1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Engine Torque - 4 vs Drive

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Falcon6, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:49 PM
    #1
    Falcon6

    Falcon6 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9427
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, Georiga
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 PreRunner DC
    I have a automatic 05 pre-runner DC with 43K plus miles on it. When driving in 4th (no overdrive), the engine has good torque or power and pushes thru the gears quickly. When driving in D, it doesn't have the same torque as I increase speed.

    My question is, should my truck have the same (torque) when driving in 4th or D, except for the extra gear in D?


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:55 PM
    #2
    colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    18,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    for gears 1-4, it won't make a difference...but on the highway if you give it gas in 4th it will accelerate faster vs when you are in D (5th gear) it will eather accelerate slower of downshift to 4th, in which case you'll have the same power as if you were in 4...just a little shift delay

    EDIT: you may be feeling this lower power, because our trucks (auto trans) shift at very low rpms, causing you to cruise in 5th gear before you're eve at 45 mph
     
  3. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:57 PM
    #3
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,773
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Your engine produces the same amount of torque no matter what gear you are in... It simply seems like there is less torque because the higher gears are longer. Drive (aka 5th) is the longest gear in our trucks, therefore making it feel like you have less torque. The gear selector, while in 4th, just doesnt allow the transmission to go into 5th gear.
     
  4. Apr 30, 2010 at 6:05 PM
    #4
    Falcon6

    Falcon6 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9427
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, Georiga
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 PreRunner DC
    Thanks for the replies.., when driving in 4th, my truck doesn't have the same torque to the point of shifting to 5th gear.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  5. Apr 30, 2010 at 10:32 PM
    #5
    SlurpeeBlueMetallic

    SlurpeeBlueMetallic FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18825
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep, I'm regularly in 5th gear before I reach 35mph...
     
  6. Apr 30, 2010 at 10:38 PM
    #6
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    Note D is actually overdrive. It's all about gearing ratios. The engine is putting out the same torque at x rpm in any gear... it's just a matter of how it's distributed. There is also a lockup converter that can give a bit of a 'boost.' Correct me if I'm wrong but I think it only engages that in 5th.
     
  7. May 1, 2010 at 4:10 AM
    #7
    Falcon6

    Falcon6 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9427
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, Georiga
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 PreRunner DC
    So there are no specific shift points with our transmission based on certain speeds or RPMs? Sounds like the engine changes gears based on what I'm asking it to do.
     
  8. May 1, 2010 at 6:03 AM
    #8
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    13,773
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Exactly... With an automatic, that skinny right pedal down there can be compared to a suggestion box. Depending on your pressure on the throttle, the engine computer decides what it thinks you want it to do. Also, I really highly doubt that you are in 5th gear cruising at 35... I'm thinkin 4th just maybe.
     
  9. May 1, 2010 at 6:04 AM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The torque converter can lock up in 4th and 5th.
     
  10. May 1, 2010 at 6:13 AM
    #10
    JDMcQ

    JDMcQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10561
    Messages:
    38,697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    The Mushroom Capital of the World
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V8
    The lockup converter doesn't really boost anything, it just eliminates slippage within the converter.
     
  11. May 1, 2010 at 6:15 AM
    #11
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Correct.
     
  12. May 1, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #12
    JDMcQ

    JDMcQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10561
    Messages:
    38,697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    The Mushroom Capital of the World
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V8
    That's why I wrote it. :p
     
  13. May 1, 2010 at 6:23 AM
    #13
    Falcon6

    Falcon6 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9427
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, Georiga
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 PreRunner DC
    So I shouldn't be able to tell the difference between the two except being in D will allow the 5th gear to engage into overdrive?

    By the way, thanks for everyone's input.
     
  14. May 1, 2010 at 6:25 AM
    #14
    JDMcQ

    JDMcQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10561
    Messages:
    38,697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    The Mushroom Capital of the World
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V8
    Any gear with a ratio greater that 1:1 is considered "overdrive". Some transmissions have multiple overdrive gears, I am not sure if the 2nd gen is overdriven in 4th and 5th or just 5th.
     
  15. May 1, 2010 at 6:26 AM
    #15
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Just 5th.
     
  16. May 1, 2010 at 6:28 AM
    #16
    JDMcQ

    JDMcQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10561
    Messages:
    38,697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    The Mushroom Capital of the World
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V8
    I knew that you would know the correct answer. Thanks for the info.
     
  17. May 1, 2010 at 7:24 AM
    #17
    SlurpeeBlueMetallic

    SlurpeeBlueMetallic FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18825
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male

    I can get into 5th gear at 32 if I feather it. A shift point between 35 and 37 into 5th is normal for me. How else do you think I get this ridiculous MPG? ;) 5th gear at 35mpg is below 1200 rpm... great on flat ground for really good mileage, assuming the speed limit is 35.

    Shift into 2nd gear before 10mph
    Shift into 3rd gear before 20 mph
    Shift into 4th at 25mph
    Shift into 5th at 35mph

    This is without A/C on which adds a little load to the engine and bumps my shift points up 2-3mph.
    These trannys are smart. If you run them a certain way for a while they will learn how you drive.

    I'd say come take a drive with me but you're, um, a wee bit far away.
     
  18. May 1, 2010 at 7:39 AM
    #18
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    Ah, didn't realize it did it in 4th as well, good to know.

    Yea, that's why I used " ", simple yet horrible way to describe it heh.


    Side note: have I ever mentioned I hate automatic transmissions? lol... clutch and flywheel just makes sense to me I guess.
     
  19. May 1, 2010 at 10:18 AM
    #19
    SlurpeeBlueMetallic

    SlurpeeBlueMetallic FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Member:
    #18825
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    I wish I could have found a 6-speed anywhere near my area when it came time to buy. The closest was over 1000 miles away and I just didn't feel like messing with it :(
     
To Top