1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Exhaust experts, please step inside.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by crawlergirl, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. Aug 17, 2009 at 1:45 PM
    #1
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    Hey guys. So I replied earlier to an old thread about the check engine light on a '08 V6 I'm looking to buy. Turns out it's not just a cat back, so I thought I'd start a new thread on this issue since I didn't find anything upon searching.

    The dealer describes the exhaust as "aftermarket from the mani back". The pics clearly show magnaflow branding, but it looks like magnaflow doesn't make a header back system for the gen2 tacos. So, I guess this is a magnaflow cat-back with somebody else's components up front??

    The dealer also says the only codes that pop are exhaust related. Sorry, don't have the exact codes. I could probably get them if it would help. I also have to think that if this were an easy fix, the dealership would have done it before trying to sell the truck. The only 'fix' they offered was to return it to stock for $1600. :confused: No thanks.

    So I have 2 questions:
    1) Can anyone identify the exhaust set up in these pics?
    2) Once identified, what can I do to keep the CEL from coming on?

    Thanks guys! I don't know much about this stuff, but I'm learning fast!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 17, 2009 at 1:48 PM
    #2
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    it looks like u got long tubes and previous owner didnt hook up the o2 sensors which is why ur throwing a code
     
  3. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:11 PM
    #3
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    heres your set up

    doug thorley long tube headers
    looks like the urd y-pipe
    magnaflow cat back...


    your headers is whats probably throwing the code, im assuming the previous owner didnt add the o2 sensors so the CEL is on because you got rid of your cats.
     
  4. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:18 PM
    #4
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
  5. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:24 PM
    #5
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
  6. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:26 PM
    #6
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    the best diagnosis is for you to get the real code that your throwing and post it. rox and i are just assuming this is what your problem is by just "looking" at your set up. there can be lots of things wrong
     
  7. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:43 PM
    #7
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    then we can work from there. Shipping should be standard $8.00

    PM me when all is figured out.
     
  8. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:50 PM
    #8
    mjp2

    mjp2 Living vicariously though myself Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Member:
    #924
    Messages:
    17,765
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Milton Juevos Portimous II
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD Access Cab, v6, 6-speed
    Scaffolding and a painted grill
    From the pictures I'd say everyone so far is right on the money.

    By the way, that is a nice setup you've got. Many would like to upgrade to what you're running. :thumbsup:
     
  9. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:51 PM
    #9
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    K, just got off the phone with the dealership. The only code is "P0420 - Catalytic Converter Efficiency". Sounds logical to me. What say you?
     
  10. Aug 17, 2009 at 2:52 PM
    #10
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    yup, order that simulator :D
     
  11. Aug 17, 2009 at 3:04 PM
    #11
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    This from the simulator link from rox:

    "It is designed to work with the O2 sensor that is installed down stream of the catalytic converter. It does not replace it. The rear O2 sensor must remain in contact with the exhaust stream."

    Is this a problem? I think the tech at the dealership said that sensor isn't even there anymore. Can you tell from the pics?
     
  12. Aug 17, 2009 at 3:31 PM
    #12
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    Ok, whoever installed that set up did some jimmy rigging.

    You have to have the rear sensors in the pipes and plugged into the connectors. You will need to crawl under and inspect for yourself. If they are gone, you will probably see a cap screwed into the bungs on the Y-pipe. If this is the case, I would make the dealer install a set of O2 sensors. They are required to be there by law BTW... Your truck will run like crap without them.

    Another thing you can do is remove the glove box and inspect the ECU for any wires that may have been tapped into. Just to make sure no hokey work was done there either.

    Previous owner may have installed these:

    http://www.empirepao.com/images/sim/o2blackbig.jpg

    from this site: http://www.empirepao.com/

    They dont require that you run the O2 sensors. Check the engine bay for the black box in the picture. Maybe it's not plugged in or something...:confused:
     
  13. Aug 17, 2009 at 5:37 PM
    #13
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    poop. I'm really hoping this turns out to be an easy fix, cause I really wanna buy this truck. I'll call the tech again tomorrow and verify which sensors are present. Thanks for all the help so far! I'll report back manana.
     
  14. Aug 18, 2009 at 6:29 AM
    #14
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    Ok, wait. how many sensors are there in the stock exhaust line? I thought there were just the 2. :confused: I want to be sure I know what to look for next time I see the truck. The rear ones you speak of - where should they be located?
     
  15. Aug 18, 2009 at 1:53 PM
    #15
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    UPDATE:

    k, guys - I just got off the phone with the dealership. Here's the situation: The 2 rear cats and 2 rear sensors are in place :). The 2 front cats and 2 front sensors are all gone, missing, absent, non-existant, poof. :eek: (edit: might be wrong, see 2 posts down)

    So with that in mind, is there any way to fix the Check Engine Light issue while maintaining the current set up of: doug thorley long tube headers, urd y-pipe & magnaflow cat back?

    If not, is it ok to drive as is and just get autozone to pull the codes every month or so to make sure other problems aren't hiding behind that CEL?

    Or, since I haven't actually bought the truck yet, should I run away screaming? (please say no)

    If I get this truck, it will happen tomorrow, so any help you guys could offer today would be great. I promise gratuitous pics when this is all done :D
     
  16. Aug 18, 2009 at 2:09 PM
    #16
    jrws6

    jrws6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5668
    Messages:
    232
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    07, Dodge Ram 35004x4 Cummins Turbo Diesel 6M
    If they are the ones selling the truck try and get them to knock off about 1600.00 bc the truck is missing its stock exhaust/ and or components. I bet you money they knocked it off trade in allownace for the dude that traded it in.
    Qoute ""I also have to think that if this were an easy fix, the dealership would have done it before trying to sell the truck. The only 'fix' they offered was to return it to stock for $1600. :confused: No thanks.""
    You are correct. They want you to buy it as is for there easy fix, Which you should do if they knock off enough money, say uh, 1600 or enuff for you be happy,
    If they do smog inspections It will never pass as is, so they are going to have a harder time selling it. :)
     
  17. Aug 18, 2009 at 2:28 PM
    #17
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    Yeah, I'm cautious, but the price is smokin' so I want to make it work if I can.

    Further clarification from the tech at the dealership: Now he's not sure if the O2 sensors in place are considered the front or rear sensors. he says they're right after the headers, before the stock cats. He's trying to get a picture to me now. I'll post it up asap.
     
  18. Aug 18, 2009 at 2:36 PM
    #18
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,830
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
     
  19. Aug 18, 2009 at 2:40 PM
    #19
    otter

    otter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20249
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    MI
    Vehicle:
    09 4 cyl Reg Cab
    IMO, since the truck isn't street legal (modified emissions) I would use that to haggle the price down to cover what it would cost to make it legal.
     
  20. Aug 18, 2009 at 2:43 PM
    #20
    crawlergirl

    crawlergirl [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Member:
    #20230
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Female
    Sorry guys the story just keeps on changing. The Tech called yet again to say that he got his top guys all under the truck and it turns out all 4 O2 sensors are in place!:D The code pops because there are no front cats between the 2 sets of sensors. Great news right? I think this means that URD unit should be all I need. Holy crap, what a headache to go through. Big thanks to Rox, Tacoskim and everyone else for the great help. If I'm missing anything else please chime in, but I think the mystery is solved. Rox, I'll PM you about getting that unit as soon as the deal on this truck goes through.
     
To Top