1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Entune Issues, Tips, Tricks, Updates Lets hear them

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by elytravis, May 1, 2012.

  1. jfwalsh

    jfwalsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Member:
    #122953
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    southern california
    Vehicle:
    2014 Spruce Mica 4wd DCLB TRD Sport
    TRD Exhaust, Front Skid, Running Boards (black)
    ABSOLUTELY!!!

    The only problem I have with the entune unit occurs when using my ipod. I can expect at least one "freeze" on any given trip when the ipod is connected. Not sure exactly what it is, but at some point there is a guaranteed need to reboot the entire system.

    Its a damn shame too, because the ipod (my unit is entune with nav, but no jbl 2014) offers far and away, the best sound quality through the deck, superior to bluetooth.

    I wish there was a fix, but I am not holding out much hope. I always hope to get an hour out of the ipod (long drive) before having to reboot. But, once I reboot, it seems good to go.

    Seems to be worse if the navigation is running as well.

    Mine is a 120gb ipod classic as well.
    Using ipod cable into USB port near cupholders.
     
  2. LarryM04

    LarryM04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Member:
    #125628
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Dayton, TN
    Vehicle:
    2014 BRM DCSB TRD Sport
    The radio can't seem to read my S5's text messages, but no hiccups when they arrive.

    I just got my Tacoma couple weeks ago, it was fresh outta the factory, but as soon as I connected my S5, Entune did an update. Maybe you need this? Are updates always automatic and over the air now?
     
  3. Yakoma

    Yakoma No, I don't workout...I work

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Member:
    #121350
    Messages:
    485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4 - White
    Black APS Bull Bar Black Westin Step Bars Roll-X Tonneau Black AMP HD Bed Extender
    Sorry to hear you confirm my fears since I think this means I'm SOL until Entune comes up with an update - and even then I'm not confident. Yes, using the same USB port. I don't have the Nav, but same issues.

    I tried going to the thumb drive, but that loses all the display metadata on the screen so that's a bad option.

    There's definitely an issue with the connection because jiggling it will cause problems, but I don't think it's limited to just the connection either.

    I wonder if others with different iPods are getting this issue?
     
  4. G8keepr

    G8keepr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #128087
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    North central mass
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR
    Maybe time to upgrade the iPod!. My iPod 5th gen no problems. iPhone 5s works great too. Even the ipad connects perfect.
     
  5. Yakoma

    Yakoma No, I don't workout...I work

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Member:
    #121350
    Messages:
    485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4 - White
    Black APS Bull Bar Black Westin Step Bars Roll-X Tonneau Black AMP HD Bed Extender
    That's good to know...I've got an iPhone 5s. Do you connect via USB port or do you use Bluetooth? I definitely don't want to drop big $$ on another iPod unless I'm sure it works, you know?
     
  6. G8keepr

    G8keepr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #128087
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    North central mass
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR
    I use both connections. Usually Bluetooth. Yea iPods aren't cheap. I've won two 32G out of a kids game at the arcade, for $30.
     
  7. jmaack

    jmaack <---this guy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Member:
    #131634
    Messages:
    427
    Gender:
    Male
    So my 5000 mile Tacoma entune radio keeps resetting a couple times within each hour.

    Yesterday I changed stations and all radio sound went out. CD worked Bluetooth worked just no radio sound both am and FM. Sounds like this is normal.

    Do your replacement radios do this also?

    Entune plus no navigation
     
  8. jmaack

    jmaack <---this guy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Member:
    #131634
    Messages:
    427
    Gender:
    Male
    Also once I shut truck off turned it back on sound was back working.
     
  9. LarryM04

    LarryM04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Member:
    #125628
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Dayton, TN
    Vehicle:
    2014 BRM DCSB TRD Sport
    I think you should bring this to your Toyota service center for replacement. Mine's never reset.
     
  10. jmaack

    jmaack <---this guy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Member:
    #131634
    Messages:
    427
    Gender:
    Male
    Taking in this Friday. I have heard they replace them but can't find any threads about if the replacement ones fix it or if they will eventually do the same thing.
     
  11. mikecoscia

    mikecoscia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134409
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro
    I'm having issues getting my messages to sync. Everything else works fine. I have an iPhone 6 on Verizon's network and the correct settings are all checked off. Tried re-paring the phone several times and nothing has worked. Anyone with the same issue?
     
  12. Bentrodder

    Bentrodder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140142
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Cotati, CA.
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLBFTMF TRD Sport
    I had this problem with my 6 also. Once it is paired via Bluetooth, go into message settings and switch on get notifications. You only get that option if it is paired with Bluetooth. This worked for me.
     
  13. Yakoma

    Yakoma No, I don't workout...I work

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Member:
    #121350
    Messages:
    485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4 - White
    Black APS Bull Bar Black Westin Step Bars Roll-X Tonneau Black AMP HD Bed Extender
    +1

    Same thing worked for me with my iPhone 5.
     
  14. mikecoscia

    mikecoscia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Member:
    #134409
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro
    Already have it checked off. Oddly, I receive text messages while driving. However, it is not promoting me to read them and any prior messages on my iPhone are not being synced up. Phone calls and apps work fine via voice.
     
  15. Yakoma

    Yakoma No, I don't workout...I work

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Member:
    #121350
    Messages:
    485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4 - White
    Black APS Bull Bar Black Westin Step Bars Roll-X Tonneau Black AMP HD Bed Extender
    I don't think it supports prior messages, or at least I've never seen them. Prompting to listen to them is intermittent, IIRC.

    Entune is buggy and this is one of them.
     
  16. elytravis

    elytravis [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Member:
    #43679
    Messages:
    537
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Always changing...but there is no place like home.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Nautical Blue DCLB TRD Sport
    Black tube steps, Skid plate, Bakflip F1 folding cover, EGR raingaurds, All weather floor mats, AFE pro dry filter.
    Entune 3.2

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0-itbICX-ePb196RTBDVlRlVkU/preview?pli=1


    Haven't had time to install yet, my truck is in the shop. Let me know if this works

    I didn't realize that my Entune version was old. The download and self install did not work for me but I went to my dealer and they were able to update me to 3.2 for free. No major changes, just subtle tweaks.

    3.2.0 fix details

    Some 2012 – 2014 model year vehicles equipped with a Display Audio Navigation System (Non-HDD)
    and Entune™ (version less than 3.2.0) may exhibit one or more of the following conditions:
    • Roads flash on and off in certain zoom levels (when Entune is in use)
    • Discolored bands appear across the screen (when Entune is in use)
    • Map area on the screen is black and only buttons are visible (when Entune is in use)
    • Navigation freezes (when Entune is in use)
    • When Bluetooth is the last audio mode selected in previous ignition cycle, audio source switches
    back to Bluetooth when another source is selected immediately after the engine starts
    Updated system software is now available to address these conditions.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2014
  17. YanE30M3

    YanE30M3 GO PATS!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Member:
    #139118
    Messages:
    204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yan
    Norther Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport (DCLB-BRM)
    Read about the Entune update, gonna try it out
     
  18. Yakoma

    Yakoma No, I don't workout...I work

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Member:
    #121350
    Messages:
    485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    ATL-ish
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4 - White
    Black APS Bull Bar Black Westin Step Bars Roll-X Tonneau Black AMP HD Bed Extender
    I've got the non-Nav head unit in a 2014. Is there an Entune update for this any newer than 2013? I couldn't apply the above update to my unit.
     
To Top