1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise Control

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by El Taco, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. Sep 8, 2009 at 1:26 PM
    #1
    El Taco

    El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13957
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    STP MN
    Need help on cruise control issue.

    Truck: 2001 Taco Pre V6 Auto, no cruise.

    Went to the local junker and got the cruise control actuator, cruise control ECU, and a stalk/switch from a Camry (it fits though).

    My truck already has the harnesses for the ECU and the actuator, so that was plug-n-play. Also plug-n-play for the stalk to on the steering wheel as well.

    But, when I turn the ignition to ON, there is no "cruise control" light so the unit isn't working. Tried driving it and nothing too. I also checked for resistance on the stalk, actuator, and ECU and it has resistance. Did a test on the actuator and it works.

    What am I missing or am I missing anything???

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sep 8, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #2
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,923
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    Are first gens drive by wire? where there are no cc parts under the hood? If, so then bad stalk has been issue for some, even new ones. Mine is 2nd gen so I'm not sure if 1st gens same easy hookup where ecu does all the controlling. All I added was clutch switch, wire for st wheel, stalk & side cover for steering wheel.
     
  3. Sep 8, 2009 at 1:52 PM
    #3
    El Taco

    El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13957
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    STP MN
    had NOTHING under the hood, no actuator, nothing but the harness to connect to the actuator.

    any other suggestions...?
     
  4. Sep 9, 2009 at 5:02 AM
    #4
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,129
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    No way to tell, without seeing exactly how you've got it wired up ...

    ... And exactly how did you install the actuator?
     
  5. Sep 9, 2009 at 8:53 AM
    #5
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
  6. Sep 9, 2009 at 9:59 AM
    #6
    El Taco

    El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13957
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    STP MN
    Enola, installing the actuator was a simple bolt app on because i just took it off the junker truck.

    I guess what i'm really asking is....

    what all is there to get cruise control???

    like the ECU, actuator, and stalk/switch (which i have all of these), is there anything else or is this it???

    thanks.
     
  7. Sep 9, 2009 at 10:05 AM
    #7
    drew02a

    drew02a Rocking your mom's world Since 1997

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #13005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Regular Cab 2.7L 4x4
    If you have a manual transmission, you'll also need a clutch switch.
     
  8. Sep 9, 2009 at 10:06 AM
    #8
    drew02a

    drew02a Rocking your mom's world Since 1997

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #13005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Regular Cab 2.7L 4x4
    BTW, according to the tracking info, the Locker Controller should arrive today!:woot:
     
  9. Sep 9, 2009 at 10:07 AM
    #9
    El Taco

    El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13957
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    STP MN
    drew, thanks bro.

    and no, i have an auto and the truck i took it off of was an auto as well....
     
  10. Sep 9, 2009 at 10:07 AM
    #10
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours

    He has an auto Drew, and the cruise control is from a Camry.
     
  11. Sep 9, 2009 at 3:09 PM
    #11
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,129
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    OK - now I'm more confused ...

    Which part(s) did you get off a truck, and which part(s) did you get off a Camry?

    And what are the details on both vehicles (years, etc.)?
     
  12. Sep 9, 2009 at 3:25 PM
    #12
    ttylerr

    ttylerr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Member:
    #17913
    Messages:
    833
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM 4Banger 4x4
    5% tint all around, Alpine IVA-W505, 16x8 Mojave Teflon Rims w/Hercules Terra Trac 265/75, Grillcraft Grill, Slimcubby HIDs, Front 5100's @ 0 w/Eibach 1.6" springs, URD Short Shifter, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, Uniden Pro510XL and K30Mag Mount, Relentless Fab Bumper soon to come
    did you put a fuse in the fuse panel? is there a fuse for the cc? i'm just throwing ideas out i have no clue lol
     
  13. Sep 9, 2009 at 5:25 PM
    #13
    El Taco

    El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13957
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    STP MN
    alright, to clear things up a bit...

    what i took off the junker (2001 tacoma prerunner trd):
    cruise control actuator
    cruise ECU

    what i took off the camry (not sure what year but maybe a 93-97):
    cruise stalk

    my truck came with none of these

    but the harnesses were on my truck already so all i did was plugged them all onto whatever...

    i've checked all the fuses as well (should've posted that one the first post). all the fuses are there, but maybe i'm missing a fuse somewhere???

    i dunno.......any other ideas gents???

    what i'm thinking is that the stalk is f****cked up, or the wiring on it is wrong.>>>>>>>>>another trip to the junker...:mad:
     
To Top