 PM
    #4
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    You can rule out the idea of a factory amp or connection issue if you bypass the vehicle speaker wiring with new speaker wires.
     
  5. Jan 25, 2012 at 6:40 AM
    #5
    Codeyota

    Codeyota [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Member:
    #64946
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    Flagstaff AZ- Grants Pass, OR
    Vehicle:
    03 dblCab TRD 4x4
    Touche!
     
To Top