1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Electrical issue????

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by joseph296, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. Dec 15, 2010 at 4:10 AM
    #1
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    ok in my tacoma i have 4 viair 480s an optima yellow top and what im guessing is a stock altenator and no system just a regular sony face.. when i put the compressors on the interior lightrs dim and if the headlights are on i can barely build pressure not to mention if i have the fan blowin on full speed so obviously theres somthin wrong but whats the solution big 3? bigger altenator? (if available) or another battery? (mounted where?)
     
  2. Dec 15, 2010 at 4:17 AM
    #2
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,815
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    This might be some stupid questions ... but are you saying you have 4 air compressors? Do you have an external tank?

    Why do you need 4 air compressors? What are you running that needs all that?
     
  3. Dec 15, 2010 at 4:26 AM
    #3
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes 4 air compressors 5 gal external tank... I'm bagged
     
  4. Dec 15, 2010 at 4:41 AM
    #4
    84Hilux

    84Hilux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39877
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Vancouver, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab V6 4X4
    Stock Fog Lights, Camera Mirror, Arrow Canopy, Lighted 4x4switch, Weathertech Mats (Black), Wet Okoles- Black/Charcoal, Alpine CDA117 Headunit/ Alpine PDX4150 Amp/Alpine PDX M6 Amp/ Hybrid Legatia SE Components/ JL 10W6V2 Subwoofer/ Prototype MR Marv Sub Enclosure
    Do you have a TRD? They have the 130 Amp alternator. Lower trim levels only come with 90-100Amp alternator.
     
  5. Dec 15, 2010 at 4:47 AM
    #5
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Nahh no Trd I don't even have power windows or locks
     
  6. Dec 15, 2010 at 5:15 AM
    #6
    84Hilux

    84Hilux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39877
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Vancouver, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab V6 4X4
    Stock Fog Lights, Camera Mirror, Arrow Canopy, Lighted 4x4switch, Weathertech Mats (Black), Wet Okoles- Black/Charcoal, Alpine CDA117 Headunit/ Alpine PDX4150 Amp/Alpine PDX M6 Amp/ Hybrid Legatia SE Components/ JL 10W6V2 Subwoofer/ Prototype MR Marv Sub Enclosure
    Sounds like your compressors are drawing too much current and drawing down the system. Might be a wiring issue, but compressors are pretty high draw. Do you know what the amperage rating is of each compressor?
     
  7. Dec 15, 2010 at 5:19 AM
    #7
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Max amp draw is 40amps each
     
  8. Dec 15, 2010 at 5:21 AM
    #8
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    So it seems if they are only working at 50% and I have the base alternator I'm Gona have issues already cause it's pretty much gona b maxed ou for the compressors alone and that's not including anything else
     
  9. Dec 15, 2010 at 5:32 AM
    #9
    84Hilux

    84Hilux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39877
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Vancouver, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab V6 4X4
    Stock Fog Lights, Camera Mirror, Arrow Canopy, Lighted 4x4switch, Weathertech Mats (Black), Wet Okoles- Black/Charcoal, Alpine CDA117 Headunit/ Alpine PDX4150 Amp/Alpine PDX M6 Amp/ Hybrid Legatia SE Components/ JL 10W6V2 Subwoofer/ Prototype MR Marv Sub Enclosure
    Yeah, it seems like that is how the math works out.
     
  10. Dec 15, 2010 at 5:40 AM
    #10
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there anyone on this site that makes high output alternators or do I need to look else where I know on my mustang forum a guy sells 3G alternator kits with power wires and every thing u need to install any thing like that on here
     
  11. Dec 15, 2010 at 9:58 AM
    #11
    joseph296

    joseph296 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Member:
    #47694
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    I found a 170amp alternator I think I may go with that and the big 3 to start
     
To Top