1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

does an 08 Tacoma have TPMS??

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Blygy, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. Sep 26, 2012 at 11:23 AM
    #1
    Blygy

    Blygy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Member:
    #80231
    Messages:
    324
    Gender:
    Male
    East of Edson
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged 2012 DCLB TRD Sport Trail Teams
    Trail Teams Edition Supercharger
    Hi guys.. I am looking for a set of rims for my 2012 Tacoma TRD Sport Trail Teams Edition.

    I found a set of 16" rim from a 08 Tacoma on Kijiji but I am unsure if they came with Tire Pressure Monitoring sensors.

    Can any one help out?

    Thanks

    Bill
     
  2. Sep 26, 2012 at 11:29 AM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,925
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    2008 Tacoma's rolled off the factory with TPMS but you should ask the seller if they're still installed. They easily could have removed them and put back regular valve stems and kept the sensors for an aftermarket set of wheels.
     
  3. Sep 26, 2012 at 12:06 PM
    #3
    Blygy

    Blygy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Member:
    #80231
    Messages:
    324
    Gender:
    Male
    East of Edson
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged 2012 DCLB TRD Sport Trail Teams
    Trail Teams Edition Supercharger
    Thanks Pugga.. I did just that.. Bought a set of 16" rims for my Taco for 350 with sensors and crappy tires on them.. Only 350.. Woohoo

    Now to paint them black and then buy some winter tires..
     
  4. Sep 26, 2012 at 12:21 PM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,925
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Not a bad deal with sensors and all! Just so you know, you can only have one set of sensors programmed to your ECU at a time though. I did the same thing you did and my sensors stay in one set, the other set just has standard valve stems. As long as I park next to the set with the sensors at night, it resets the TPMS light (it usually comes on after a few miles the next day).
     
  5. Sep 26, 2012 at 1:30 PM
    #5
    Blygy

    Blygy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Member:
    #80231
    Messages:
    324
    Gender:
    Male
    East of Edson
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged 2012 DCLB TRD Sport Trail Teams
    Trail Teams Edition Supercharger
    I bought the Cable so I can hopefully just do my sensor programming when I swap over.. Hopefully.. I haven't hooked up to the truck yet..
     
To Top