1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise Control Install Help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 08tacoguy, Sep 5, 2023.

  1. Sep 5, 2023 at 4:46 PM
    #1
    08tacoguy

    08tacoguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2022
    Member:
    #386844
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cliff
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4
  2. Sep 5, 2023 at 4:53 PM
    #2
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    16,737
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
  3. Sep 7, 2023 at 6:33 PM
    #3
    08tacoguy

    08tacoguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2022
    Member:
    #386844
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cliff
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4
    UPDATE: got the cruise control switch wire and installed it, removing the grounding cable for the airbag and replacing the ground with the one on the switch wire. I then connected it to the connector on the spiral cable and the connector on the cruise control switch. I get no cruise control light on the dash below the spedometer.

    I've watched two videos, one says replace the spiral switch, the other says replace the cruise control switch. I'm heistant to replace the spiral switch as the horn works fine, and no airbag light whatsoever. Will do an RMA to the ebay seller and see if a new switch works. Fingers crossed, I really want this to work.

    Anything else I should look at to troubleshoot? I only have a diagnostic tool that good for the very basics.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #3
  4. Sep 7, 2023 at 6:50 PM
    #4
    3JOH22A

    3JOH22A Toyota Gigolo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Member:
    #288172
    Messages:
    10,147
    Gender:
    Male
    District 6ix
    Vehicle:
    3G Tacoma on 35"s, 5G 4Runner
    Wrong cable. There should just be a two-wire cable going from the switch to the spiral cable.

    The ground wire is for the horn.
     
  5. Sep 7, 2023 at 7:24 PM
    #5
    08tacoguy

    08tacoguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2022
    Member:
    #386844
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cliff
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4
    So if I just use the wire that came with the switch this should work? What about the horn in that case? I'll be effectively disconnecting that ground cable.
    upload_2023-9-7_22-24-42.png
     
  6. Sep 8, 2023 at 6:05 AM
    #6
    08tacoguy

    08tacoguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2022
    Member:
    #386844
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cliff
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4
    Two wire didn't work. I'm thinking spiral cable at this point. Unless my truck just isn't "equipped" with it.
     
  7. Sep 8, 2023 at 8:38 AM
    #7
    tak1313

    tak1313 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Member:
    #338673
    Messages:
    531
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Base 2WD
    You need to test the continuity from the input (the airbag/switch side) to the output on the S8 connector (if I recall). If there is no continuity, it's your clock spring/spiral cable.

    When I installed mine, I found that the trace for the horn was fine (so no horn problem), but the trace for the CC was damaged (as determined by taking the CS apart to see once I found no continuity).
     

Products Discussed in

To Top