1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Different kind of scope question

Discussion in 'Guns & Hunting' started by swtaco10, May 25, 2020.

1. May 25, 2020 at 1:24 PM
    swtaco10

swtaco10 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Dave
    South of Tampa
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD off-Road
    Bilstein 5100's, LED interior and puddle lights, 17" XD revolver's, Grabber A/T2's
    So I'm new to the scope world. Always had red dots or iron sights with no real desire to go past 25-50 yards. However, I'm getting older and now my interests have changed. So, TW, let me tell you what I want to do and I'll let the fine people here point me in the direction. I want to be able to reach out a bit, mind you the farthest I can shoot is 250 yards limited by the range I go to. I have a Springfield Saint Victor in 5.56 with no real modifications. I would like to keep it fairly simple and under $500 with a mount if possible.

2. May 27, 2020 at 11:19 AM
    MadRussian

MadRussian Well-Known Member

Member:
    Metrowest MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD OR AC
    Do you have other rifles you may use this scope on?
    I'm a proponent of spending a little more on one good scope and QD mount and moving it between guns, rather than buying two+ cheaper scopes. That being said, my suggestion would be a 4-14x ~ 3-18x type scope from Vortex or Primary Arms and an ADM QD mount. I look at glass clarity before any bells and whistles the scope has, but things like FFP, wide turrets and cool reticles are very nice to have.

3. May 27, 2020 at 11:30 AM
    rnish

rnish Well-Known Member

Member:
    Peoples Republic of Maryland (USA)