1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Engine won't start without using throttle, dies if you don't stay on the throttle

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by danding, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. Dec 19, 2008 at 8:50 PM
    #1
    danding

    danding [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8245
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    Silver 01 PreRunner SR5
    Lunar 1500, 12 inch DD audio sub in a probox, panasonic cq-c700u, hopefully more mods to come in time.
    I was driving and my overdrive was off. I have no idea if this has anything to do with what happened, but after I turned the overdrive back on I let off the gas and the my truck slowly died. It only starts if you press the gas and runs fine as long as you stay on the gas. This is a 2001 tacoma with about 111,000 miles on it.
    Any help is greatly appreciated. I wanna know how much trouble I might be in. :confused:
     
  2. Dec 20, 2008 at 2:30 AM
    #2
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Have the fuel injectors been cleaned? If they're clogged, it'll do that.
     
  3. Dec 20, 2008 at 6:00 AM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,844
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    check the IAC.....
     
  4. Dec 20, 2008 at 6:44 AM
    #4
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Yup. Just whatever you do don't try and clean it. If it's shot, it's shot.
     
  5. Dec 20, 2008 at 7:40 AM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,844
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Thats good to know. I have never tried to clean one, but have heard others attempt it. :)
     
  6. Dec 20, 2008 at 7:43 AM
    #6
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    I think it's like those throttle bodies and intake plenums Ford uses, has some sort of coating on it that's supposed to get dirty and stay on forever. Girlfreind's Taurus even has "DO NOT CLEAN" molded into the throttle body, and the Haynes for my Ranger said do not clean the intake plenum / runners. In the IAC it's probably there for lubrication.
     
  7. Dec 20, 2008 at 7:45 AM
    #7
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,844
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Good to know! Thanks, Lucy. :)
     
  8. Dec 20, 2008 at 7:55 PM
    #8
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner BBC. Bring Back Clarkson Thor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    6,714
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail Edition
    For my 1000th post.

    I have pulled the IAC off of a 99 4Runner. I cleaned it with some carb/choke cleaner and a soft tooth brush. Made the 4Runner run very smooth after that, well till she puked the #3 spark plug.

    To do so you need to remove the throttle body and you will need the throttle body gasket and IAC gasket.. Disconnect the throttle cable and cruise control cable. Disconnect the 2 hoses and all electrical connections to the throttle body/IAC. Remove the 2 bolts and 2 nuts that attach the throttle body to the Intake mainfold (IIRC 10mm). Disconnect the IAC from the lower portion of the trottle body. Clean as best as possible. Replace as was disassembled with new gaskets.

    I'm actually about to do this on the 2003 Tacoma as soon as I can get the gaskets. If there is any doubt please refer to this thread over on Yotatech.
     
  9. Dec 20, 2008 at 8:03 PM
    #9
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Thor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,352
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    something to add......................if you try disconnecting a hose to the iac valve while the truck is running just to spray some cleaner into it...............forget about it!!! you'll be pumping out antifreeze all over the place. i found out the hard way the other day. gonna take my throttle body and iac off the truck later on when needed, but im good to go for now.
     
  10. Dec 21, 2008 at 7:09 AM
    #10
    danding

    danding [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8245
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    Silver 01 PreRunner SR5
    Lunar 1500, 12 inch DD audio sub in a probox, panasonic cq-c700u, hopefully more mods to come in time.
    Thanks for the help guys. I did some hunting in some other forums and found some of the same answers that other people had gotten. The funny thing is, this morning when I started it, it cranked fine and everything was fine except that it is idling at almost half the RPM it used too.
     
To Top