1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise control wont turn on?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Mondwa, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. Apr 14, 2010 at 9:08 AM
    #1
    Mondwa

    Mondwa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #28028
    Messages:
    1,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 Tacoma
    remote start, Allpro bumper, Slimchubby HID, MetalMiller custom Emblem
    Hey i got a cruise control stock with the splitter wire and everything went great until i went to test then FAIL... Nothing happens at all no lights no nothing. I called my Toyota dealer and they are just dumb. Nice but dumb they couldn't even find me the part number for the cruise control wire. They told me to come here :rofl: which i was already on here getting the part numbers. But now i cant get it to work is there a relay or fuse that has to be added ? its a 08 DC base model
     
  2. Apr 14, 2010 at 10:06 AM
    #2
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,344
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    I read your post a few times and it is still unclear to me what the problems is. I understand that it does not work, but why? Did you just install the factory cruse control system? Or has it never worked?
     
  3. Apr 14, 2010 at 10:28 AM
    #3
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Do you get the light on the dash when the cruise control is on but not engaged and then it will not engage or does the light not come on at all.

    This is a reach but do you have LED bulbs or a special flasher for the tail lights? For some aftermarket cruise controls, they use the power through the brake light circuit to disengage the unit. I've heard LEDs can interfere with it. When I put a cruise control on my motorcycle, I had to remove a brake light flasher to get the cruise control to engage. It saw a grounded path and wouldn't engage because it thought the brake lights were on. The other way around it was to install a relay that was triggered off the brakelight circuit and use the relay contacts as the ground for disengaging the cruise control.
     
  4. Apr 14, 2010 at 10:36 AM
    #4
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,790
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Tacomacowboy, I see you have yours listed as a base model. Is it?
     
  5. Apr 14, 2010 at 11:09 AM
    #5
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,790
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Cool, thanks.
     
  6. Apr 14, 2010 at 2:43 PM
    #6
    Mondwa

    Mondwa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #28028
    Messages:
    1,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 Tacoma
    remote start, Allpro bumper, Slimchubby HID, MetalMiller custom Emblem
    Sorry, Yes i added the factory cruise control

    Lol Yea i am still driving the truck around. I did the same thing that you did, Ordered the brown wire that splits the plug for the cruise control and the air. Everything plugged up fine put back together and nothing

    Nothing comes On. I thought that it would light up saying that the cruise was on just like every other vehicle i have owned. I don't think that I have LED brake lights but i will check they are stock as far as i know
     
  7. Apr 14, 2010 at 3:45 PM
    #7
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,344
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    Okay to better help me understand what exactly was it that you installed into the vehicle? Was it just a factory supplied wire? Was the Cruise Control Main switch already in the truck or did you add that too?
     
  8. Apr 14, 2010 at 8:11 PM
    #8
    Mondwa

    Mondwa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #28028
    Messages:
    1,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 Tacoma
    remote start, Allpro bumper, Slimchubby HID, MetalMiller custom Emblem
    No i bought the cruise control switch and the wire from the factory. Do you think that the cruise control main switch itself was bad? I will check all the connections inside the clip to make sure that the pins are in good
     
  9. Apr 14, 2010 at 10:42 PM
    #9
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,344
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    I don't think the switch is bad, but according to the FSM, if there are no lights on the dashboard and the system does not activate, then the switch circuit is the first item to inspect and troubleshoot. That is why I asked.

    I'd definitely recheck it first.
     
  10. Apr 26, 2010 at 7:46 AM
    #10
    Mondwa

    Mondwa [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #28028
    Messages:
    1,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 Tacoma
    remote start, Allpro bumper, Slimchubby HID, MetalMiller custom Emblem
    Well checked the connectors and everything is fine i guess the guy i got the part from knew it was broke and that's why he sold it cheap. Bummer have to go and get another switch
     
To Top