1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Gas gauge frozen

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by josh.., Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Aug 2, 2010 at 11:50 AM
    #1
    josh..

    josh.. [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18151
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Sarasota, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5 V6 4x4 Double Cab
    K&N drop-in air filter, body lift.
    I haven't driven it much since Saturday and so I didn't pay much attention to the gauge not moving. On the way to work this morning the gas light comes on, but the needle is still reading half a tank. So I stop and put $20 in and needle doesn't move.

    I've been trying to do some reading about it, but not sure if what I've read have answered what I was looking for. I called the local Toyota and they want $167 for the sending unit, if that even turns out to be the problem.

    So my question is, are there any particular things I can look for to try and fix it, or do I need to just pony up and buy the sending unit and attempt to replace it myself?
     
  2. Aug 2, 2010 at 11:54 AM
    #2
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    I have had that symptom on a few vehicles, the sending unit had been the culprit in all of them.
     
  3. Aug 2, 2010 at 11:54 AM
    #3
    topgun155

    topgun155 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11728
    Messages:
    2,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Richmond, TX or College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner V6 Black
    Viper Alarm, In Pro Car Wear L.E.D. Tail Lights, Fog Lights, ScanGuageII, AvidOffroad Light Bar, Ammo Box Mod, Tailgate Theft Prevention Mod, Satoshi Grill, Hella 500ff behind the grill, blendmount, Cruise Control Mod, Fog Light Mod, 5100's @1.75, Toytec TSB AAL 1.5".
    The only thing I can think of is that the needle is stuck which you can just maybe onpen the dash and play with. Or If these trucks use a float in the tank to measure maybe it is stuck.
     
  4. Aug 3, 2010 at 8:27 AM
    #4
    josh..

    josh.. [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18151
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Sarasota, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5 V6 4x4 Double Cab
    K&N drop-in air filter, body lift.
    I've seen some posts talking about the float, but couldn't really find a definitive answer if the truck uses one or not. Not sure how I would go about unsticking it if that happens to be the case.

    How hard of a job am I looking at to replace the sender unit?
     
  5. Aug 3, 2010 at 12:15 PM
    #5
    josh..

    josh.. [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18151
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Sarasota, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5 V6 4x4 Double Cab
    K&N drop-in air filter, body lift.
    Well, this might have something to do with it.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Aug 3, 2010 at 12:39 PM
    #6
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    You left the part about slamming into a rock out of your list of symptoms;)
     
  7. Aug 3, 2010 at 12:44 PM
    #7
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,750
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Wow, that's some serious battlescar. I think you lost 2 gallons of capacity. :D

    And yes they use a float. You either have to drop the tank or lift the bed to get to it.
     
  8. Aug 3, 2010 at 1:14 PM
    #8
    josh..

    josh.. [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18151
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Sarasota, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5 V6 4x4 Double Cab
    K&N drop-in air filter, body lift.
    Honestly, it never even crossed my mind until I crawled under and saw it. Gauge didn't freeze until like 2 days after this had happened. I'm going to drive it the way it is for now, and call a local junkyard and try to get a new tank for it.
     
To Top