1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Extra set of wheels

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Sidponcho, Jul 23, 2018.

  1. Jul 23, 2018 at 5:43 AM
    #1
    Sidponcho

    Sidponcho [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Member:
    #158383
    Messages:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Hi All,
    So I picked up an extra set of steel wheels for my winter tires. Couple of questions.
    Where is a good place to by pressure sensors?
    After I buy sensors, do I have to go to the dealer for programming?
    PS...It's a 2015 4x4
    Thanks in advance!
    :headbang:
     
  2. Jul 23, 2018 at 5:47 AM
    #2
    Bebop

    Bebop Old fashion cowboy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Member:
    #177835
    Messages:
    4,407
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Castle rock Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Toyota Tacoma baja
    6inch lift sitting on bilstein coilovers. Lexus is300 studs in front to keep stock wheels, general grabber red letters, nfab front bumper.
    You can’t have 2 sets of sensors for one truck. Doesn’t work that way. You will have to program it every time you swap wheels
     
    Norton likes this.
  3. Jul 23, 2018 at 5:49 AM
    #3
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    18,206
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    An option is to forget the sensors and just ignore the light.

    But if you proceed, be sure to get ones for steel wheels, IIRC they have a different fit than alloy ones. Amazon, RockAuto, eBay would all be starting points for shopping.

    You'll be stuck with reprogramming, twice a year, to make things work. You might want to look into your own tool for that, 'cause it won't be cheap. Unless you have a bud in a tire shop that will do it for you.

    Or back to my opening comment.......
     
    Norton, Skyway and Bagman like this.
  4. Jul 23, 2018 at 5:53 AM
    #4
    jpereira2

    jpereira2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Member:
    #118928
    Messages:
    5,133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2013 double cab trd off road
    Bilstein 6112 4th notch Bilstein 5160 rear Camburg ball joint UCAs Old man emu dakar leafs 265/75R16 Cooper ST Maxx Crux stereo a/v interface UltraGauge ARE fiberglass cap Wet okole seat covers Retro fit source Led fog lights Superbrightled pods in rear bumper Superbrightled light bar in grill Rock blokz mud flaps SOS Rock Sliders RCI Skid Plates (to be painted and mounted)
    Norton and Skyway like this.
  5. Jul 23, 2018 at 7:52 AM
    #5
    Sidponcho

    Sidponcho [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Member:
    #158383
    Messages:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Thanks, everyone
    Looks like 100's of dollars either way.
    I see a small piece of strategically placed electrical tape in my dashboards future!!
     
    jpereira2 and Bagman like this.
  6. Jul 23, 2018 at 8:04 AM
    #6
    rphillips

    rphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #197271
    Messages:
    1,017
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Norene TN.
    Vehicle:
    2013 Reg. cab 4x4
    none
    I've just been thru the tpms thing. Now I'm wondering if I buy 8 identical sensors, put 4 in one set & 4 in the other set, will the truck's computer know when I swap the sets of wheels. I know if I use different brands or styles of sensors, it won't work, but if the sensors are all the same, would they work without having to reprogram each time?
     
  7. Jul 23, 2018 at 9:16 AM
    #7
    NepaTaco

    NepaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Member:
    #253534
    Messages:
    334
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Pennsylvania (NEPA)
    Vehicle:
    Black 2006 Taco
    Basic TPMS system

    Throw away those sensors.

    Before you get in kick/check tires. If not flat get in and drive. If flat inflate, fix, or replace.

    If driving and get dreaded whomp whomp or similar noise check tires(s). Reinflate, repair, or replace as needed.
     
    Sidponcho [OP] and WSW3 like this.
  8. Jul 23, 2018 at 9:45 AM
    #8
    Taco'09

    Taco'09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Member:
    #12073
    Messages:
    1,745
    Gender:
    Male
    I have summer and winter wheels and tires but just had DT give me a bunch of crap and refused to mount the wheels that did not have the TPMS sensors. I have not had a problem heretofore but I apparently found an officious store manager who likes quoting regulations.
     
  9. Jul 23, 2018 at 9:50 AM
    #9
    Sidponcho

    Sidponcho [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Member:
    #158383
    Messages:
    497
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    There a nut in every sack. What State?
     
  10. Jul 23, 2018 at 9:52 AM
    #10
    Taco'09

    Taco'09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Member:
    #12073
    Messages:
    1,745
    Gender:
    Male
    CO. He told me that it was a new policy corporate wants to enforce. I will just go elsewhere. Jerks.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top