1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Diagnostic check????

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by spaid84, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Feb 24, 2010 at 4:04 PM
    #1
    spaid84

    spaid84 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30588
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PA
    Vehicle:
    95 tacoma
    i got a 95 4cyl 5spd tacoma 4x4 how do i check the check engine light codes...what scanner do i use and where do i get it?? any help greatly appreciated thanx ....Rob
     
  2. Feb 24, 2010 at 4:24 PM
    #2
    roddyrod72

    roddyrod72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Member:
    #12016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Greenville, KY
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 Regular Cab 4x4 5 sp manual
    DRL OEM Mod, OEM Cruise Mod, 3" Lift, painted OEM grill
    If you go to an Autozone or similar parts store, they will scan it for free. It might not be as detailed a scan as a pay shop would be, but it's free. For instance, they might tell you that you have a bad o2 sensor, but the scan won't tell you which one. If they give you a trouble code, come back home and Google it and most likely you will find your answer.
     
  3. Feb 24, 2010 at 5:03 PM
    #3
    spaid84

    spaid84 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30588
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PA
    Vehicle:
    95 tacoma
    thanks but i actualltwork for autozone my truck is obd 1 autozones scanner is only obd 2
     
  4. Feb 24, 2010 at 5:31 PM
    #4
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    yours is a 95?
     
  5. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:04 PM
    #5
    roddyrod72

    roddyrod72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Member:
    #12016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Greenville, KY
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 Regular Cab 4x4 5 sp manual
    DRL OEM Mod, OEM Cruise Mod, 3" Lift, painted OEM grill
    My bad, I thought OBD2 was 95 and newer. Is yours a 95 or 95 1/2?
     
  6. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:25 PM
    #6
    spaid84

    spaid84 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30588
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PA
    Vehicle:
    95 tacoma
    yeah a 95.....how do i tell if its a 95 or a 95.5?? and when i look under the hood i can see the diagnosis connector rite at the front of the intake
     
  7. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:40 PM
    #7
    roddyrod72

    roddyrod72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Member:
    #12016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Greenville, KY
    Vehicle:
    '10 SR5 Regular Cab 4x4 5 sp manual
    DRL OEM Mod, OEM Cruise Mod, 3" Lift, painted OEM grill
    If it is a 95, it would be a Toyota Pickup...not a Tacoma. The Tacoma's started in 95.5. I'm not sure if it makes a difference in the OBD version, however.

    On my 97 Tacoma, it also has the diagnostic connector near the intake as you mentioned. I wonder what the difference is between the connector near the intake vs the connector under the steering column???
     
  8. Feb 25, 2010 at 6:21 PM
    #8
    spaid84

    spaid84 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30588
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    PA
    Vehicle:
    95 tacoma
    okay then it is a 95.5 cuz it is deff a tacoma. i pulled the cover off the diagnostic plug under the hood and it is deff not obd2. so back to my original ? is there an obd1 scanner out there for it?
     
To Top