1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ECM/ECU replacement questions

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Tacomaduder, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:26 PM
    #1
    Tacomaduder

    Tacomaduder [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Member:
    #213401
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    99 3.4 6cyl
    I had a crank but no start problem on my n my 99 6 cyc 3.4. After giving up trying to fix it myself, I took it a mechanic. He said the ECU is dead and it would cost $2500 to replace. Seemed high to me so I towed it back to my house and took out the ECU. Water was getting to it. The circuit board is corroded and looks shorted out. I don't think mine can be repaired.

    Can anyone recommend a place to purchase a reconditioned one? Also, I've seen some places that sell ECM/ECU state that they will program the VIN and mileage into the new one. Is that necessary? Would one off of ebay work? Does the VIN need to match to pass emissions testing or something like that? Any advice would be appreciated
     
  2. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:30 PM
    #2
    TashcomerTexas

    TashcomerTexas Ironpeak will get you banned

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Member:
    #127853
    Messages:
    8,901
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dereck
    Vehicle:
    2003 TRD DC King Ranch Edition
    LMAO $2500 for a 99 ECU? What a jackass.
     
    cruxofthebisquit and wilcam47 like this.
  3. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:34 PM
    #3
    anothernord

    anothernord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Member:
    #152422
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    01 TRD
    1KZ-TE
    I have one for sale from a 2001 3.4 auto 4x4 for $100. I'll check to see if it's compatible.

    There's not really such thing as "reconditioned" ECM. They either work or they don't.

    The mileage is stored in the gauge cluster, not the ECU. As far as the VIN, that shouldn't matter for most states, as long as you pass emissions and have the correct VIN on the body/frame, you should be fine.
     
    wilcam47 likes this.
  4. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:37 PM
    #4
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck
    Super Springs
    I have done business with ECM Depot there down in Texas

    I beg to differ they can be reconditioned depending just what the damage is

    Now maybe the newer Trucks need the ECM programed but none of mine in your era needed it done.

    Now prices might have changed but the last New ECM I priced at the Dealer was @ $900.00 it was a few years ago.

    I picked up 2 ECM`s at Local yards for $100.00 each

    You do need to buy a ECM with the same part # that yours is to make things easy

    Be nice to know where you are??
     
    Tacomaduder likes this.
  5. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:48 PM
    #5
    TashcomerTexas

    TashcomerTexas Ironpeak will get you banned

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Member:
    #127853
    Messages:
    8,901
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dereck
    Vehicle:
    2003 TRD DC King Ranch Edition
    Yes look at the part # on your ECU and google it. It's real simple, it'll bring up various Toyota sites and distributors that sell the part #. Find the one that's the cheapest.
     
    Tacomaduder likes this.
  6. Mar 20, 2017 at 3:54 PM
    #6
    anothernord

    anothernord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Member:
    #152422
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    01 TRD
    1KZ-TE
    I would never, ever buy a "reconditioned" ECU.

    Besides cleaning junk off the terminal pins (which would mean you have bigger problems), internal ECM/IC problems are really hard to diagnose. Unless it's something totally obvious like an exploded capacitor (common DSM problem), that's really simple to replace. Even if you did have the required equipment, and the time it takes to diagnose an issue within the circuit board, in our world of Toyotas, it'd just never be worth the cost, especially with used replacements being so widely available and low-cost.

    I agree with finding one with the same part number, though.
     
    Tacomaduder likes this.
  7. Mar 20, 2017 at 4:24 PM
    #7
    Tacomaduder

    Tacomaduder [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Member:
    #213401
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    99 3.4 6cyl
    Thanks everyone!

    anothernord: you wouldn't recommend getting a "reconditioned" ECU but what about just a used one?
    The one I need is PN# 89661-04450

    I agree it's not worth the time to do any electrical testing on the ECU. I'm an electrical engineer. I design circuit boards.
    I always try to at least a quick visual scan to fix electronics before throwing them out. More common than exploded caps, I find surface mount fuses are blown. They look just like resistors and capacitors so they can be hard to spot. This unit had none of the easy fixes.
     
  8. Mar 21, 2017 at 1:40 AM
    #8
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck
    Super Springs
    To each there own !!

    I send circuit boards out all the time to be rebuilt a ECM is the very same thing.

    When it comes with a Lifetime warranty for anything but water damage and costs @ $300.00 as compared to $3000.00 for new

    If it is the difference between having a pile of scrap or something that works I will go something that I can still use
     
    koditten likes this.
  9. Mar 21, 2017 at 11:23 AM
    #9
    anothernord

    anothernord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Member:
    #152422
    Messages:
    235
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    01 TRD
    1KZ-TE
    Right, that's what I'm recommending. A used replacement that was pulled from a running vehicle. eBay or these forums would be my go-tos to source one. Or a local junkyard.
     
    Tacomaduder likes this.
  10. Mar 21, 2017 at 12:35 PM
    #10
    Tacomaduder

    Tacomaduder [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Member:
    #213401
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    99 3.4 6cyl
    I ordered one on ebay to get my truck up and running as soon as possible. I think I'm going to try to get the old one reconditioned. The company SIA Electronics seems to only charge you if they can fix it. You only risk the shipping cost. If they fix it, I'll sell it on ebay
     
  11. Mar 26, 2017 at 8:21 AM
    #11
    Keep on Truckin'

    Keep on Truckin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Member:
    #159075
    Messages:
    387
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jarvis
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2002 Impulse Red Tacoma Ext. Cab SR5 4x4- 2.7- Auto
    TRD Alloy Wheels & Cooper AT3 Tires, Camper Shell ,, K&N ,Icon AALS
    Keep the old one after recon.as a spare you know fits your truck !
     
    Tacomaduder likes this.
  12. Mar 26, 2017 at 3:13 PM
    #12
    Tacomaduder

    Tacomaduder [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Member:
    #213401
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    99 3.4 6cyl
    Popped the new ECM in last night and started up like a charm
     
To Top