1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Does your elapsed time work in ECO?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by CanadianDragon, Mar 6, 2020.

?

Does your elapsed time work in ECO?

  1. Works fine

    38.8%
  2. Does NOT work

    54.1%
  3. 2020 Offroad

    29.6%
  4. 2019 Offroad

    11.2%
  5. Any year and any other trim than an offroad

    25.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Mar 6, 2020 at 6:19 AM
    #1
    CanadianDragon

    CanadianDragon [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Member:
    #308687
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Ontario Canada
    Vehicle:
    2020 Quicksand TRD Offroad Premium
    Here is a random issue with my '20 TRD-offroad-premium trim. The Elapsed Time box on the ECO screen does not work. The average speed economy graph and range are all fine, just not the time. It stays at zero.

    Dealer says it can be normal, they've seen it before and there is nothing they can do. ok, but, it could indicate a something else is wrong... They can't do anything?

    Here is a picture of a '19 loaner they gave me where it's working fine. Do you have this issue? IS it actually a common thing?

    I just wanted a quick poll from you guys here to validate their answer to me. Does it work and what year do you have?

    20200305_065857 (1).jpg
     
    Toyko Joe likes this.
  2. Mar 6, 2020 at 6:20 AM
    #2
    Fishnwiz

    Fishnwiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Member:
    #262524
    Messages:
    574
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Vehicle:
    2019 Silver TRD ORDCSB 4x4
    I have a 19, mine works
     
  3. Mar 6, 2020 at 6:29 AM
    #3
    dansflhti

    dansflhti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Member:
    #310518
    Messages:
    483
    Gender:
    Male
    Nova Scotia
    Vehicle:
    2022 DCLB Sport. 2016 Mustang GT. 2014 Street Glide.
    My 20 does not work.
     
    Seth2197 and bigsmirt like this.
  4. Mar 6, 2020 at 6:31 AM
    #4
    mattleg

    mattleg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Member:
    #264744
    Messages:
    751
    First Name:
    Matt
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2020 OR DCSB AT 4WD
    I noticed this too. Always zero on my infotainment, but correct on my guage panel display.
     
    bigsmirt likes this.
  5. Mar 6, 2020 at 7:16 AM
    #5
    Quacktacular81

    Quacktacular81 Unknown Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Member:
    #308871
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    SW Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma TRD Off-Road
    My 2020 OR Premium does not work.
     
    bigsmirt likes this.
  6. Mar 6, 2020 at 7:26 AM
    #6
    TacoWdrd

    TacoWdrd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Member:
    #310185
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD OR
    Mine doesn't work 19' OR... gauges are fine
     
  7. Mar 6, 2020 at 7:56 AM
    #7
    reisdanny91

    reisdanny91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Member:
    #319728
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Vehicle:
    2020 Cement Tacoma TRD Sport
    20' mine doesnt work
     
    bigsmirt likes this.
  8. Mar 6, 2020 at 10:32 AM
    #8
    CanadianDragon

    CanadianDragon [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Member:
    #308687
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Ontario Canada
    Vehicle:
    2020 Quicksand TRD Offroad Premium
    Well, that is interesting. Just with a few responses it's split - 1/2 work and 1/2 don't. That's just bizarre. Why @Toyota do you sell vehicles with a known broken function... just remove it. OR, fix whatever is not starting the timer in the code of the ECO App.

    Guess I will not push my dealer into fixing something that they likely can do nothing about.

    Thanks!
     
    mchertel and suaveflooder like this.
  9. May 6, 2020 at 4:28 AM
    #9
    SWD

    SWD New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Member:
    #154846
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Northeast, US
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    I just picked up a 20 TRD Pro and it does not work. I came here looking for info on this very issue!
     
  10. May 6, 2020 at 5:37 AM
    #10
    24-7

    24-7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Member:
    #194391
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD OR 4Door 6MT
    Driver, KO2's, Open Y-Pipe
    I have a '16 and mine works but what is ECO?
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2020
  11. May 7, 2020 at 2:22 PM
    #11
    Criera

    Criera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Member:
    #314324
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    South Bay SF, CA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    2020 pro here, does not work.
     
  12. May 8, 2020 at 2:12 AM
    #12
    Linkbelt

    Linkbelt Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Member:
    #320744
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Vehicle:
    2020 white double cab sport
    2020 trd does not work
     
  13. May 10, 2020 at 8:18 AM
    #13
    Taco2017&2020

    Taco2017&2020 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Member:
    #327555
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 6A SB Tacoma Off Road
    2020 6A SB Eco Elapsed time does NOT work.
    It works fine on my 2017 and I use it a lot.
     
  14. May 11, 2020 at 6:53 PM
    #14
    xis6_2000

    xis6_2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Member:
    #327728
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma Offroad Sky Silver
    2020 Tacoma Offroad, does not work on mine either.
     
  15. May 11, 2020 at 9:35 PM
    #15
    JVL1985

    JVL1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #311669
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma Double Cab, short bed,4x4, v6, TRD Off-road
    Does toyota have an email address or web form for this type of stuff? I would love to suggest this and other issues that just seem ridiculous. Come to think of it their engineers should participate in these forums to some extent
     
  16. May 12, 2020 at 6:02 AM
    #16
    Chew

    Chew Not so well known user

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Member:
    #285575
    Messages:
    2,989
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chewy
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    19 TRD OR
    Amazon dog poo bed mat mod

    That would be great. I'm on other forums where factory reps have a sub forum, so they can clean up the shit posting, from those who aren't asking a legitimate question. Yeah, it takes thick skin, but they're also getting real world feedback and generating new sales. Doubt Toyota can handle end user info though.
     
  17. Jun 7, 2020 at 12:17 AM
    #17
    mchertel

    mchertel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Member:
    #329878
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Colorado Springs CO
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma Off-road
    Toytec 2 inch boss lift
    Wow, I guess I am not alone! Thanks for the quick responses.
     
  18. Jun 7, 2020 at 12:25 AM
    #18
    Tullie D

    Tullie D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Member:
    #285417
    Messages:
    2,555
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tullie
    Wilson, NC
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 V6 SSM Access Cab
    It appears to work on my 2019 SR5. I don't USE it though.
     
  19. Jun 7, 2020 at 12:26 AM
    #19
    mchertel

    mchertel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Member:
    #329878
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Colorado Springs CO
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma Off-road
    Toytec 2 inch boss lift
    ECO is the actual button you push to get to the screen that displays the screen shot I posted. They must have changed that because the PDF manual I downloaded states you push the “Apps” button to get to the info screen not the “ECO” button.

    Maybe that’s the difference? Maybe the version where you get into the screen via the ECO button is not working? Something to do with versioning.
     
  20. Jun 7, 2020 at 12:32 AM
    #20
    mchertel

    mchertel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Member:
    #329878
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Colorado Springs CO
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma Off-road
    Toytec 2 inch boss lift
    Funny, I guess if it is not working in 50% of the vehicles then it really is normal......however still not right.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top