1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

enclosed sub install, pops when radio turns on

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by auburn taco, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. Aug 21, 2010 at 12:24 PM
    #1
    auburn taco

    auburn taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Member:
    #39469
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    kevin
    auburn
    Vehicle:
    10 prerunner
    I have a pioneer 3200 dvd headunit. I just installed a crutchfield enclosed woofer behind the back seat of my double cab. I hooked the remote turn on lead to the remote wire of the radio. So when my radio turns on I get a bit of a pop. Crutchfield says to connect the remote lead to the switched power lead on the radio.

    Before I take out the headunit I want some input. Could the pioneer headunit remote lead be putting out too much current for amp turn on. That is Crutchfields thought. I would hate to pullout the headunit and find out the issue is still there.
     
  2. Aug 21, 2010 at 1:05 PM
    #2
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,922
    Gender:
    Male
    Its real common. They make an inline device to delay turn on to eliminate pop.
     
  3. Aug 22, 2010 at 4:43 PM
    #3
    auburn taco

    auburn taco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Member:
    #39469
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    kevin
    auburn
    Vehicle:
    10 prerunner
    ok I switched from the Pioneer remote lead to a switched wire. Same pop this time when I turn the key. Crutchfield said that I may need a ground loop isolator for the RCA's. I did run the remote wire with the RCA's they say that could be a problem. Cheap RCA's is what they said, even though I got them form C. Does that make sense? As a test I am running a second turn on lead as a test disconnecting the original. ( edit running a separate turn on wire away from the RCA's made no difference).

    Finally, the amp is warm to the touch all the time unless I disconnect the negative lead on the battery. C. says that is normal, current is running through the amp all the time. Would this not drain the battery?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top