1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Does antenna on top of cab actually have a cable?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Whitster, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:16 PM
    #1
    Whitster

    Whitster [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63656
    Messages:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Whit
    Golden, CO
    Vehicle:
    '09 AC w/SR5 & TRD, 6' bed
    Does turtle antenna on top of cab actually have a cable going forward to radio console or is it just a dummy for future use?

    RF amplifier maybe?

    I don't have OEM GPS or Bluetooth/cell in my '09 AC.

    Just thinking of getting an indash NAVI/audio system and wondering what I have to work with and what I'll need.

    Thanks,

    Whit
     
  2. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:30 PM
    #2
    staticsquelch

    staticsquelch Big things have small beginnings

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57102
    Messages:
    920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Goodyear
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD O.R. 4x4
    Full OME w/ Dakar's, BFG KM2's 285/70/17, and other stuff....
    Yeah, what he said. Contrary to popular belief it is not for the robot aliens to track us.
     
  3. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:38 PM
    #3
    staticsquelch

    staticsquelch Big things have small beginnings

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57102
    Messages:
    920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Goodyear
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD O.R. 4x4
    Full OME w/ Dakar's, BFG KM2's 285/70/17, and other stuff....
    Me too. If it's free.
     
  4. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:39 PM
    #4
    Whitster

    Whitster [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63656
    Messages:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Whit
    Golden, CO
    Vehicle:
    '09 AC w/SR5 & TRD, 6' bed
    Thanks, but if you don't have the satellite radio, is there still a cable from that antenna going somewhere?

    I don' sweat no steenking aliens, I have all kinds of tinfoil hats to wear.

    Whit
     
  5. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:45 PM
    #5
    oZmonKey

    oZmonKey Big Metal Hubajube

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Member:
    #49599
    Messages:
    1,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Black 98
    Unknown Spacer Lift.
    Picture? I haven't seen said alien signal post.

    Is it like the beemer fin?
     
  6. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:45 PM
    #6
    staticsquelch

    staticsquelch Big things have small beginnings

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Member:
    #57102
    Messages:
    920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Goodyear
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD O.R. 4x4
    Full OME w/ Dakar's, BFG KM2's 285/70/17, and other stuff....
    Yeah there should be. The stock radio comes set up to receive SAT radio. Just have to active your account with XM, and pay for it of course.
     
  7. Nov 18, 2011 at 12:54 PM
    #7
    Qjake

    Qjake Just another Masshole

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Member:
    #38868
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited
    SCS Ray10's • 265/70/17 KO2's • Tonneau • Pop-n-lock • AVS Ventvisors • Weathertech • RedLine Hood struts • NoxLux Blackout Kit & Tailgate letters • 20% Tint • Cast OEM RunningBoards • Dechromed •
    The plug for the sat antenna is behind the driver side kick panel
     
  8. Nov 18, 2011 at 1:36 PM
    #8
    Whitster

    Whitster [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63656
    Messages:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Whit
    Golden, CO
    Vehicle:
    '09 AC w/SR5 & TRD, 6' bed
    That's what I need...thanks guys!

    Wonder why they didn't route it up behind radio?

    Whit
     
  9. Nov 18, 2011 at 4:10 PM
    #9
    othater

    othater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Member:
    #21558
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal-Walnut
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport
    If you didn't have the SAT receiver installed when you bought the truck you will still need a receiver and the SAT fit kit from the dealer.
    If your want to use the OEM antenna with a aftermarket radio you can buy the adapter cable aftermarket or splice the two together at the kick panel.
     
  10. Nov 19, 2011 at 8:59 AM
    #10
    Qjake

    Qjake Just another Masshole

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Member:
    #38868
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited
    SCS Ray10's • 265/70/17 KO2's • Tonneau • Pop-n-lock • AVS Ventvisors • Weathertech • RedLine Hood struts • NoxLux Blackout Kit & Tailgate letters • 20% Tint • Cast OEM RunningBoards • Dechromed •
    Do a search for satalite radio, there are a couple threads here that detail everything needed for both oem and aftermarket set ups?

    Good luck
     
To Top