1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ECU Reset

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by buzzard1992, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:25 AM
    #1
    buzzard1992

    buzzard1992 [OP] Yep

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43343
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    01 4wd trd, 255/85/16 km2s
    5100's with eibachs. And 255/85/16 km2s
    Okay i have a 2001 tacoma with the 3.4. my transmisson has been shifting down into first kinda hard when comin to a stop (automatic) i started noticing this about 2 months ago. right before i started to notice this i had a guy weld my exhaust bracket back on and he didnt reset my battery. when i got in the truck none of my gauges worked. it took about 10 minutes before they started workin again. i then noticed the transmission was shiftin rough back into 1st. i have been told by several people, a few on here, that i should reset my ECU and it should fix it. i talked to toyota and they said the same. But the said i would need to bring it in to the dealership to get it done. Im sure its gonna be expensive for them to do. and they said i couldnt do it myself. They said disconnecting the battery would not solve my problem. Does anyone have any thoughts on whether i should just take it to toyota or if you know a way to reset it without takin it to toyota. Any help is really appreciated, thanks
     
  2. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:36 AM
    #2
    buzzard1992

    buzzard1992 [OP] Yep

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43343
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    01 4wd trd, 255/85/16 km2s
    5100's with eibachs. And 255/85/16 km2s
    Ive got it disconnected right now. even though they told me it wouldnt fix it. So we'll see. I just wanted to know if there was another way or if people thought this would fix my issue
     
  3. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:39 AM
    #3
    koco

    koco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Member:
    #79503
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area Ca.
    Vehicle:
    '01 Taco
    Around $26,000 worth of unleaded in the fuel tank.
    Go into the fuse box under the hood on the driver's side and pull the ECU fuse out for 5 minutes, then put it in and run the truck for 5 min. without touching the throttle and with no lights, ac or anything turned on. After 5 minutes shut it off. Now the ECU has been reset.
     
  4. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:49 AM
    #4
    buzzard1992

    buzzard1992 [OP] Yep

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43343
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    01 4wd trd, 255/85/16 km2s
    5100's with eibachs. And 255/85/16 km2s
    Are you sure it will reset it?

    I just talked to another toyota dealer around here and they said they if i disconnect the battery it should fix it.
    Anyone have any thoughts on if this will fix my issue?
     
  5. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:55 AM
    #5
    koco

    koco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Member:
    #79503
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area Ca.
    Vehicle:
    '01 Taco
    Around $26,000 worth of unleaded in the fuel tank.
    disconnecting the battery is ok. It's just that you lose the radio presets and such. That's why I pull the fuse to clear it.

    Just make sure you run it for 5 min. then shut it off. That way the computer has a baseline to program with. It is best to do this with the truck all warmed up for the proper baseline.

    If you sit and watch the tach during reset it will settle into its final idle at around 4-5 minutes.
     
  6. Jun 20, 2012 at 12:09 PM
    #6
    buzzard1992

    buzzard1992 [OP] Yep

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43343
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    01 4wd trd, 255/85/16 km2s
    5100's with eibachs. And 255/85/16 km2s
    Okay I put the battery cables back on and took it for a test drive. So far so good. It hasnt done it yet
     
  7. Jun 20, 2012 at 12:19 PM
    #7
    buzzard1992

    buzzard1992 [OP] Yep

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43343
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    01 4wd trd, 255/85/16 km2s
    5100's with eibachs. And 255/85/16 km2s
    I've run it up and down the road and come to a stop about 10 times. It's shifting better and isnt hard shiftin down to first anymore. Thanks for the helps guys
     
To Top