1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dry cured ham

Discussion in 'Food Talk' started by vbibi, Dec 24, 2014.

1. Dec 24, 2014 at 12:51 PM
    vbibi

vbibi [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    san fransisco bay area
    Vehicle:
    2009 4door long bed
    Just returned from Barcelona Spain and can't take of my mind the test of dry cured meats they are famous in Catalonia. Every since I studied, and I think I want to try to make a Coppa ham. The only problem I have now, I can't find a pork shoulder butt and get my self the Coppa muscle I need. I have the casing, the curing salt #2, the elastic net for hanging, everything, except the main ingredient. Do you guys know where to get such thing in SF bay area. I made a few phone calls and nobody has the shoulder butt. I found a Boston butt which is cut to short and lacks the upper part I need for my project. In this respect I wish I was from New York, Chicago etc.

2. Dec 24, 2014 at 3:39 PM
    obscurotron

obscurotron Well-Known Member

Member:
    N. Nevada
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB 4x4
    Too many to list, and I've probably forgotten a bunch.
    Did you try Olivier's in San Francisco?

3. Dec 24, 2014 at 3:45 PM
    vbibi

vbibi [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    san fransisco bay area
    Vehicle:
    2009 4door long bed
    I will first think Monday morning, thanks

4. Dec 24, 2014 at 5:07 PM
    robssol

robssol If it ain't broke, leave it the eff alone!

Member:
    First Name:
    Rob
    S. Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma, TRD Sport, SR5, 4X4, AC