1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

DTLT headers install problem?

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by kagmyster00, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. Oct 5, 2010 at 3:30 PM
    #1
    kagmyster00

    kagmyster00 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Member:
    #22748
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    05AccessOffroad
    Ok i got my headers today so i started to take off my stock exhaust manifold and as i got to the bolts that are on the brackets that go to the transmission where it connects to the Y pipe i ran into a problem i can not get these bolts loose i tried everything so im thinking about just cutting the bracket off would this be ok or do i need that support for the headers?
     
  2. Oct 5, 2010 at 5:35 PM
    #2
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,831
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    Try soaking with WD40, or PB blaster & use a breaker bar first
     
  3. Oct 5, 2010 at 5:38 PM
    #3
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Penetrating lube over night and more right before you take the part off.
     
  4. Oct 6, 2010 at 7:45 AM
    #4
    kagmyster00

    kagmyster00 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Member:
    #22748
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    05AccessOffroad
    well i tried soaking it over night and spayed it again before i tried to get them loose well now the bolt is rounded off so now im screwed anything i could try without cutting it off
     
  5. Oct 6, 2010 at 10:36 AM
    #5
    Bobo_1

    Bobo_1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #41004
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobo
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport L-Bed
    I have no idea. I am doing mine this weekend. If there is a bracket there I wouldn't taking/cutting it off unless it is not used as part of the mount for the LT headers. I would going to Sears or any hardware/automotive store and getting the specific socket/tool used to get off rounded nuts. I have gotten round nuts off sometime by hammering on a smaller socket (real bitch to get it off), use a butane torch to heat it up, use a hammer and chisel to work it off. I have not looked at the nut so I am not sure if you could take a cutoff wheel to it to cut it away.

    BTW, anything you can share with me on doing this beyond your current issue - I started another thread asking for tips and suggestions. I don't have a manual and I assume there are no instructions in the box but I have done this on bikes and cars.
     
  6. Oct 6, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #6
    PLC721

    PLC721 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28268
    Messages:
    18,117
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Chandler, Az
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab
    See Build in Sig
    i didnt remount mine and have had no problems
     
  7. Oct 6, 2010 at 4:15 PM
    #7
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,831
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    You can by a stripped nut or bolt remover. The size you need is 14mm

    Those brackets are there for a good reason. If the headers are not secured to the brackets, there could be issues with the motor tourqing and causing possible damage to the header flanges. Not 100% positive but I would hate to find ou the hard way.
     
  8. Oct 7, 2010 at 6:48 AM
    #8
    Bobo_1

    Bobo_1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #41004
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobo
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport L-Bed
    According to the install instructions I have both brackets are to be reused. Therefore, I wouldn't cut it! Keep them and reuse them. That is whay the end of the header is threaded to take the stock bolt.
     
To Top