1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

For those with a floating head unit...

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by xp0nex, Aug 10, 2023.

  1. Aug 10, 2023 at 10:47 AM
    #1
    xp0nex

    xp0nex [OP] Taco Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2022
    Member:
    #399390
    Messages:
    157
    Vehicle:
    2022 MGM TRD Off-Road DCSB 4x4
    How is the stability of the head unit on rough roads? The screen looks pretty heavy just wasn't sure how stable they are when going over rough road. I was going to get one but if it wobbles around a lot will probably just get a regular non-floating one.
     
  2. Aug 10, 2023 at 12:41 PM
    #2
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    894
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    It all depends on the unit. I have the Kenwood DNR-1007XR and it's rock solid. I am wanting to move onto the Alpine ILX-511 though.
     
  3. Aug 10, 2023 at 1:35 PM
    #3
    xp0nex

    xp0nex [OP] Taco Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2022
    Member:
    #399390
    Messages:
    157
    Vehicle:
    2022 MGM TRD Off-Road DCSB 4x4
    Good to hear that the Kenwood was rock solid. What kind of kind of dash kit did you used? Crutchfield shows that there is only one kit (TOYK9714) so wasn't sure if that was strong enough for the weight of the floating units.

    I was looking at either the Sony 9500es or the Alpine iLX-509. If they wobble then I was going to just go with either the Alpine iLX-507 or the Kenwood DMX958XR
     
  4. Aug 10, 2023 at 3:41 PM
    #4
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    894
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    I used the scosche kit because it comes with metal brackets instead of plastic like the metra. The replacement bezel looks oem too. But you have a 2022, so it won't work.

    Scosche TA2111BPB Compatible with 2012-15 Toyota Tacoma ISO Double DIN & DIN+Pocket Dash Kit; Black Pearl https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016S0X0NE


    Check those radios out on YouTube. You might ask questions on there and maybe get a response.
     
    xp0nex[OP] likes this.
  5. Aug 11, 2023 at 5:28 AM
    #5
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    894
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    Hey. I just found https://www.onlinecarstereo.com/. They're an authorized alpine dealer and they have a coupon for 10% "OPTNOW". I just used it to buy the ILX-511 and a Maestro MRR2. Free shipping and no tax if you're not in CA.
     
    xp0nex[QUOTED][OP] likes this.
  6. Aug 13, 2023 at 7:42 PM
    #6
    TrapComa

    TrapComa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Member:
    #119396
    Messages:
    695
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mason
    Cedar Park, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 Indigo Ink LT PreRunner
    Wannabe prerunner, wannabe overlander
    I have a 10” ipad screen. It wasn’t super stable with the mounts I used. 2 zip ties have it solid and I beat mine off-road
     
  7. Aug 13, 2023 at 8:15 PM
    #7
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    596
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    Why the possible change?

    FYI you'll need a parking brake bypass for an Alpine.

    I really dislike installing Alpine Halos.. So many pigtail harnesses for no reason....
     
  8. Aug 14, 2023 at 2:46 AM
    #8
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    894
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    Kenwood's is a full double din unit and there's just no room behind my radio to get it to fit right. There's a gap at the top of my radio trim because I can't get the trim tabs to seat. I thought I would like having the garmin nav, but I use android auto more. It does not automatically connect to AA, whereas the alpine does.

    The one big thing I will miss is the screen mirroring, but I will use chromecast if possible. I got it mainly for the garmin and the built-in volume knob, but I can live without them.

    I already ordered the bypass.
     
    xp0nex[OP] likes this.
  9. Aug 18, 2023 at 8:05 PM
    #9
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    596
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    I was a Kenwood Distribution Rep for a lil bit a few years ago.... Used to have way too many headunits in their line up. Checked their website a few days ago and things have changed a lot. The only headunit I would consider is yours(with or without nav).

    Nav on a headunit isn't worth it anymore(if you have cellular signal).

    Volume knob is a huge plus on a headunit, you don't realize how much you need it... until its gone!

    As far as the lack of room in the dash for a headunit.....I fuucking hated trying to make all the crap fit behind the dash( maestro rr2 and harness).
     
    Revelations[QUOTED] likes this.
  10. Aug 18, 2023 at 8:16 PM
    #10
    Revelations

    Revelations Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Member:
    #127895
    Messages:
    894
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DCSB
    I use my sw controls far more than the knob.
     
  11. Aug 19, 2023 at 7:09 AM
    #11
    xp0nex

    xp0nex [OP] Taco Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2022
    Member:
    #399390
    Messages:
    157
    Vehicle:
    2022 MGM TRD Off-Road DCSB 4x4
    I ended up going with a 9500es.

    Now deciding on what I am going to do amp wise... Get a small 4-channel amp and try to stuff it into the dash and then get a mono amp for a sub later down the road and stuff that under the seat or get a 5-channel amp and mount it behind the drivers rear seat cargo storage area.
     
  12. Aug 20, 2023 at 7:22 AM
    #12
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,360
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    don't forget about all the wasted space underneath the seats. plenty of space for amps underneath those.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top