1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash lights not working

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by soljah111, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. Feb 9, 2011 at 11:26 AM
    #1
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    I installed a new headunit yesterday and at first my night dash lights didn't work, then I took it apart and messed with it and my day gauge lights don't work. I checked the fuse by the driver side knee area and the fuse isn't blown. Does anyone know what it could be?
     
  2. Feb 9, 2011 at 1:59 PM
    #2
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    Nope, neither of the gauge lights work, day or night
     
  3. Feb 9, 2011 at 2:07 PM
    #3
    cc350

    cc350 Buckeye Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Member:
    #44527
    Messages:
    946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chas
    Liberty,Twp Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD DC
    TRex3 eyelids,Undercover hardshell cover,Timbrens
    Check your wiring, sounds like you didn't do something correctly.
     
  4. Feb 9, 2011 at 2:16 PM
    #4
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    Yup I turned the dimmer up and down like 10 times now.
     
  5. Feb 9, 2011 at 9:39 PM
    #5
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    The gauge cluster lights don't work, the airbag tpms check engine etc. work. Just the back lights don't work...
     
  6. Feb 9, 2011 at 9:41 PM
    #6
    01GREENTACO

    01GREENTACO Not all who wander are lost

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Member:
    #8672
    Messages:
    1,268
    Gender:
    Male
    Germantown, TN
    Vehicle:
    01 4WD
    Lost track many, many mods ago.
    Check the back of the dimmer. If you didn't reconnect the wiring harness fully, none of it works. That's what happened with mine the first time I took my dash off.
     
  7. Feb 9, 2011 at 10:14 PM
    #7
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    Back of the dimmer as in, the rotating dimmer or the illumination wire on the back of the stereo?
     
  8. Feb 9, 2011 at 10:17 PM
    #8
    01GREENTACO

    01GREENTACO Not all who wander are lost

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Member:
    #8672
    Messages:
    1,268
    Gender:
    Male
    Germantown, TN
    Vehicle:
    01 4WD
    Lost track many, many mods ago.
    The rotating dimmer to the left of the steering wheel. In this pic the knob to the left of the tach
    [​IMG]

    In my 2001 you have to take off all of the dash to get to the radio and that's how it got disconnected. Not sure if this is the case for the newer models.
     
  9. Feb 9, 2011 at 10:40 PM
    #9
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    I don't think that's the case, I didn't go anywhere near the dimmer switch while installing.
     
  10. Feb 9, 2011 at 10:41 PM
    #10
    01GREENTACO

    01GREENTACO Not all who wander are lost

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Member:
    #8672
    Messages:
    1,268
    Gender:
    Male
    Germantown, TN
    Vehicle:
    01 4WD
    Lost track many, many mods ago.
    My apologies, ignore what I said then.
     
  11. Feb 10, 2011 at 11:52 AM
    #11
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    I disconnected the illumination wire and checked all the fuses, still no lights. Please let me if you have any ideas as to what it could be... thanks
     
  12. Feb 22, 2011 at 12:35 PM
    #12
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    So I bought a rheostat from the dealership that ran about 130 bucks and replaced it and everything now works. There are two clips on the rheostat, one on the top and bottom, I drilled them out so I wouldn't have to take apart the dash because I didnt have anything to slip in there. After that I unclipped it from the back, popped the new one in and everything was good.
     
  13. May 12, 2011 at 3:33 PM
    #13
    anthonyj326

    anthonyj326 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Member:
    #32862
    Messages:
    98
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    anthony
    Victoria, Texas
    Vehicle:
    07 taco
    Nerf bars, tbs, cai, aftermarket stereo and speakers, black bull bar, hids 10k, fogs 12k, 3 inch lift 1 inch in back, painted rims black
    hey i have the same exact problem was the rheostat hard to install???
     
  14. May 12, 2011 at 10:45 PM
    #14
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    Not really, honestly what I did was buy a new rheostat from the dealership, I put two wood screws into the old rheostat (one on top and bottom where the clips are) and used the screws to pull it out. Then I unplugged the old one and put the new one in. Easy.
     
  15. May 12, 2011 at 10:46 PM
    #15
    soljah111

    soljah111 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45120
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    11 supah white OR
    None yet
    When you get a new rheostat you'll see where the clips are. Also don't forget to pull your deck out and disconnect any orange (illumination wires).
     
  16. May 12, 2011 at 10:47 PM
    #16
    JayARRGHH

    JayARRGHH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Member:
    #44954
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Bellingham, MA
    Vehicle:
    03 Tacoma SR5 TRD
    285/75/R16 Eldarado MTZ, Alpine CDE-102 Deck, DIY Snorkel, 2" Spacer Lift, Uniden Bearcat 880 CB, Custom over head console w/ map lights, CB Mount, and external CB speaker, 2 12" Kenwood Subwoofers, 300 Watt Alpine Amp, Alpine 3" lift 500# capacity
    that happened to me except it was a fuse in the engine bay instead of the kick panel.
     
To Top