1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dnx 5140

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by jayranger, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. Jul 21, 2009 at 4:04 PM
    #1
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Just bought it last night. Waiting on Tacotunes kit to come in for install, to put it in this weekend. Anyone else have this installed? Was it easy install? Did it do the factory speakers and justice? Should I plan on getting new speakers next? Just a few questions as I wait on Tacotunes to send me the double Din dash kit. Oh another question. I am trying to bypass using the front Aux jack for my Sirius and trying to utilize one of the Ipod connections instead. If I just utilize the USB connection with my IPOD adapator will it work OK or does the Ipod require the usb and both the other to plugs ?
     
  2. Jul 23, 2009 at 4:09 PM
    #2
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Does anyone have this unit at all? Makes me nervous that no one has replied LOL Makes me think no one has it and I am scared that I bought it now....:eek:
     
  3. Jul 23, 2009 at 4:20 PM
    #3
    Ty's Taco

    Ty's Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Member:
    #15107
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Sweet home Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prerunner SR5 Sport Pearl Black
    Ask visa or my wife. They both constantly remind me how much I've got left to spend.
    I'm getting the 5140 soon and from what my friend who knows his head units this thing is tight.:eek: He said the 5120 and 5140 are the same parts but the upgrade's in the software and the 5140 is worth every penny. Sorry I can't help on the install, not there yet but let me know how it goes.
     
  4. Jul 23, 2009 at 4:30 PM
    #4
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    I have a plug and play Sirius and have to use the Aux connection for. I will let you know how the install goes. Hopefully Tacotunes shipped, like they said they did, Wednesday morning and I should have my stuff Saturday afternoon and ic an have it in that evening.
     
  5. Jul 24, 2009 at 5:59 PM
    #5
    btacoma

    btacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Member:
    #19776
    Messages:
    219
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roger
    texas
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner DC v6 4.0L
    hankook tires pioneer avh-p4300 headunit
    well when you get install lets us know how it works. i want to get the 7140 but a little to much so i was thinking about the 5140 heard alot of good reviews and an easy install. good luck
     
  6. Jul 24, 2009 at 6:31 PM
    #6
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Unfortunately it looks like I did not get the dash kit today so.... No install this weekend. I will update when I get it in.
     
  7. Jul 29, 2009 at 3:31 PM
    #7
    dreamnz

    dreamnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15964
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    Suspension: Camburg Spindles, Bilstein 5100s, Deaver Leafs, BFGs Audio: IDQ 10 in "Marv" box - Hybrid Audio L6 mid bass/ L4 mids / L1 ProSE tweets - RF Power / Arc Amps...BitOne.1 to control it all.
    I have the DNX-5120 and I like it a lot.

    As for Tacotunes, don't hold your breath or put off planning other things for your weekends.... Could be a week, could be a month. The run around is standard practice with those guys. Total flakes.
     
  8. Jul 29, 2009 at 5:26 PM
    #8
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Just had to contact them AGAIN! Third contact with them 3rd time they said it is going to be shipped tomorrow. These guys are ridiculous! At least I paid with PAYPAL and can file a complaint and get my money back.


    NO ONE USE TACOTUNES! :mad: I can not think of what else I could do? I have tried 3 times?
     
  9. Jul 31, 2009 at 8:04 PM
    #9
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Ok so I got it installed tonight. Really easy to throw in there. Now I need the rest of the night to figure out how to run the thing :eek: Seems pretty solid in there for the time being. Did not need any of the the extra trim pieces though, of course none of them actually would allow it to fit with the dash kit.
     
  10. Jul 31, 2009 at 11:21 PM
    #10
    nighthawk87

    nighthawk87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Member:
    #8434
    Messages:
    1,023
    got pictures. I did mine and have these ugly spaces around it, doesn't seem it fits real well. I used a metra kit. what did you use?
     
  11. Aug 1, 2009 at 12:33 AM
    #11
    btacoma

    btacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Member:
    #19776
    Messages:
    219
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roger
    texas
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner DC v6 4.0L
    hankook tires pioneer avh-p4300 headunit
    post some pics thats the deck im planning on geting
     
  12. Aug 1, 2009 at 5:18 AM
    #12
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Ok Here they are. I used the Scoshe bracket no problems from it.

    P1000394.jpg
    P1000395.jpg
     
  13. Aug 1, 2009 at 6:35 PM
    #13
    btacoma

    btacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Member:
    #19776
    Messages:
    219
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roger
    texas
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner DC v6 4.0L
    hankook tires pioneer avh-p4300 headunit
    nice!
     
  14. Aug 4, 2009 at 3:30 PM
    #14
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    OK anyone else have one of these and have a problem with the IPOD? The IPOD is connected and is playing but I have lost all control of the IPOD on my touch screen. I made sure everything was still connected in the back of the unit.
     
  15. Aug 4, 2009 at 10:27 PM
    #15
    dreamnz

    dreamnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15964
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    Suspension: Camburg Spindles, Bilstein 5100s, Deaver Leafs, BFGs Audio: IDQ 10 in "Marv" box - Hybrid Audio L6 mid bass/ L4 mids / L1 ProSE tweets - RF Power / Arc Amps...BitOne.1 to control it all.
    On occasion, I will lose control/connection to my iPOD with my 5120. When this happens, I have to reset the ipod. Resetting the 5120, doesn't seem to revive it leading me to believe it was the ipod, not the HU.

    First, try resettig your HU. If that fixes it, it's obviously the HU. Based on my experiences it's probably the ipod.

    I disconnect the ipod, and do the forceful reset. (hold center button and stop button at the same time for about 10 seconds) (maybe center + menu, can't remember).

    Anyways, my ipod used to do that on occasion anyways...so no surprise.

    2nd side-effect of this issue is that you turn off your truck and come back to find the ipod completely dead. This happens with it's locked up on shutdown. The ipod stays on after the HU has turned off. After driving around for about 5 minutes, the ipod will come back. Or...you can remove it and charge it by normal means.

    I run into these problems about once a month.
     
  16. Aug 5, 2009 at 4:04 PM
    #16
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Yeah, I got into my truck this morning and it all worked fine again.
     
  17. Aug 5, 2009 at 8:43 PM
    #17
    zero niner

    zero niner romeo oscar bravo

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Member:
    #8681
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    09 DC SB Prerunner
    All Pro front plate bumper, 5100 1.75" Bilstein up front, 1" block and TSB in rear, UWS lowpro tool box, Toyota Side Steps
    I believe you need to get your unit updated, I had a problem with my DNX5120 and it got solved with an update. I see your deck listed so follow the links and upload the update, most likely will fix your issue.

    http://www.kenwood.com/cs/ce/mm/firmware/index.html

    Good luck,

    Rob
     
  18. Aug 6, 2009 at 2:58 PM
    #18
    jayranger

    jayranger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18694
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OffRoad
    Yeah mine is already updated. Thanks though for the info.
     
  19. Aug 6, 2009 at 5:09 PM
    #19
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    Looks like I made a good purchase! I just picked this unit up tonight for $400 bucks!! Heck yeah! What a deal!

    One question, can I have the unit display GPS mode all of the time while listening to music?? I love you watch my actual speed on my current Garmin GPS device.
     
  20. Aug 6, 2009 at 5:26 PM
    #20
    zero niner

    zero niner romeo oscar bravo

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Member:
    #8681
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    09 DC SB Prerunner
    All Pro front plate bumper, 5100 1.75" Bilstein up front, 1" block and TSB in rear, UWS lowpro tool box, Toyota Side Steps
    You sure can, just choose your source and then switch to GPS and your sound will remain the same. The GPS speed and elevation are found on the GPS info page. It's also cool to watch when you're going up an elevation to see how fast you're rising! Way cool, I did this recently on a road trip.

    Have fun!

    Rob
     
To Top