1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

DIY: Wiring after-market lights

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by rhoppas, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. Nov 28, 2009 at 1:29 PM
    #61
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,450
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft

    Well, if the relay has a lower amp rating that the fuse you might burn out/melt the relay before the fuse blows, but other that I don't see a problem.
     
  2. Nov 28, 2009 at 1:56 PM
    #62
    Atron22

    Atron22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Member:
    #26341
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    05 Taco Double Cab 4x4
    K&N Cold Air intake 77 Series, 3 inch leveling kit front, AAL w 1 1/2 inch block, rear Pro Comp ES9000 Shocks, Dynomax Catback Exhuast.
    Is this what you used to connect the wires to one....[​IMG]
     
  3. Dec 10, 2009 at 7:04 PM
    #63
    cameraperson

    cameraperson TIM HUS shows Nashville how it's done correctly.

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Member:
    #25095
    Messages:
    161
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cameraperson ADK
    DC and Lake Ozonia in the ADKs
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 TrD sport
    Roof Rack, Auto Ignition, Full-time switchable camera over the rear tag, steering wheel cover, light floor mats, Gravimetric torpedoes
    Thanks- its great info that I will use soon.
    Mike
     
  4. Dec 30, 2009 at 1:41 PM
    #64
    DonL

    DonL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26507
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Don
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    Monster Exhaust, Shell, 5100's all around, Airlift airbags, Hankook Atm, K&M air filter
    Thanks for the installation instructions. It helped me a lot. I installed a set of Hella 500's and a Smittybilt bull bar on a 08 Tacoma and it only took me 3 days. Me being 68 and in 30 degree weather, that wasn't to bad. Great instructions, DonL
     
  5. Dec 30, 2009 at 10:14 PM
    #65
    rhoppas

    rhoppas [OP] Land of Oz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2564
    Messages:
    1,300
    Gender:
    Male
    Topeka, KS
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab V6 TRD Sport Tow
    Earnhardt Cannons, Terra Grapplers, Viper alarm, Hunter4x4 Bull Bar, 6" Pro Comp Off-Road lights, extra set of bed D-rings, Chrome exhaust tip, Metra Ipod/MP3 adapter, Garmin GPS, CarriageWorks grill, Maglite mounted to driver seat, 9" Stubbie Antenna, WeatherTech floor liners, Saddleman Neoprene seat covers, DeeZee bed mat
    Thanks DonL! I appreciate the feedback. Glad it worked for you.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:01 PM
    #66
    09northerntaco

    09northerntaco Tacoma = best shuttle truck ever

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Member:
    #18204
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Whistler BC Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 trd. Stock for now
    Great instructions rhoppas. I have a couple questions: Can I run two switches (one for driving and one for fogs) on the same fuse tap power source? Theoretically as long as they are not both in use at the same time it shouldnt matter right? or would turning one switch on make the other switch off?

    Thanks
    Erik
     
  7. Jan 14, 2010 at 8:44 PM
    #67
    JAG

    JAG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9847
    Messages:
    1,751
    Subbed. Thanks for great info. Doing this on monday!! Woot for no school!
     
  8. Jan 18, 2010 at 3:37 PM
    #68
    rhoppas

    rhoppas [OP] Land of Oz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2564
    Messages:
    1,300
    Gender:
    Male
    Topeka, KS
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab V6 TRD Sport Tow
    Earnhardt Cannons, Terra Grapplers, Viper alarm, Hunter4x4 Bull Bar, 6" Pro Comp Off-Road lights, extra set of bed D-rings, Chrome exhaust tip, Metra Ipod/MP3 adapter, Garmin GPS, CarriageWorks grill, Maglite mounted to driver seat, 9" Stubbie Antenna, WeatherTech floor liners, Saddleman Neoprene seat covers, DeeZee bed mat
    I see no reason why you couldn't operate both switches from the one tap. Relays use very very little power. The switches should not interfere with one another.
     
  9. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:45 PM
    #69
    skulltacoma

    skulltacoma Make more better!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Member:
    #29555
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BEN
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2009 toyota tacoma trd modified
    CAI, dynomax turbo exhaust system,tinted windows medium on the fronts to match the backs, hid kit hi and low beam, pop and lock tailgate, painted calipers red with caliper paint, put 2.25' leveling kit in front and a 1" block in the rear. its now level and rides WAY better (readylift)>way nicer than the revtek my buddy has i think its garbage imo<, hurst "T" shifter, 18 x 10 american racing (can't remember the name) chrome rims with badass 5 inch lip :), 12 inch rockford fosgate punch with rockford fosgate 600 watt amp, bushwacker fender flares (cheaper than replacing the one i wrecked lol) ,kc light bar with kc lights, toyota aluminum stamped skid plate, and a skull front license plate. More mods to come, thinking a 6 inch lift and arb bumper etc etc.
    I have a question: does your switch with the light on heat up at all and secondly has it ever burnt out (the light?) because thats what i want to do but 1. i need a quility switch and 2. it better work i don't wanna be in there twice and 3 its not as easy for me to install it where you did because i have all kinds of buttons that are there i have NO blank tabs there... :( instead i have that damn traction control and vscm or something or other that i have to push for three seconds (while stopped) to turn that off so i can GO DRIFTING :D >which is always< SECOND Question: because I have a 2009 where would you recommend mounting that switch?
     
  10. Jan 24, 2010 at 2:52 PM
    #70
    rhoppas

    rhoppas [OP] Land of Oz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2564
    Messages:
    1,300
    Gender:
    Male
    Topeka, KS
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab V6 TRD Sport Tow
    Earnhardt Cannons, Terra Grapplers, Viper alarm, Hunter4x4 Bull Bar, 6" Pro Comp Off-Road lights, extra set of bed D-rings, Chrome exhaust tip, Metra Ipod/MP3 adapter, Garmin GPS, CarriageWorks grill, Maglite mounted to driver seat, 9" Stubbie Antenna, WeatherTech floor liners, Saddleman Neoprene seat covers, DeeZee bed mat
    My lighted switch does not heat up, and the light has never burned out. There is very little power going through the switch. That is the beauty of using a relay. If you do some searching there have been multiple discussions about switch placement.
     
  11. Jan 31, 2010 at 4:56 PM
    #71
    bill-e-boy

    bill-e-boy new and improved

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Member:
    #7517
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    billy
    florence
    Vehicle:
    04 dbl cab lifted pre-Runner
    added factory roof rack, factory skid plate, removed cheesy running boards, built a pvc bike rack, added interior floor lighting, added decal plate under rear window, added sylvania silverstars, installed toytec ultimate 3" lift, added hella optilux yellow fog lights, added orange park lights to the turn signals, new 265/75/16 goodyear duratracs tires and raceline rockcrusher 16" wheels
    for those of you that ran add-a-fuses from the fuse box to the on/off switch...which fuse slot did you use...upper left?

    can I use one of the other two blanks? both read 14.2 with the truck on...is that ok?

    my truck 04 prerunner

    thnks
     
  12. Feb 14, 2010 at 11:59 PM
    #72
    09northerntaco

    09northerntaco Tacoma = best shuttle truck ever

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Member:
    #18204
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Whistler BC Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 trd. Stock for now
    So I mounted the switches (which came with the PIAA lamps I purchased they have 3m tape and are pretty slick even though they are not flush)
    The one for the fogs is beside the switches on the left of the steering wheel. The one for the beams I snaked under the dash and center console and up the side of the shifter, with the switch just under where my pinky finger rests on the stick shift. It is really comfortable and easy to hit to light up even mid shift and is easy to switch off as I usually drive with my hand on the shifter. The answer to my question about the same power source for both switches is yes you can as I have done exactly as shown in the instructions only I taped power for both lighted switches.

    I will take pics if anyone wants to see the set up.

    Cheers
    Erik
     
  13. Feb 27, 2010 at 7:21 PM
    #73
    TurfTaco

    TurfTaco Is there a long john silvers on the island?

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Member:
    #7704
    Messages:
    1,011
    Gender:
    Male
    URE
    Vehicle:
    07 Deer Collector
    285/75-16 BFG KM1's, AVS vent visors, AVS hood shield, pioneer avic F900BT, pac steering wheel control adapter, Boyo rearview camera, pac ipod interface, tinted windows, Toytec 1.5 AAL, Bistein 5100s (front set to .85) Eibach coils, Black headlights, grillcraft black billet insert, N-fab light bar, 4 Hella FF700 lights & color matched grille, Sockmonkey bedside decals. 16x8 MT sidebiters, Weathertechs, Fabtech spare carrier.
    I mounted and wired up 4 hella 700s just as the tutorial stated but got nothing. I can't even get my swiches to light up. Any suggestions on what to look for?
     
  14. Mar 1, 2010 at 5:29 PM
    #74
    bill-e-boy

    bill-e-boy new and improved

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Member:
    #7517
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    billy
    florence
    Vehicle:
    04 dbl cab lifted pre-Runner
    added factory roof rack, factory skid plate, removed cheesy running boards, built a pvc bike rack, added interior floor lighting, added decal plate under rear window, added sylvania silverstars, installed toytec ultimate 3" lift, added hella optilux yellow fog lights, added orange park lights to the turn signals, new 265/75/16 goodyear duratracs tires and raceline rockcrusher 16" wheels
    when I wired up my lights I first had a bad relay, then I had a bad ground, and then I had mis-wired the switch. Switches I used came from autozone, but appeared to be mismarked on the instructions. maybe look into those, the mis-wired switch is what was popping my fuses. i used the add-a-fuses from the fuse box.

    Luckily I have a friend that's good at wiring and troubleshooting.

    hope this helps
     
  15. Mar 6, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #75
    Logically Insane

    Logically Insane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Member:
    #29674
    Messages:
    227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    TN --- USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner Access Cab
    Kobalt toolbox mounted with J-Hooks, Locks on storage compartments in bed, Window Visors, Toolbox LED Lights, Underbody Lights, More to come.
    OK, After adding some backup lights with a switch, I got a question. What style of add-a-fuse do you guys use that will work?

    I got I think HHH, and I dont believe they'll work, but some of the others are too big to work..

    EDIT: I got it to work, I just wasn't being aggressive enough last night.
     
  16. Mar 21, 2010 at 11:48 AM
    #76
    TACBOY

    TACBOY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5338
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Fort Campbell ,Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    07 tacoma,prerunner,sr5
    none as of yet there is not much to offer here in germany ,but when i get back to the states next year it's a different ball game
    I read this and it sounds like me doing work on my vehicles ,i'm not a pro like you guys but what i read helps and teaches me more ,so this brings me to my question i have off road lights on my 2007 toyota tacoma dbl cab prerunner sr5 that is the model i have so i would like to know if i could swap out the 55 watt bulbs in the after market lights for 130 watt bulbs using theses intructions you have provided i have asked pro's literally and it's like they have not got brain cell one working is what i want to do possible with aftermarket or do i have to do something different than what you have here.......really would appreciate some input it's dark driving here in germany and they have no lights but plenty of animals on the road.please help.......thanks much
     
  17. May 28, 2010 at 5:33 PM
    #77
    VooDoo

    VooDoo More Cowbell!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Member:
    #27044
    Messages:
    2,331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carter Ivey
    Baton Rouge, LA/ Starkville, MS
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB PreRunner
    subscribed! nice job!
     
  18. Nov 14, 2010 at 9:32 PM
    #78
    LoosePikkel

    LoosePikkel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Member:
    #40012
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Bellingham, Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Thanks for the instructions - Awesome -. I'm gonna be installing 4 Hella 500 and each set of lights came with it's own wiring kit. Can I use 1 switch for all 4 lights, or do I need a seperate switch for each set of lights. Thanks in advance.
     
  19. Nov 15, 2010 at 4:53 PM
    #79
    drifter

    drifter moderately modded

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Member:
    #41764
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    good stuff
    OME 880's/Nitrochargers, Rebuilt leaf packs, diff breather extension, hole in air box, truck toolbox, panasonic stereo, Mag light mount, Glasstite canopy, Custom designed/built light bar, Hella 500's.
    Without knowing to much about this stuff, I would assume that:
    you could upgrade to a higher wattage bulb, as long as you upgraded your wiring/fuses/relays/switches/etc appropriately.
    Whether or not your current light cases could handle the extra heat the 130W bulbs would generate might be another issue.
     
  20. Nov 19, 2010 at 7:21 AM
    #80
    newfie8

    newfie8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Member:
    #14512
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    newfoundland
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Tinted windows all around. Fog lights. Intermittent wiper switch. Skid plate. Extra D rings. Grillcraft. Color matched grill. Hella 500ff HID behind grillcraft. Rcbs204 Lighting. 5100's up front. 265/75/16 Duratracs.Firestone riderites. Bora Wheel spacers. Tinted tails. De badged. Blacked out rims.
    Why do it say in your diagram that you used two inline fuses but you only used one? And why only a 1 or 2 amp fuse in the add a circuit why not use a fuse what the wattage calls for? Bare with me i'm new at this! lol
     
To Top