1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

DSL modem w/wireless router recommendation.?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by CyberTron, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. Jun 4, 2009 at 8:59 PM
    #1
    CyberTron

    CyberTron [OP] NorCal

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17824
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    I have comcast internet right now and downgrading to AT&T DSL w/3mbp. I never had dsl before so I need some help buying one. I want a combo dsl modem with wireless router or a cheap dsl modem because I have a wireless router already. Something under $100. I saw this modem and want to know if its any good D-Link Systems DSL-2640B ADSL2/2+ Modem with Wireless Router

     
  2. Jun 4, 2009 at 9:04 PM
    #2
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    If you have a router already why do you need another one? Doesn't AT&T provide a free modem for you? I still have mine when I had DSL from them.
     
  3. Jun 4, 2009 at 9:06 PM
    #3
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    AT&T isnt supplying you with a modem that has an integrated wireless router?

    I have AT&T and the 2Wire 3800HGV-B came with the internet plan free of charge.
     
  4. Jun 4, 2009 at 9:09 PM
    #4
    CyberTron

    CyberTron [OP] NorCal

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17824
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    I will not have a home phone line so they have a deal that is $40 a month w/out phone line that does not come with the free modem.

    I am looking for a modem. A stand alone modem cost as much as a modem w/wireless router combo . I can sale my router and make up for the difference.
     
  5. Jun 4, 2009 at 9:14 PM
    #5
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    Ah I see. Well I honestly don't have much advice and this is the first DSL setup I have had. I do know that the router aforementioned has worked flawlessly, but I doubt it would be needed if you are not going to have TV and or a phone line to go with it.

    Sorry I can't be of more help, I'm sure some of the technology gurus will chime in on this one. Good luck!
     
  6. Jun 4, 2009 at 9:17 PM
    #6
    CyberTron

    CyberTron [OP] NorCal

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17824
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    That's okay. Comcast is so expensive!! $70 monthly for just internet!!
     
  7. Jun 5, 2009 at 4:19 AM
    #7
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    We have Verizon DSL.

    Our router is a Westell Versalink Model 327W. I'm not a techy person when it comes to that kinda stuff (My husband knows all that stuff).

    The router is located upstairs and our laptop/PS3 are downstairs. Every once in a while we have to reset it. I think that's more because of the laptop than the router itself.
     
  8. Jun 5, 2009 at 5:09 AM
    #8
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    It's expensive- but that cause it's more reliable and it's a personal line- Not shared like DSL circuits are.

    D-Link is good gear. I can't speak specifically to that modem...but I use their wireless stuff for my network...and did some research work in college with it too. YOu can get better...but you'll spend boku $$$
     
  9. Jun 5, 2009 at 7:06 AM
    #9
    CyberTron

    CyberTron [OP] NorCal

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17824
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a dlink dir-655 wireless router and it works great. No problems what so ever. I hop over to the Fry's store this weekend and see what they offer.
     
  10. Jun 5, 2009 at 11:33 AM
    #10
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    738
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    I've installed countless modems for friends, family, and business. Use the modem they give you, and put your own router on it. I usually get Linksys for home use. If they give you a modem/router combo, you can use that too.

    I've been burnt a couple times using my own epuipment (modems). You pay X amount of dollars for a modem, and a year down the road your service provider upgrades their equipment. This may cause yours to become useless. I like Motorola brand modems if you have to buy your own. My last one from Comcast was a Moto, and it worked great.

    One technique that you may want to try is getting the biggest and best package for Internet, because sometimes they throw in better equipment. After a month, downgrade it to the cheaper package.
     
  11. Jun 5, 2009 at 12:30 PM
    #11
    CyberTron

    CyberTron [OP] NorCal

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17824
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    Good idea, Thanks!
     
  12. Jun 8, 2009 at 8:49 AM
    #12
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I've done some networking both for myself/family and in a professional environment.

    in the past, I have had severe problems with D-Link... but that's been 5 years ago. From the general consensus lately, I'm hoping they cleaned up? They definitely try to give a lot of bang for the buck.

    Motorola continues to be the most complex. It's as if they strive to be different in all the wrong areas, either by hardware or firmware. Unless you are well-versed, I would avoid them - once you need to tweak something, they will be the hardest. On the other hand, they are quite robust. I have a Surfboard cable modem that's probably 8 years old and still works great.

    The name escapes me, but the typical one companies rent out goes by the name "Air____"... I think it was Airlink. They are pretty crappy and annoying.

    Linksys and Netgear are your safe choices here, kind of like a PBJ sandwich of sandwich world. Out of the two, Linksys is going to be the most common - if your provider doesn't support Linksys, then they are seriously living under a rock.


    In total though, the modem is the most basic of the network devices that sits outside your computer these days, there's not much interaction you really do with it.

    I would really recommend getting the modem and router as separate gear. It's most likely that you will change out the router due to a technology change; or if you move away from DSL, you can still use the router. Additionally, there's more buying options to better suit your needs.
     
  13. Jun 8, 2009 at 9:01 AM
    #13
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    738
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    You may be thinking Actiontec. Verizon usually deals w/ them or westell's.

    Another idea that I throw in there is to completely get away from standard DSL or Cable Internet. If you are a mobile person, look into Verizon or Sprint PC Cards. You can get routers, Kyocera KR2, and pop the PC Card into them. BAM, your up virtually anywhere that you get a cell signal. It's not as fast as DSL/Cable, but much more mobile.

    Here's some links:

    http://www.kyocera-wireless.com/kr2-router/

    http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/...t&action=viewPhoneDetail&selectedPhoneId=2850
     
  14. Jun 8, 2009 at 9:02 AM
    #14
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    That's the one :)
     
  15. Jun 17, 2009 at 9:54 AM
    #15
    BlackRig

    BlackRig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13900
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Riverside, IL
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD O/R AT
    That's backwards. Any and all CATV is shared and speed is dependant on amount of traffic. AT&T uses dedicated speed directly to the customer via the old school phone lines. The phone company used to use shared service for party lines.

    To the OP. I'm a tech for AT&T. I do repair and install of DSL & POTS service. If you want an all in one wireless/router/modem, get a 2wire, netopia is just too much and hard to use. You can also get a plain motorola 2210 and use a wireless router of your own. Motorola, and 2wire are good. Westell modems aren't.

    Also. My experience with dlink tells me they suck. Linksys WR54GL I beleive is what I use at home and it's great. Try NewEgg. I would link you but I'm on my iPhone.
     
  16. Jun 17, 2009 at 1:32 PM
    #16
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Okay- I'll give you that you share the connection on a cable connection too...All networking systems are shared at some point.

    However- The DSL connection bandwidth can degrade over distance and in general is not be fast as cable. There are instances where it'll beat a cable modem, but not many in my (non-professional) experience. It's comparing two different types of systems...and DSL is improving every day- but I'll take my cable modem and service any day.
     
  17. Jun 17, 2009 at 1:43 PM
    #17
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    x2 distance to the CO & what condition the facilities in the ground are in effects service. In my area Fairpoint is barely treading water & losing ground everyday since buying Verizon out on its landline/Internet services. That cutover was a nightmare for many subscribers.
     
  18. Jun 17, 2009 at 1:47 PM
    #18
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    yeah..Making any sort of major transition is a pain...Going into an area with DSL or cable, swapping over or adding service can be a mess. It took YEARS for verizon to get DSL into my folks town. Cable showed up just after it.

    There are places that only get one or the other because of services costs and what not.
     
  19. Jun 17, 2009 at 1:57 PM
    #19
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Ummm... partially right.

    Cable is better deployed within a city due to the involved infrastructure, DSL requires less. Cable has the potential to be faster because of the cabling used, but can be diluted due to the bandwidth that you share in with neighbors - you all connect to that one cable box. DSL isn't shared between your neighborhood, but suffers from wiring that caps at something like 10Mbps and can be really low grade stuff.

    My parents live outside the city limits and weren't eligible for cable internet until about 2 years ago, whereas Qwest DSL had no problem.. they just weren't focused on providing the service in the past, so had to get themselves set up.


    Overall, it's the backbone that matters, what's in the ground connecting to your local repeater? For cable, you plug in with a CAT5/e or CAT6 cable, your house most likely has a coax line that runs to a cable box, and somewhere along the line becomes part of a fiber network.
     
  20. Jun 18, 2009 at 1:04 PM
    #20
    BlackRig

    BlackRig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13900
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Riverside, IL
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD O/R AT
    Bahhh you're right. But ATT is working on UVERSE fiber fed TV and internet. :cool: If it's in your area I suggest you get it cause it's really nice. But then again I'm biased. So in the mean time....


    ATT FTW!!!!
     
To Top