1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Double Din - Tight fit!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by hutchg, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. Nov 29, 2010 at 8:57 AM
    #1
    hutchg

    hutchg [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39834
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    OK, first post here ... long-time reader.

    I have a 2010 Double Cab. I've installed my double din Kenwood DDX812 but it's an awful tight fit. (My Corolla had gobs of room!) It takes several frustrating attempts to move wires around to get the unit to move far enough back to bolt into place. I'm using a silver Scosche adapter and the radio is sticking out as far as possible while still allowing me to put the little trim plate around it. I'd rather use the metal factory mounting brackets but they don't work because the radio would stick way too far out!

    Does anyone else have this issue? I've installed several units in several cars/trucks but this is the only one I've had this much of an issue with. Is there another trim kit that comes out farther from the dash so the radio has more room behind it but doesn't stick out of the trim so far?

    Thanks
    Hutch
     
  2. Nov 29, 2010 at 9:27 AM
    #2
    Nikwanchoo

    Nikwanchoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Member:
    #23419
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 4x4 DC SB
    I was able to use the original metal mounting plates on my double din eclipse avn726e but there was some fighting involved. I had to route all excess cable to the top of the system as that was the only real room available. Also, I was only able to tightly install either the upper 2 bolts or lower 2 bolts, i forget. The other 2 bolts were just screwed on until it would catch the threads and started to flex the mounting bracket. I used the Metra textured dash kit so it might be a different case with you. I just suggest making sure you dont have any excess cables behind the unit taking up your space.
     
  3. Nov 29, 2010 at 12:36 PM
    #3
    Cuda444

    Cuda444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27411
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    New England
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off-Road
    Access Limited Bed Cover, URD Short Shift Kit, 25% Tint all around, WeatherTechs, Kenwood DNX-6160, 2 - IDQ10 sub, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5's, JL 500/1, JL 300/2, Mr.Marv Enclosure/Amp Rack, Morimoto Stage III Retro Headlights, Blazer Fog Retro
    I put a DNX 6160 in and while there isn't a ton of room, it did go in without much fighting. I used a Scoshe Silver plate as well. I did use the crappy brackets that came with the kit, mainly because I was crunched for time and have read that in order to make the metal brackets work, you need to redrill the holes. So I may end up going back and trying that the next time I take the deck out. I would give the plastic brackets a try and see how it fits.
     
  4. Nov 29, 2010 at 2:30 PM
    #4
    hutchg

    hutchg [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39834
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a trick to knowing exactly where to drill new holes into the stock metal mounting brackets?
     
  5. Nov 29, 2010 at 2:52 PM
    #5
    PLC721

    PLC721 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28268
    Messages:
    18,916
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Chandler, Az
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab
    Kings:Camburg:BFG
    yes it's a tight fit, but keep at it
     
  6. Nov 29, 2010 at 6:47 PM
    #6
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah the trick is drilling them directly behind the old holes. Then I ended up with a gap at the top of the head unit which I coverd with that flat Kenwood trim piece behind the trim kit. Had to hack on the Kenwood supplied trim piece... You should have two. A thick trim bezel and one that has a thin flat flange all the way arounf, use the one with the thin flat flange.
     
  7. Nov 30, 2010 at 10:13 AM
    #7
    ratrod

    ratrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Member:
    #32779
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Dbl Cab TRD SR5 4x4
    Bilstein 5100s @ 1.75 with 1.5 AAL, Satoshi Grill Mod with 2 Hella 500s behind the grill, LED dome and map lights, custom made (by me) 10" subwoofer box behind the dbl cab seat, DVD/iPod/Bluetooth/GPS/TV/USB/Stereo, Yakima rack, Shell, tinted front windows to match the factory backs. Backup cam in the tailgate handle mod.
    I just installed a double din and had more trouble with it fitting in the scosche kit (trim piece wouldn't fit). But I agree with the other poster, route wires on top of stereo if you can to give more room behind unit. Maybe a little electrical tape to keep the up and out of the way.
     
To Top