1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Gauge cluster replacement question

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by timemmons, May 14, 2011.

  1. May 14, 2011 at 11:57 PM
    #1
    timemmons

    timemmons [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39440
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Tuscaloosa,Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma Prerunner SR5
    I have a 99 prerunner 2.7 sr5 with no factory tach. It also doesn't have a digital odometer. I was wondering if I could replace this gauge cluster to another OEM cluster with a tach and digital odometer without going through a lot of hassle with the mileage reading correctly? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. May 15, 2011 at 11:24 AM
    #2
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    5,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    09 LMM 2500HD Duramax
    If i remember correctly another member did this i could be wrong but he should chime in sometime
     
  3. May 16, 2011 at 3:36 PM
    #3
    96 toy taco

    96 toy taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Member:
    #45165
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Cochran,GA
    Vehicle:
    96 stock
    My truck has a aftermarket tach in it. The truck had it when I got it. If you want I can look and see how it's wired up
     
  4. May 26, 2011 at 1:31 AM
    #4
    Stout890

    Stout890 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Member:
    #56287
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Rosamond ca
    Vehicle:
    99 prerunner sr5
    HID head lights, fagtech coil overs and an AAL, gay ass 2 inch body lift (soon to be removed) taneau cover, k&n intake, soon to have an axle swap with a E locker
    my 99 2.7 sr5 ext cab has the tach and a digital odo......wonder why our our different?
     
  5. May 26, 2011 at 10:50 AM
    #5
    timemmons

    timemmons [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39440
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Tuscaloosa,Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma Prerunner SR5
    Not sure why they are different. I had a 99 reg cab 5 speed a few years ago and it had digital odo and tach. Anyway I ended up putting a Sunpro in it and works fine. Thanks for the responses.
     
  6. May 26, 2011 at 6:45 PM
    #6
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,129
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    In the 1998 - 2000 era the digital / LCD odometer was used only on tach-equipped clusters.
     
  7. May 27, 2011 at 12:38 PM
    #7
    trdracing5

    trdracing5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Member:
    #3944
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    1995 Tacoma 4X4
    ARE Impulse Shell, BFG AT KO's
    I wouldn't think you would be able to put one in with a digital odometer if you didnt already have a digital odometer.
    I am going to keep checking back on this thread to see what you found out. I would like to add a tach to my tacoma as well but can't find anything except the ones with the digital odometer.
     
  8. May 28, 2011 at 12:31 AM
    #8
    timemmons

    timemmons [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39440
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Tuscaloosa,Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma Prerunner SR5
    I really couldn't get an answer on this so I just put in an aftermarket tach. Not going to pursue the panel swap any farther.
     
  9. May 28, 2011 at 5:46 AM
    #9
    trdracing5

    trdracing5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Member:
    #3944
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    1995 Tacoma 4X4
    ARE Impulse Shell, BFG AT KO's
    So how hard was it to put in the aftermarket tach?
    Got any Pictures????
     
  10. May 28, 2011 at 7:58 AM
    #10
    timemmons

    timemmons [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Member:
    #39440
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Tuscaloosa,Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma Prerunner SR5
    Its not bad. The hardest part for me was getting to the tach wire. Maybe I didn't have to but I removed the instrument panel so I could splice in there. Getting the panel out isn't hard just time consuming. Anyway the tach came with the connectors to splice with. If you've installed a stereo before you can probably do this. Also a Haynes manual comes in handy for determining which wire is the tach wire since it seems to change from year to year.
     
To Top