1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Did you swap tour TPMS sensors?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by thebigk, Apr 10, 2010.

?

Did you swap your TPMS sensors?

Poll closed Jul 9, 2010.
  1. Yes

    19 vote(s)
    51.4%
  2. No

    18 vote(s)
    48.6%
  1. Apr 10, 2010 at 12:43 PM
    #1
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    When you bought new wheels and tires, did you swap your TPMS sensors?

    Fixing to get the Mickey Thompson Classic Lock II's and trying to decide if I should swap the sensors to the new wheels.

    If you didn't, what did you do with your sensors to get rid of the light?
     
  2. Apr 10, 2010 at 12:54 PM
    #2
    vinnyvavoom

    vinnyvavoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Member:
    #22613
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    09 Black Access Cab 4x2
    Some stuff
    I made the pipe bomb, so now my winter wheels and summer wheels have no sensors and my light stays off. :D
     
  3. Apr 10, 2010 at 7:29 PM
    #3
    littledvl

    littledvl ride BMX!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10345
    Messages:
    3,667
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Saint Leonard MD
    Vehicle:
    08 taco dc 4x4 / 15 tundra dc 4x4
    Too many to list
    I didnt bother switching it over, bought a scanguage that blocks the light. :D

    I will be doing the pipe mod eventually, I always check my air pressure anyway.
     
  4. Apr 10, 2010 at 7:30 PM
    #4
    rhoppas

    rhoppas Land of Oz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2564
    Messages:
    1,301
    Gender:
    Male
    Topeka, KS
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab V6 TRD Sport Tow
    Earnhardt Cannons, Terra Grapplers, Viper alarm, Hunter4x4 Bull Bar, 6" Pro Comp Off-Road lights, extra set of bed D-rings, Chrome exhaust tip, Metra Ipod/MP3 adapter, Garmin GPS, CarriageWorks grill, Maglite mounted to driver seat, 9" Stubbie Antenna, WeatherTech floor liners, Saddleman Neoprene seat covers, DeeZee bed mat
    I had them move the sensors to my new wheels.
     
  5. Apr 10, 2010 at 7:35 PM
    #5
    red taco

    red taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Member:
    #12063
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    La Verne, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner Impulse Red Pearl
    To make the light go away you just have to hold the button to reset it so it thinks that its at the right level with 0 lbs. Which is what it thinks its getting when they are not installed. From then on the light will just stay off
     
  6. Apr 10, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #6
    kilgoja

    kilgoja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18685
    Messages:
    592
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2009 regular cab 4x4 2.7L (silver)
    :mudding:
    i don't think that will work...it has to pick up the sensors even if it's set at 0....if you remove the sensors completely it will blink...at least i hope or i bought new sensors for nothing lmao....i got them cuz my truck was brand new when i swapped from the steel wheels to aluminum ones...requires different sensors...why i dunno....stupid
     
  7. Apr 11, 2010 at 3:44 AM
    #7
    TimS

    TimS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Member:
    #26550
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC tacoma/2005 access cab
    Rebuilt with flatbed 5100's, new spring packs
    I found this out by accident. I put the oem rims and tires back on. Held the button down until the light went off. That was awhile back. Now, 4 days ago I just put new rims and toyos on with NO TPMS and the light never came on. If it does later on I will hold the button down to see what happens.
     
  8. Apr 11, 2010 at 5:02 AM
    #8
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I voted no.
    I kept my stock steel wheels/sensors & mounted winter tires.
    When the summer alloys/tires w/ no sensors are on, no light illuminates unless I drive out of range/exceed the time limit which is pretty far away actually from the sensors in storage. When it finally triggers, I put a business card over it. When the truck parks overnight back near the wheels it goes off by itself. Once or twice I have had to use the reset procedure.
    It never goes off around town & have parked over 20 miles from the house hiking/skiing for the day, got back to the truck & no light.
     
  9. Apr 11, 2010 at 1:32 PM
    #9
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    9 people?????? That's it?
     
  10. Apr 11, 2010 at 3:42 PM
    #10
    The End

    The End Support our troops!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20026
    Messages:
    4,834
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Lakeland, Fl
    Vehicle:
    09 A/C 4wd M6
    2.5 King RR in front, LR ucs' s, 2.0 King RR rear, B.A.M.F shock mounts, ATO shackle flip, 4X sliders, ARB front bumper with XRC8, CBI hc rear, weathertechs, Leer cap, Thule rack, ubolt flip, etc.
    My sensors wouldn't fit in my new wheels, I just had a fellow member take the light out.
     
  11. Apr 11, 2010 at 3:49 PM
    #11
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,969
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    fuck that little light, i need to figure out how to get rid of it.
     
  12. Apr 11, 2010 at 3:58 PM
    #12
    The End

    The End Support our troops!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20026
    Messages:
    4,834
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Lakeland, Fl
    Vehicle:
    09 A/C 4wd M6
    2.5 King RR in front, LR ucs' s, 2.0 King RR rear, B.A.M.F shock mounts, ATO shackle flip, 4X sliders, ARB front bumper with XRC8, CBI hc rear, weathertechs, Leer cap, Thule rack, ubolt flip, etc.
    Take the cluster out and solder out the led.
     
  13. Apr 11, 2010 at 4:01 PM
    #13
    derekabraham

    derekabraham Living vicariously through everybody

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7822
    Messages:
    29,052
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TW'S Hippy Liberal
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2002 4x4 4Runner
    Stick on hood scoop from Autozone.
    I have the sensors with the new wheels.
     
  14. Apr 11, 2010 at 4:07 PM
    #14
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
  15. May 10, 2010 at 4:52 AM
    #15
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
  16. May 10, 2010 at 5:10 AM
    #16
    JetTech

    JetTech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Member:
    #5313
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    East Bay, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport D-Cab Long Bed 4X4
    Icon/5100, N-FAB Side steps, AIRAID Intake, Secondary air filter removed, WeatherTech's, OEM roof rack, USA-spec ipod adapter, A/C-defrost mod,2ea Delta bike Hitch Pro2 Locking bike mounts,TRD Skid,Polk 6x9/6,RedLine hood struts,under-hood led lighting...
    Switched over.
     
  17. May 10, 2010 at 5:11 AM
    #17
    Johnny M50

    Johnny M50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Member:
    #35974
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    N NJ
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma, V6 Sport 4x4,debadged, Super White
    K&N "warm" air intake
    When I first got the truck, that damned light would not go out, Stealer said it was my problem. I invoked the Certified reson I got the truck for. So after a few minutes of saying, I rode it off the lot with light on, salesman knows of it, service found 2 screws in a rear tire that could not be plugged, so now new rubber all the way around on dealers dime. Guess I'll keep the silly things installed.
     
  18. May 10, 2010 at 7:07 AM
    #18
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    I did have mine switched over on my new rims and tires. Shop charged $39 to swap all 4. Works great in the new setup!
     
To Top