1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Doug Thorley Y-pipe problems

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by carolinataco, May 5, 2010.

  1. May 5, 2010 at 3:16 PM
    #1
    carolinataco

    carolinataco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11799
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    I just installed my doug thorley y-pipe and it leaks from the passenger side flange. the bottome of the flange sealed up fine but at the top there is a gap. I tried to bend it up with a floor jack but that did not help. I emailed DT but they have been no help yet, when i call no answer. Any ideas/suggestions?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. May 5, 2010 at 3:17 PM
    #2
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Does it leak?
     
  3. May 5, 2010 at 3:21 PM
    #3
    Jigzor

    Jigzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17413
    Messages:
    3,064
    Gender:
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    14 GMC Terrain AWD
    Yeah, it seems the majority need to help it fit properly..
     
  4. May 5, 2010 at 3:22 PM
    #4
    carolinataco

    carolinataco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11799
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea it leaks BAD
     
  5. May 5, 2010 at 3:25 PM
    #5
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,978
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    maybe muffler patch, or high temp silicon sealer. thats what i use for the headers on my bikes?
     
  6. May 5, 2010 at 3:26 PM
    #6
    carolinataco

    carolinataco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11799
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea, I want that to be my last resort though. I tried some ultra black i had layin around but that didnt work.
     
  7. May 5, 2010 at 6:29 PM
    #7
    DrRabbitFurHead

    DrRabbitFurHead Yeah, there's a TSB for that!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Member:
    #18625
    Messages:
    1,058
    Gender:
    Male
    Salem, VA
    Vehicle:
    X-treme Off Road Edition (4x4)
    Icon Extended Travel Coil Overs, Fox Rear Resi 8-Way Adjustable Shocks, Light Racing UCA's, OME Rear Leafs, M/T Classic Locks 17x9, Nitto T/G (285/70/R17), 5mm Billet Aluminum Spacers, Demello Sliders, All Pro Front Plate Bumper & IFS Skid Plate, PIAA 510's, Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, O2 sims, Rear Timbren's & U-Bolt Flip Kit , 3* Rear Axel Shims, Extended Rear Brake Lines, 48" Hi-Lift with a ton of accessories, Wet Okoles, TRD bed mat, Borla Air Filter, Garmin Nuvi 765T, Viper 5901 remote start, 50% tint.
    Was there a stock gasket you could reuse?
     
  8. May 5, 2010 at 6:33 PM
    #8
    carolinataco

    carolinataco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11799
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    No you have to buy new ones because they are crush gaskets
     
  9. May 5, 2010 at 8:55 PM
    #9
    Jap

    Jap Loving this

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Member:
    #34619
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    TRD supercharger, extractors, 7 psi pulley, Interceptor ECU
    Has this been resolved?

    You put a new spiral wound gasket in there?

    They do not need sealant if set up right.

    I'm guessing there is gasket problems or the flange has warped during manufacture.

    For the record, I HATE. yes, HATE, 2 bolt flanges.

    I use 4 bolt on all my systems. they are neater and seal first time, everytime.
     
To Top