1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Crap. Just lost my TPMS!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Maple85, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. Aug 8, 2010 at 4:35 PM
    #1
    Maple85

    Maple85 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Member:
    #13730
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    Portland Oregon
    Lots to come at some point. Hopefully soon.
    Well a long story short my wonderful TPMS are now being used on backup snow tires for a dude on craigslist. I just completly forgot to take them off when I sold the stock tires. God im an idiot. Anyways now im stuck with a flashing TPMS sensor in my face and dont have the green to buy new ones. Can i kill this switch some how? or maybe i could somehow get into the spedomoter area just to put a little black sticker over it or something. Any thoughts?:confused:
     
  2. Aug 8, 2010 at 4:46 PM
    #2
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    There are several work arounds depending the year of your truck. The black electrical tape mod is the most popular. There was a thread on grounding out the the tpms ecu behind the HVAC controls a while ago, again it depends on the year of truck. My 06 I could do mod it behind the glove box. Others have pulled the gauge cluster.

    Sorry no real answer, maybe let us know the year of the truck may help.
    Can't you call the guy you sold them to and explain?
     
  3. Aug 8, 2010 at 5:49 PM
    #3
    Maple85

    Maple85 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Member:
    #13730
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    Portland Oregon
    Lots to come at some point. Hopefully soon.
    Sadly i have no way of contacting him anymore. Im sure he is off enjoying is sensors and tires that he picked up for a 100 bucks. My truck is a 2006 Prerunner acc cab
     
  4. Aug 8, 2010 at 7:08 PM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
  5. Aug 8, 2010 at 7:23 PM
    #5
    PhilipRoth

    PhilipRoth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39030
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma
    King shocks!
    Send gauges to prerunnerseth and have him take out the LED! I did the same
     
  6. Aug 8, 2010 at 7:32 PM
    #6
    misterquad

    misterquad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17118
    Messages:
    501
    The black tape mod takes 15 minutes and it is basically free if you have tape and a Phillips screw driver.

    I won't waste another minute or dime dealing with that damn stupid light.
     
  7. Aug 8, 2010 at 7:39 PM
    #7
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    I was about to say "How does it take you 15 minutes to place a piece of tape on the dash?!?", until I realized you were putting it behind the glass. :laugh:
     
  8. Aug 8, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #8
    cornwall325

    cornwall325 Toyota newbie...

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Member:
    #20176
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09' D.C. TRD Sport 4x4
    Seatbelt chime turned off, Toyota bedmat, Wet Okoles, stock other than that.
    I would suggest taking your cluster out and removing the bulb. That would be a permanent fix and you won't have to worry with anymore TPMS.
     
  9. Aug 8, 2010 at 9:05 PM
    #9
    cntmdc

    cntmdc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16721
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pablo
    Delray Beach,Fl
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 "Super White"
    Undercover Toneau cover, Billet Grill, bug deflector,Fog light Mod,Nerf bars,17" TRD Sport wheels, stainless mirror covers,LED Guage cluster "Blue",SS Front Skid Plate,Custom "SOCKMONKEY" SR5 Decals, OEM TRD SS exhaust tip,shorty antenna,Clarion DVD Head unit,Bilstein 5100's Front shocks,Toytec 2"AAL,Custom Racing Stripe hood,roof & tail gate
    Find a thread on how to remove the cluster and just locate the LED that signals the TPMS and unsolder one side of the LED and reassemble.The job is really easy and should only take you around 15 minutes to do.I did it to my 09 when I changed the orange colored LED on my dash.Good luck Bro.
     
To Top