1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

do you think my truck is pre-wired for the compass and ambient temp gauge?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by builthatch, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:11 PM
    #1
    builthatch

    builthatch [OP] MiG-21 superfan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Member:
    #46713
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony Mandarich
    near the ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 SSM SR5 6 speed 4x4
    Hella DOT wattage high performance 9003 headlight bulbs, Optilux by Hella XY h10 fog light bulbs, Suntek HP50 tint, AFE Stage II Si intake
    '11 SR% 4x4 double cab. i've read that these trucks are, for the most part, wired for most things no matter what, but to me it seems some things would be needed for this aside from simply having the plug present, such as the temp sensor in the bumper or something.

    i found a write-up for installing such but it was from '09 - i don't know if the pre-wiring has changed at all.

    i'd love to retrofit one of those into my overhead console.
     
  2. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:15 PM
    #2
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    look up by the radiator, if theres a plug that comes off your horn harness then thats one part to do it. You'd have to get the sending unit, only like 15 bucks online. if you pull down your overhead and find the other end, well woot, you can do a swap. Ive got the hook ups and the sending unit, i just need a overhead display now.
     
  3. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:15 PM
    #3
    milam89

    milam89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Member:
    #41138
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    houston,tx
    Vehicle:
    2006 blacked tacoma
    man i would love to do the same thing, hope somebody knows!!!!!:D
     
  4. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:16 PM
    #4
    builthatch

    builthatch [OP] MiG-21 superfan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Member:
    #46713
    Messages:
    549
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony Mandarich
    near the ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 SSM SR5 6 speed 4x4
    Hella DOT wattage high performance 9003 headlight bulbs, Optilux by Hella XY h10 fog light bulbs, Suntek HP50 tint, AFE Stage II Si intake
    ahh, i see now.

    i've been searching some other terms and found add'l info that points to me having all of that, but we won't know for sure until i check for myself ; )

    thanks!
     
  5. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:18 PM
    #5
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    haha yea, just take a look. takes about 2 minutes. GL
     
  6. Dec 2, 2010 at 11:20 PM
    #6
    tacobox

    tacobox Evasive Maneuvers PMKMS

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36834
    Messages:
    597
    Gender:
    Male
    Should only take a sec to pop the cover off and see if there's a wire harness
     
  7. Nov 19, 2015 at 7:15 PM
    #7
    mahaloTaco

    mahaloTaco TcBob's BFFL

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Member:
    #158370
    Messages:
    3,315
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Max
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    13 RC 4x4 S/C'd lockers 4.88's Airflow Snorkel McNeil Glass
    anyone have the wiring?
     
To Top