1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Excel Gurus...Need your help...

Discussion in 'Technology' started by solus, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. Dec 2, 2010 at 8:33 PM
    #1
    solus

    solus [OP] HOME!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20487
    Messages:
    4,491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Bremerton, WA
    Vehicle:
    RR 4wd SR5
    I know there are more than a few MS excel pros around here... I need some help

    is there an easy way to....

    I have a large matrix filled with "Y" or "N" indicating whether or not the company is a party of certain programs

    What I want... to return either a Yes or No depending on whether or not there is Y somewhere in the row

    example
    Company Program: A B C D E yes/no
    1.......................y y n n n yes
    2.......................n y n n n yes
    3.......................n n n n n no
    4.......................n n n n y yes

    mind you this is for 14,000 rows of companies with 600 columns of programs

    random thread for truck forum but its worth a shot

    thanks
     
  2. Dec 2, 2010 at 8:45 PM
    #2
    CanadianGuy

    CanadianGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Member:
    #20319
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Access Cab 4x4 TRD
    I understand what you are trying to do, I'm just not sure how to do it.....first thought is this:

    =IF(OR(logic_test),"YES","NO")

    The OR statement will give TRUE whenever any of the logic tests are true...but I'm not sure how to make the logic test without making it 600 lines long.

    Also I'm not sure if excel can recognize alphabetical characters...might have to switch all the y's to 1's and all the no's to 0's

    but I'm sure there is an easier way
     
  3. Dec 2, 2010 at 8:47 PM
    #3
    TacoNut

    TacoNut IgnoringChrisWatchingEdLi veVicariouslyThroughMJP2

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Member:
    #5597
    Messages:
    5,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Denver, Co
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD OR DCSB Quicksand
    IIRC the vblookup command can do that... it's been a while though.
     
  4. Dec 2, 2010 at 9:00 PM
    #4
    solus

    solus [OP] HOME!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20487
    Messages:
    4,491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Bremerton, WA
    Vehicle:
    RR 4wd SR5
    Figured it out but thanks for the help... using the replace function

    replaced all "N" with 0
    replaced all "Y" with 1

    if(sum(row)>1, Yes, No)

    since I don't care which company is subject to which program this works... all I needed to know is if a company was subject to any of the programs

    thanks though...
     
To Top