1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

fog light relay help

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Botzitaliano, May 29, 2011.

  1. May 29, 2011 at 9:06 AM
    #1
    Botzitaliano

    Botzitaliano [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Member:
    #57014
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nj
    Vehicle:
    2010 trd offroad 4.0L 4dr
    i went ahead and bought the kc daylighters 100w. painted them black then mounted them on the brush guard. the wiring instructions from kc do not show or include a relay in their kit. but i was able to get some info from some people and everyone recomends one. so i went ahead and started wiring. i mounted a switch on the little change draw by your left knee. then ran the wires through the fire wall hooked up everyhting to the relay, flipped the switch and the lights turned on. normally that would be a good thing except the 30a fuse off the 30 prong on the relay started to get hot and look like it was about to start melting. i hooked the power for my switch and the power for the relay both off the posative side of the battery. is it possible that that could be my problem. because on the wiring diagram i found online they say to run the power for the relay to the hi low for the hi-beams. im new to wiring so if you think you know what i did wrong and you can explain it, please break it down so a moron could understand it. thanks.
     
  2. May 29, 2011 at 9:39 AM
    #2
    MT Madman

    MT Madman Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30831
    Messages:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis area
    Vehicle:
    MGM Tundra SuperMax Limited TRD Off Road
    My Kenwood TM-V708 Dual-Bander
    What amperage is your relay rated at?

    If I'm understanding you've got two 100 watt lamps going through the relay to the battery which comes out to around 17 amps, I'd use at least a 30 amp relay for longevity and surge when you first turn you lights on. I've got several relays and they're rated at 40 amps so I'm thinking you've got a cheap fuse holder that's rated at maybe 10 amps.
     
  3. May 29, 2011 at 10:04 AM
    #3
    Botzitaliano

    Botzitaliano [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Member:
    #57014
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nj
    Vehicle:
    2010 trd offroad 4.0L 4dr
    the relay is rated for 30amps. is there a problem with both powers being hooked up to the battery? your saying i bought a cheap relay. i guess it is possible i, got it from pep boys as a universal kit. what should i put in instead of what i got?
     
  4. May 29, 2011 at 10:18 AM
    #4
    MT Madman

    MT Madman Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30831
    Messages:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis area
    Vehicle:
    MGM Tundra SuperMax Limited TRD Off Road
    My Kenwood TM-V708 Dual-Bander
    No, your relay is probably good and I'm guessing it's a fuse holder that's underrated.
     
  5. May 29, 2011 at 10:41 AM
    #5
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    What it sounds like to me is that the relay provided with the kit is to open the circuit when your lights are not on to prevent you from leaving them on when you leave your truck parked. The coil voltage on the relay as well as the switch should be completely separate from the load of the lights, usually pulled from the control voltage of one of your other lighting systems to prevent you from leaving your lights on. From the way your describing it I'm not so sure thats the case, but it's hard to understand from what you're saying. If the fuse came with the kit, and you're melting it, it's probably user error.
     
  6. May 29, 2011 at 10:48 AM
    #6
    ColtsTRD

    ColtsTRD .....

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17177
    Messages:
    18,031
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD DCSB
    I have the Hella 500 Black Magics mounted on my new bumper and they're running through my stock relay from my Fogs and it works great...but mine 55w
     
  7. May 29, 2011 at 7:38 PM
    #7
    Botzitaliano

    Botzitaliano [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Member:
    #57014
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nj
    Vehicle:
    2010 trd offroad 4.0L 4dr
    i was wrong the relay is rated at 30amps but the fuse is only 15amps i had a buddy come down and give me a hand, and he hooked one power from the relay to the battery and the power from the switch to something in the fuse box that only gets power when the car is on. but we still hasd the problem of the fuse getting hot and starting to melt the casing that it is in. the fuse is one of those cylinder ones if that matters. but tomorrow i am going to try to get a 30amp fuse and put it in and see what happens. do you think that that 15amp fuse is unsufficient for my lights? one of my other concerns is why isnt the fuse tripping? if it gets hot enough to where the plastic around it is starting to melt imo the fuse should blow. is it possbile i need a heavy duty relay? im really starting to get confused now since my buddy who knows wiring had the same problem as me hopefully the new fuse works.
     
  8. May 30, 2011 at 2:51 AM
    #8
    MT Madman

    MT Madman Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Member:
    #30831
    Messages:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    St. Louis area
    Vehicle:
    MGM Tundra SuperMax Limited TRD Off Road
    My Kenwood TM-V708 Dual-Bander
    You've got a cheap fuse holder, get a good one and you should be good to go.
     
  9. May 30, 2011 at 1:49 PM
    #9
    larryde09

    larryde09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    x2...if you're melting plastic, then the component is not designed to handle the load. Check out my electrical thread for more info (link in signature)...
     
  10. May 31, 2011 at 7:01 PM
    #10
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,066
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Yep, get rid of that fuse holder and get a better one that will handle the load. If it's a glass fuse, that's ancient technology as far as cars go anyway. NAPA should have a mini blade style to match the rest of your fuses.

    Don't upsize the fuse. The fuse should be sized to protect the wiring, go too large and the wire will burn before the fuse blows. The reason it hasn't blown yet is because you aren't pulling more than the fuse is rated for. You're just pulling more power than the fuse holder can handle. It's probably defective, not necessarily under rated for the kit.
     
  11. Jun 1, 2011 at 5:41 PM
    #11
    Botzitaliano

    Botzitaliano [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Member:
    #57014
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nj
    Vehicle:
    2010 trd offroad 4.0L 4dr
    Ok hopefully sometime this week I can go pick one of those new fuse holders up. Thank you all for all your help, y'all were very helpful. When i get it all done, I'll make another post to let you know how I made out
     
To Top