1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

electric boost gauge power supply?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by FreidTaco, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. Mar 1, 2013 at 4:02 PM
    #1
    FreidTaco

    FreidTaco [OP] 'merica

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Member:
    #63918
    Messages:
    1,653
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    null
    Wy
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma TRD OffRoad SR5
    Billys 5100 all four corners, fronts set at 0 with 886x coils, 2" AAL, Betterbuilt toolbox, 1.25" spidertrax, 3" Flowmaster 50 series delta flow, own fog light mod, mounted Streamlight rechargeable stinger, toolbox light, ScanGuage Oh... and URD Stage 3 SC
    So i bought auto meter electric boostvacuum gauge and am trying to install it now, but in the directions it says i need to wire to a switched 12 volt source that maintains power during engine cranking. I cant seem to think of a good place to tap into. Thoughts?
     
  2. Mar 1, 2013 at 4:24 PM
    #2
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    Lots of thigs you could tap into. Any thing that comes on after truck started. Like cigarette lighter or radio
     
  3. Mar 1, 2013 at 4:46 PM
    #3
    FreidTaco

    FreidTaco [OP] 'merica

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Member:
    #63918
    Messages:
    1,653
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    null
    Wy
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma TRD OffRoad SR5
    Billys 5100 all four corners, fronts set at 0 with 886x coils, 2" AAL, Betterbuilt toolbox, 1.25" spidertrax, 3" Flowmaster 50 series delta flow, own fog light mod, mounted Streamlight rechargeable stinger, toolbox light, ScanGuage Oh... and URD Stage 3 SC
    no it has to have power while cranking. radio and cigarette lighter shut off while you're cranking the engine over.
     
  4. Mar 1, 2013 at 6:28 PM
    #4
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    IMO

    Which wire in gauge would require that? There really isn't going to be such a wire except you starter relay wire. You shouldn't need a "cranking wire".

    If I had to guess the wire you need is going to be a light or just normal power wire to power gauge. I don't understand what the gauge would need a cranking wire. No sense

    You should have a vacuum hose, ground, light wire, and a power, if the gauge is digital.

    Really no such thing as a cranking wire?

    Believe you are looking for a switched wire(power once truck on)
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  5. Mar 1, 2013 at 6:32 PM
    #5
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    And do you have a turbo or S/C?
     
  6. Mar 1, 2013 at 6:35 PM
    #6
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,134
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    Easiest will be splicing to the cigarette outlet. You misinterpreted the wording. Which model of gauge is it? Is it just the backlighting that is requiring power? Or is it a digital reading gauge?
     
  7. Mar 1, 2013 at 6:36 PM
    #7
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    +1
     
  8. Mar 2, 2013 at 8:48 AM
    #8
    FreidTaco

    FreidTaco [OP] 'merica

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Member:
    #63918
    Messages:
    1,653
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    null
    Wy
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma TRD OffRoad SR5
    Billys 5100 all four corners, fronts set at 0 with 886x coils, 2" AAL, Betterbuilt toolbox, 1.25" spidertrax, 3" Flowmaster 50 series delta flow, own fog light mod, mounted Streamlight rechargeable stinger, toolbox light, ScanGuage Oh... and URD Stage 3 SC

    So i ended up tapping into the ignition fuse.
    Check out the installation instructions on top right corner. http://www.autometer.com/cat_gaugedetail.aspx?gid=3125&sid=11


    URD S/C is coming next week

    See above link.
    The gauge did require back lighting but it is a digital reading gauge.
     
To Top